Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery is a series of novels written by Robin Cook. The books can be accurately described as medical thrillers. Robin, the author has medical experience.

Get notified when Robin Cook releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Blindsight ( By: Robin Cook) 1991 Description / Buy
2 Contagion ( By: Robin Cook) 1995 Description / Buy
3 Chromosome 6 ( By: Robin Cook) 1997 Description / Buy
4 Vector ( By: Robin Cook) 1999 Description / Buy
5 Marker ( By: Robin Cook) 2005 Description / Buy
6 Crisis ( By: Robin Cook) 2006 Description / Buy
7 Critical ( By: Robin Cook) 2007 Description / Buy
8 Foreign Body ( By: Robin Cook) 2008 Description / Buy
9 Intervention ( By: Robin Cook) 2009 Description / Buy
10 Cure ( By: Robin Cook) 2010 Description / Buy
11 Pandemic (By: Robin Cook) 2018 Description / Buy
12 Genesis (By: Robin Cook) 2019 Description / Buy
13 Night Shift (By: Robin Cook) 2022 Description / Buy
14 Manner of Death ( By: Robin Cook) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

As such, the stories he writes draw upon the real life knowledge he has gathered over the years. The Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery series follows the exploits of a medical examiner and a pathologist who solve deadly medical mysteries.

The books feature outlandish concepts that revolve around the medical industry, from insidious viral infections to nefarious genetic mutations. When the wrong people start using medicine to achieve the wrong purposes, and when lives are threatened as a result, Jack and Laurie make it their objective to find the culprits and put a stop to their endeavor.

Interestingly enough, Blindsight, the first novel in the Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery series, doesn’t feature Jack. The story the book tells primarily focuses on the efforts of Doctor Laurie Montgomery, a pathologist working in the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner who grows suspicious when she comes across multiple cases of young professionals dying of cocaine overdoses.

She takes her suspicions to Detective Lou Saldano of the NYPD. The pair begins unraveling the medical conspiracy behind the deaths even as a relationship takes shape between them.

It isn’t until the second novel – Contagion – that Jack Stapelton is introduced. Once a budding medical professional with his own practice, circumstances involving a powerful medical firm cost Jack everything he had worked for. So he became New York’s Medical Examiner.

His story begins when several people are killed by three extremely rare diseases. Jack grows suspicious about the HMO that destroyed his medical practice and he makes it his goal to connect them to the mysterious deaths even while putting a stop to whatever plans they might have.

Having lost his wife and children, Jack isn’t the most pleasant individual in the beginning. However, as the series progresses and as his relationship with Laurie Montgomery grows, he begins to change.

Robin Cook, the author, writes the Jack and Laurie series because he wants to alert the public about the possibilities of modern medicine. The books are a blend of medical fact and fantasy. Cook has admitted that his stories would never have succeeded back in the 1970s when he first started writing fiction.

However, technology has come such a long way that Robin Cook believes there are elements of truth to his novels.

Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery Books into Movies/TV

There was talk of Jerry Bruckheimer turning the Jack and Laurie books into a television series. That was in 1999. There has been no movement on the project since then.

Best Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery Books

The Jack and Laurie books often garner mixed reviews; but they have been praised for making medical thrillers trendy, with some of the best books in the series including:

Contagion: When the lives of several patients are claimed by three extremely rare diseases, Jack Stapleton takes notice. He refuses to accept the conclusion that the deaths were a coincidence.

He sets his sights on an HMO, certain that they had something to do with the deaths. The fact that the HMO in question destroyed Jack’s flourishing medical practice drives him to investigate them.

Jack cannot figure out whether there is a conspiracy to eliminate America’s sickest patients or if there is something more sinister going on. This book reveals to readers the greed and the mayhem that is sometimes hiding behind the façade of America’s medical system.

Chromosome 6: The third book in the Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery series explores the ethics of cloning. The book takes readers to the jungles of Africa. Medical examiners are taking a closer look at the ethics of genetic engineering and the power it has to completely transform the future of mankind.

Meanwhile, there is a medical mystery surrounding the corpse of a mobster in New York that has everyone baffled.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another great series is the “Georgia Davis” Series by Libby Fischer Hellmann. These novels tell the story of Georgia Davis, a woman that once solved crimes as a police officer in Chicago. She has since given up her gun and badge. However, as a newly minted PI, her life is still filled with murder and mayhem.

Fans of these books also like the “Harry Starke” Series by Blaire Howard. Harry Starke is former police officer with very expensive tastes. The troublemaker now solves crimes as a private investigator, sometimes assisted by his girlfriend Kata Gazzara.

What Is The Next Book in The Jack Stapleton And Laurie Montgomery Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Jack Stapleton And Laurie Montgomery Series. The newest book is Manner of Death and was released on December, 5th 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *