Isabel Dalhousie Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Isabel Dalhousie book series is a series by Alexander McCall, which features the forty-year-old spinster, Isabel Dalhousie. Isabel Dalhousie is not only divorced, but her lifelong lover and spouse had left her. Isabel lives an exceedingly independent and simple life; she loves crosswords, coffee and also editing her journals. Apart from Isabel, this book is also about the Sunday Philosophy Book Club. Several themes and issues have been discussed in this series including philosophical and moral conundrums.

Order of Isabel Dalhousie Series

1The Sunday Philosophy Club2004Description / Buy
2Friends, Lovers, Chocolate2005Description / Buy
3The Right Attitude to Rain2006Description / Buy
4The Careful Use of Compliments2007Description / Buy
5The Comforts of a Muddy Saturday2008Description / Buy
6The Lost Art of Gratitude2009Description / Buy
7The Charming Quirks of Others2010Description / Buy
8The Forgotten Affairs of Youth2011Description / Buy
9The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds2012Description / Buy
10The Novel Habits of Happiness2015Description / Buy
11A Distant View of Everything2017Description / Buy
12The Quiet Side of Passion2018Description / Buy
13The Geometry of Holding Hands2020Description / Buy

Order of Isabel Dalhousie Short Stories/Novellas

1The Perils of Morning Coffee (Short Story)2011Description / Buy
2At the Reunion Buffet2015Description / Buy
3Sweet, Thoughtful Valentine (Short Story)2016Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Isabel Dalhousie Awards

Isabel Dalhousie book series is as of yet to receive any nomination

Isabel Dalhousie Books into Movies

None of the book in this series has been adapted for the screenplay.

Best Isabel Dalhousie Books

The Sunday Philosopher: If you are a fan of Alexander Smith, then you are going to love the Isabel Dalhousie series. One of the best performing books in this series is The Sunday Philosopher, which introduces the reader to one Isabel Dalhousie who is a Scottish-American spinster. Her lifelong lover and fiancée unceremoniously dumped her; thus she now lives an independent and quiet life. Isabel’s life is exceedingly simple; she loves coffee, crossword puzzles and editing her journal. Since Isabel is a philosopher, and also the driving force behind the local, Sunday Philosophy Club, her days are normally plagued by moral dilemmas. Some of the issues that she has to deal with are as to whether it is okay to overlook murder or is it okay to appoint herself as the judge when a killer confesses to committing the crime.

This book is exceedingly different from all the other mystery books. A young man falls one day from a balcony of the Opera House and passes right before Isabella’s eyes before meeting his imminent death. After watching the man fall right before her eyes, Isabel is more than determined to establish what led the man to his death, since she was the only individual whom he saw before meeting his death. The book’s main protagonist heads out on a lively course of action which involves brokers, a scheming spouse, a housekeeper and many others. This book is an exceedingly warm and witty slice of Edinburgh life. Another book that performed extremely well in the Isabel Dalhousie series is the Right Attitude to Rain.

Right Attitude To Rain: As discussed in the previous installment, Isabel Dalhousie is forty years old, divorced and a philosopher by trade. She has more than enough wealth, all thanks to her beloved mother. Nonetheless, Isabel is extremely nosy and many at times she usually likes to involve herself in things that do not concern her. During the first few pages of the book, the author takes the reader to the usual realms of the reader. Isabel is inside a Scottish café looking and observing the people around her. A majority of the dialogue in the book has been done in Isabella’s voice. While at the coffee, she notices a couple, which is poorly matched. The two provide mismatched love throughout the book.

It does not take long before the lady tries to kill the husband, thereby providing the reader with more action. The lady gets more serious with the murder attempts when she decides to light a fire so that she can make her point. The lady loves to spend the man’s money and also pick up other men in the process. The two become happy when Isabell intervenes and provides essential advice for the two. Isabel’s long lost cousin together with her husband travel to Dallas for an extended stay. It is at this point that we truly get to learn about Isabel. Her mother, whom many people believed was not a saint, was truly not a saint. Her cousin, Mimi points out the fact that her mother preferred a certain type of lover. She also informs her that she is in love; however, she is love with the same person whom Isabel’s mother had chosen.

Other Books Series That You May Like

“Emily Castle” series by Helen Smith is also another great mystery book that you are going to love. In this book, the author, Helen Smith introduces the reader to one Emily Castle who is the protagonist. Emily has just been invited to a house party in a gigantic house, which is located in London. The house party is hosted by a mysterious gang of troupe performers. Elizabeth accepts the invitation since her dog has just died recently and she needs to cheer up a little bit. However, while at the party, Elizabeth becomes the witness to murder, however, no one believes that she witnessed the killings. Emily teams up with her team to find out exactly what happened at the party and what exactly led to the killings.

What Is The Next Book in The Isabel Dalhousie Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Isabel Dalhousie Series. The newest book is The Geometry of Holding Hands and was released on July, 21st 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *