Jake Grafton Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jake Grafton is the lead character in the Jake Grafton series of novels by American techno thriller writer Stephen Coonts. The first novel in the Jake Grafton series was the 1986 published “Flight of the Intruder” that received much critical acclaim and fast became an international bestseller.

Get notified when Stephen Coonts releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Jake Grafton Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Flight of the Intruder ( By: Stephen Coonts) 1986 Description / Buy
2 Final Flight ( By: Stephen Coonts) 1988 Description / Buy
3 The Minotaur ( By: Stephen Coonts) 1989 Description / Buy
4 Under Siege (By: Stephen Coonts) 1990 Description / Buy
5 The Red Horseman (By: Stephen Coonts) 1993 Description / Buy
6 The Intruders ( By: Stephen Coonts) 1994 Description / Buy
7 Cuba ( By: Stephen Coonts) 1999 Description / Buy
8 Hong Kong ( By: Stephen Coonts) 2000 Description / Buy
9 America ( By: Stephen Coonts) 2001 Description / Buy
10 Liberty ( By: Stephen Coonts) 2003 Description / Buy

Order of Tommy Carmellini Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Liars & Thieves ( By: Stephen Coonts) 2004 Description / Buy
2 The Traitor ( By: Stephen Coonts) 2006 Description / Buy
3 The Assassin ( By: Stephen Coonts) 2008 Description / Buy
4 The Disciple ( By: Stephen Coonts) 2009 Description / Buy
5 Pirate Alley ( By: Stephen Coonts) 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Art of War ( By: Stephen Coonts) 2016 Description / Buy
7 Liberty's Last Stand (By: Stephen Coonts) 2016 Description / Buy
8 The Armageddon File ( By: Stephen Coonts) 2017 Description / Buy
9 The Russia Account (By: Stephen Coonts) 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Jake Grafton series of novels feature Jake “Cool Hand” Grafton a young navy pilot that is an ace pilot during the Vietnam War. Over the course of the series, he flies A-6s to drop bombs over the Viet Cong ,before he graduates to working works for the CIA. Over the years, he rises through the ranks to become a 2-star admiral.

The first novel in the series “Flight of the Intruder” tells the story of Jake Grafton who flies an A-6 bomber during the Vietnam War. Based on an aircraft carrier, Grafton often flies at night maneuvering his plane past SAM missiles, and enemy flak, on the Vietnamese mainland before making it back home. As a Navy Pilot his emotions alternate between a lets win this war gung-ho approach, and remorse at the possibly non-combatant Vietnamese victims on whom he is dropping the bombs.

Lashing out against the policy makers in the Navy back at home, Coonts offers deep insights into the mindset of a fighter pilot. Painting a picture of the nerve-wracking complexities and the pressure to solve problems in midair that the pilots face, Coonts writes such a good thriller that it is no wonder some of the novels in the series were made into movies.


In 1986, Stephen Coonts first novel won the Author of the Year Award conferred by The US Naval Institute for his first novel in the Jake Grafton series “Flight of the Intruder”.


The first novel in the Jake Graftton series of novels “Flight of the Intruder” was adapted into a movie by the same name in 1991. Produced by Paramount pictures, the film starred Brad Johnson as Lt. Jake ‘Cool Hand’ Grafton.


Made into a movie, Flight of the Intruder, the first novel in the series is undoubtedly one of the most appreciated novels in the series. With the usual bullets, bombs, blood, dying, flying, and terror and joy of going full throttle, it is no wonder that the award-winning novel was an instant bestseller.

America: The ninth novel in the Jake Grafton series of novels is one of the series’ most highly regarded. It opens to NASA SuperAegis satellite being launched on a trial run. As the foundation of NATO’s antimissile defense system, it causes much consternation when it vanishes moments after launch. Jake Grafton the Rear Admiral suspects that there is more to the disappearance of the satellite other than a serious malfunction. When the most technically advanced nuclear submarine the USS America is captured by terrorists moments after leaving the harbor, Grafton knows that the US is facing a far more cunning enemy than ever before. With time running short, he needs to unravel the mystery of the disappearance of the satellite and recapture or destroy the nuclear submarine before it can be used against the US.

Final Flight: This is an amazing tale of the deadliest terrorist plot that is unfolding on the USS United States, America’s biggest super carrier. If the terrorists are successful, one of the Middle East’s most terrible dictators will tilt the balance of power in his favor. It looks like no one has the skill or capacity to stop the remorseless leader except for ace covert operator Jake Grafton. An ace pilot, Jake pilots an F-14 Tomcat, which is quite a spectacular plane. But the odds are not stacked in his favor, as he has lost most of his crew mates, and suspects a woman on board the ship to be a spy. Faced with difficult choices, his instinct tells him to disobey orders from the highest office in the land if he is to survive.


Many Jake Grafton fans will also love the “Dan Lenson” series of novels by David Poyer. These are mystery thrillers following the interesting adventures of Dan Lenson, a Navy Officer who moves around the world on different missions, that see him quickly rise through the ranks.

Jake Grafton fans are also fans of the “Admiral Arnold Morgan” series of novels by Patrick Robinson. The series of novels are political thrillers featuring Admiral Arnold Morgan, a Black Ops officer and advisor to the US president, who constantly has to make hard decisions that could change the future of the world.

What Is The Next Book in The Jake Grafton Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Jake Grafton Series. The newest book is Liberty and was released on February, 4th 2003.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *