Jack Nightingale Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Jack Nightingale series is a series of popular occultist novels by Stephen Leather, one of the best British paranormal thriller authors of his generation. The lead character from which the novels draw their name is Jack Nightingale, who first appeared as the lead in the first novel in the series, “Nightfall” published in 2011.

Order of Jack Nightingale Series

1Nightfall2010Description / Buy
2Midnight2011Description / Buy
3Nightmare2012Description / Buy
4Nightshade2013Description / Buy
5Lastnight2014Description / Buy
6San Francisco Night2014Description / Buy
7New York Night2015Description / Buy
8Tennessee Night2018Description / Buy

Order of Jack Nightingale Short Stories/Novellas

1Cursed (Short Story)2011Description / Buy
2Still Bleeding (Short Story)2012Description / Buy
3Blood Bath2014Description / Buy
4My Name Is Lydia (Short Story)2014Description / Buy
5Tracks (Short Story)2014Description / Buy
6I Know Who Did It (Short Story)2015Description / Buy
7Children of the Dark (Short Story)2016Description / Buy
8The Creeper (Short Story)2017Description / Buy
9The Asylum (Short Story)2017Description / Buy
10The Undead (Short Story)2017Description / Buy
11The Doll2017Description / Buy
12The Mansion (Short Story)2017Description / Buy
13Wrong Turn (Short Story)2017Description / Buy
14The Cards (Short Story)2017Description / Buy
15Possession (Short Story)2017Description / Buy
16The House on Gable Street (Short Story)2018Description / Buy
17Knock Knock (Short Story)2018Description / Buy
18Watery Grave (Short Story)2018Description / Buy
19Claws (Short Story)2018Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Jack Nightingale was a police negotiator with the London Metropolitan Police Force, but was dismissed after a series of strange and tragic events made it impossible for him to do his job. After failing to prevent a nine year old from jumping off a ledge, and getting so frustrated with the father of the child that he turned violent, he is dismissed from the force. Nightingale now works as a private investigator for spouses who suspect their partner is cheating on them.

The first novel in the series, “Nightfall” is an amazing occult thriller that will have the reader hooked from the beginning to the end. It starts out with the story of Jack Nightingale, who is heading out to the location of a possible jumper, a 9-year-old named Sophie. Unable to save the girl, he leaves the force but is still haunted by the incident two years later. He now works as a private investigator and drowns his demons with drinking and smoking.

Things take a turn for the bizarre when he inherits a large mansion from his father, only to start hearing strange voices telling him that he is going to hell. He soon finds out that his father had sold his soul to the devil, who will be coming to collect on his thirty-third birthday. What follows is a spine-chilling novel as the countdown to his birthday draws even closer. One of the best novels ever written by Stephen Leather, it is testament to the proficiency that saw him named in the top 100 most influential people in British publishing.


San Francisco Night: The sixth novel in the series is regarded as one of the best novels in the Jack Nightingale series of novels. Jack Nightingale loves to fight his battles in the grey area where the supernatural meets the natural world. But when he is called to San Francisco, he gets the shock of his life as the war here is fought in the open. Calling themselves the Apostles, the San Franciscan Satanists are a coven using ritualistic torture and murder to open a portal to hell. When they realize that Nightingale is on to them, they unleash their most potent cocktail a band of disparate monsters to take him down. Jack now has only a few days to neutralize the Satanists, before they spread destruction and death imported from Hell, while keeping himself alive.

Nightfall: The first novel in the series is a suspenseful novel with one of the most gripping plots of any of the novels. Dismissed from the Metropolitan Police Service, Nightingale becomes a private investigator, only to find that his supernatural experiences increase in intensity. The death of his biological father leaves him the new owner of a mansion, which he soon moves into. The joy of a new house does not last long, as he soon discovers that his father had committed suicide after he realized that a deal he made to sell his son’s soul to the devil could not be reversed. In a somber yet stirring narrative, the novel takes a philosophical look into the shadowy world of the supernatural and its interactions with the real world.

Lastnight: The fifth novel is a chilling story of a killer that has been killing the Goths – butchering and skinning them with unrestrained relish. With the cops unable to solve the mystifying case, Superintendent Chalmers calls in his arch nemesis Jack Nightingale, who has made a name for himself dealing with the supernatural. He soon links the murdered Goths to a common tattoo that is the trademark of the Order of Nine Angels, but the child sacrifice cult retaliates by turning the guns against him and his family. Given the Order has powerful connections all over the globe, he cannot run and is forced to make very hard decisions.


Most fans of the Jack Nightingale series of novels also love the “Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper” series of novels by J.L. Bryan. These novels are paranormal thrillers that document the adventures of Ellie Jordan, a specialist in banishing ghosts from haunted houses. The fans of the Jack Nightingale series of novels also recommend “The Lockman Chronicles” series of novels by Rob Cornell. These novels are paranormal thrillers dosumenting the adventures of Craig Lockman, a man who was trained by the CIA to kill supernatural creatures that nobody in the real world believes exist.

What Is The Next Book in The Jack Nightingale Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Jack Nightingale Series. The newest book is Tennessee Night and was released on July, 13th 2018.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *