Inspector Devlin Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Inspector Devlin is a series of Irish crime fiction novels that follow the exploits of Garda Inspector Benedict Devlin. Borderlands, the first book in the Inspector Devlin series was Brian McGilloway’s first novel.

Get notified when Brian McGilloway releases a new book at

Order of Inspector Devlin Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Borderlands ( By: Brian McGilloway) 2007 Description / Buy
2 Gallows Lane ( By: Brian McGilloway) 2008 Description / Buy
3 Bleed a River Deep ( By: Brian McGilloway) 2009 Description / Buy
4 The Rising ( By: Brian McGilloway) 2010 Description / Buy
5 The Nameless Dead ( By: Brian McGilloway) 2012 Description / Buy
6 Blood Ties (By: Brian McGilloway) 2021 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

A native of Derry in Northern Ireland, Brian was born in 1974. He went to Queens University Belfast where he studied English. The author took an early interest in Student Theater and he even proceeded to write a few screenplays.

The author also taught at St. Columb’s College in Derry, though he eventually left to teach at Holy Cross College (Strabane).

He wrote his debut novel—Borderlands—in 2007. And the book elicited plenty of interest from fans of the thriller genre. The books follow the exploits of Garda Inspector Benedict Devlin.

Devlin operates out of a place called the Borderlands which straddles an area between North and South Ireland. Most people would describe him as an ordinary man. There is nothing special about inspector Devlin’s ability to solve crimes.

When he is first introduced in Borderlands, a book in which he is tasked with solving the murder of a local teenager, the Inspector’s success emanates from his determination and perseverance.

Devlin takes risks that some of his peers won’t. He is willing to push the limits and even break a few rules to get the bad guys. However, Devlin never goes so far across the line as to actually break the rules.

And he certainly doesn’t obsess over his work. That might explain why the Inspector Devlin series has a loyal following. Devlin is a breath of fresh air, an anomaly in a sea of police procedural protagonists that seem like they are cut from the same cloth.

Unlike many of his counterparts, Inspector Devlin is relatively healthy, both physically and emotionally. He isn’t prone to destructive habits and vices. Additionally, Devlin has a family that loves and adores him.

His marriage isn’t without its challenges, and the inspector does elicit trouble whenever he allows another woman to catch and hold his eye. However, Devlin’s home life is definitely happy.

Though, his wife has been known to challenge him on his penchant for prioritizing his job over his family. Brian McGilloway made an intentional decision to not make Inspector Devlin another miserably gloomy detective whose only reason for breathing is the extraordinary intelligence he uses to solve crimes.

Fans have latched onto Devlin because he is just a man. And he has a happy wife and children, and when he isn’t at home doting on his family, Devlin is out hunting demented killers.

Inspector Devlin Awards

Borderlands, the first book in the Devlin series was shortlisted for the Crime Writers’ Association Dagger Award.

Best Inspector Devlin Books

It is strange to imagine that a crime drama series of novels exists whose popularity is tied to the fact that its protagonist, a detective is actually happy; but that is exactly what happened with the Inspector Devlin series, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Rising: Martin Kielty is a local drug dealer. Garda Inspector Benedict Devlin found his remains after being summoned to a burning barn. It doesn’t take Devlin long to realize that Martin’s death wasn’t an accident.

There is a vigilante group called The Rising that constitutes former paramilitaries which Devlin believes might be responsible for Martin’s death. But that isn’t Devlin’s only worry. When a former colleague’s teenage son went missing, Devlin was relieved when he eventually texted his mother.

But that relief faded when a body washed up on a nearby beach, leaving the inspector confused. Now Devlin must look into that murder even as he investigates The Rising in the wake of another drug dealer’s death.

The Nameless Dead: Everyone is certain that Declan Cleary is dead. They think his decision to inform on a friend decades earlier got him killed, but his body was never found. A tip that everyone thought would reveal his remains instead brings to light a baby’s skeleton.

Now there is talk of murder and if Inspector Devlin isn’t careful, his investigation just might resurrect the violent divisions of the past.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Jack Taylor” Series by Ken Bruen is a fun read. Jack Taylor’s drinking got him fired from the Irish Police. Now he works to help the people of Galway, Ireland find lost things, though he isn’t too keen on calling himself a private eye, not with the implications that title has among the Irish.

Fans also like the “Detective Kay Hunter” Series by Rachel Amphlett. Kay Hunter is a detective in Maidstone, Kent who fights to stop the worst criminals in her community. This is as she tries to keep her reputation safe from those who wish to tear her down.

What Is The Next Book in The Inspector Devlin Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Inspector Devlin Series. The newest book is Blood Ties and was released on March, 4th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *