Joanna Brady Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Judith Vance was born on October 27, 1944. She is an American author of horror and mystery novels. Outside of the Joanna Brady series some of her works are centered on retired Seattle police department Detective, J.P Beaumont, former Los Angeles news anchor, Ali Reynolds. The Brady and Beaumont series meet in the novel Partner in Crime, which includes the Brady mystery series and Beaumont mystery series. These books also intersect at Fire and Ice. Joana lives partly in Seattle and partly in Arizona. She uses her initials as her pen name since her publisher advised her that disclosing her gender would be a liability to the book.

Get notified when J.A. Jance releases a new book at

Order of Joanna Brady Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Desert Heat ( By: J.A. Jance) 1993 Description / Buy
2 Tombstone Courage ( By: J.A. Jance) 1995 Description / Buy
3 Shoot Don't Shoot ( By: J.A. Jance) 1995 Description / Buy
4 Dead to Rights ( By: J.A. Jance) 1997 Description / Buy
5 Skeleton Canyon ( By: J.A. Jance) 1997 Description / Buy
6 Rattlesnake Crossing ( By: J.A. Jance) 1998 Description / Buy
7 Outlaw Mountain ( By: J.A. Jance) 1999 Description / Buy
8 Devil's Claw ( By: J.A. Jance) 2001 Description / Buy
9 Paradise Lost ( By: J.A. Jance) 2001 Description / Buy
10 Partner in Crime (By: J.A. Jance) 2002 Description / Buy
11 Exit Wounds ( By: J.A. Jance) 2003 Description / Buy
12 Dead Wrong ( By: J.A. Jance) 2006 Description / Buy
13 Damage Control ( By: J.A. Jance) 2008 Description / Buy
14 Fire and Ice (By: J.A. Jance) 2009 Description / Buy
15 Judgment Call ( By: J.A. Jance) 2012 Description / Buy
16 The Old Blue Line (Short Story) ( By: J.A. Jance) 2014 Description / Buy
17 Remains of Innocence ( By: J.A. Jance) 2014 Description / Buy
18 No Honor Among Thieves (By: J.A. Jance) 2015 Description / Buy
19 Random Acts (Short Story) (By: J.A. Jance) 2016 Description / Buy
20 Downfall ( By: J.A. Jance) 2016 Description / Buy
21 Field of Bones ( By: J.A. Jance) 2018 Description / Buy
22 Missing and Endangered (By: J.A. Jance) 2021 Description / Buy
23 Blessing of the Lost Girls (By: J.A. Jance) 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Joanna Brady and Brandon Walker Series

# Read Title Published Details
Print: Print PDF

Joana Brady Awards

Judith Vance is yet to receive any awards. However, she was recently nominated for the Bouchercon Anatony Awards this year.

Joana Brady Books into Movies

So far, none of the Joana Brady series have been adopted into a movie.

Best Joana Brady Books

Desert Heat: Desert Heat is the first installment in the Joana Brady mystery series. In this installment we are introduced to the protagonist Joana Brady who has been patiently waiting for her husband, Andy to return home since their tenth anniversary celebration is just around the corner. Emily’s world is shattered when her husband body’s body is found critically injured next to his wrecked vehicle. As she waits in the hospital, we are also introduced to one Angie Kollogg who has been imprisoned by her boyfriend.

After her boyfriend is accused of being involved in a drug cartel, Angie Kollogg becomes a main figure in the main’s character struggle and fight trying to exonerate him from the charges. The two women, eventually meet once again and the action continues from where it had left off. These two women are pursued by Angie’s boyfriend and also some extremely bad guys. With that being said, J.A Vance takes the reader on a roller coaster through police corruption and crime. She also makes it apparent that no one is truly safe from such behavior even the good people. Joana is a character that most of us can relate to since she deals with the day to day situations that most of us deal with. The scenery in this book has been well described and also will make you the reader want to visit the small town of Bisbee, Arizona.

Outlaw Mountain: Another book in this series that performed extremely well is the Outlaw Mountain. In this installment, we are introduced to one Alison Rodgers who is eventually found dead in the Arizona Desert. It is exceedingly easy to blame the teens who were found driving her car across the Mexican border. Alice was a woman who had a free spirit, loved scotch and was romantically involved with a man who was more than 20 years her age. He daughter suspects that it was her former boyfriend who had something to do with her mother’s death, but time will tell. This is a truly excellent read.

Other Book Series You May Like

“The Woman at the End of the Light” is one of the best performing books that you should definitely have a look at. It is a real page-turner and it is just the book that should be placed on top of your summer reading list. It is a story that is full of suspense, sparkling romance and rich in history. For readers who love the Florida and Key West, then this book is just for you since it provides realistic and depth details that is usually overlooked in most books. For individuals who are unfamiliar with the Florida Keys, then this installment provides an excellent glimpse of the Key West early beginnings. This installment allows you, the reader to immerse yourself in an extremely captivating story. The author manages to bring the past to life as she brings to life the country’s most southern venue.

In this installment we are introduced to one Emily Dinsmore. Emily is a woman of culture and privilege and she ends up falling in love with one Martin Lowry, who is a boat builder from the Primitive Key West. When Martin ends up being lost at sea, Emily’s life eventually begins. Since Martin is lost, Emily becomes the custodian of the lighthouse. Emily is exposed to some of nature’s violent elements and also man’s rawest instinct. By whatever means, Emily must find a way to take care of her siblings and also to survive. The story is narrated at takes the reader through the perilous adventure and tortuous trial of a woman who is independent. So as to find her way, Emily must first redefine herself and also her culture. By doing this she will be able to beat the odds that have been imposed on Emily’s generation.

What Is The Next Book in The Joanna Brady Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Joanna Brady Series. The newest book is Blessing of the Lost Girls and was released on September, 19th 2023.

1 thought on “Joanna Brady”

  1. I don’t know if I would recommend this series, but on the other hand, I don’t know if I wouldn’t recommend it. I can’t exactly place how I feel about these books; they are well-written and the characters are totally relatable with backstories, but sometimes the books wrap up too nicely, if that makes sense? Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed reading them and Joanna is an interesting character, especially in the first book – you really feel her pain as she discovers her husband isn’t exactly who he claimed to be. I don’t regret reading these books, but I wouldn’t read again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *