Juvenile Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Juvenile isn’t so much a book series as it is a list of books for juveniles by Carl Hiaasen. However over the years many websites and readers have grouped Hiaasens Juvenile books together as if they were a series – so heck, we’re doing the same!

Juvenile is a “series” written by American novelist Carl Hiaasen who writes young and adult crime fiction and thriller novels. The first novel in this series was released in the year 2002 and the book is named as “Hoot”. Do you remember the movie “Hoot”? The story of this movie was taken from nothing other than the “Hoot” novel itself. The book is written targeting young readers and it contains several interesting things including a nice adventure of Florida, kids, eco-warriors, bullies, alligators, pancakes and many more things.

Get notified when Carl Hiaasen releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Juvenile Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hoot ( By: Carl Hiaasen) 2002 Description / Buy
2 Flush ( By: Carl Hiaasen) 2005 Description / Buy
3 Scat ( By: Carl Hiaasen) 2009 Description / Buy
4 Chomp ( By: Carl Hiaasen) 2012 Description / Buy
5 Squirm (By: Carl Hiaasen) 2018 Description / Buy
6 Wrecker (By: Carl Hiaasen) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The story plot was set in Florida just like the other books of Carl Hiaasen. The story tells how Roy Eberhardt, who recently moved from Montana to Florida, saves the endangered owls living on the construction site where the new Mother Paula’s pancake restaurant is going to be constructed. In this story, it is described that how Roy along with “Mullet Fingers”, who was creating vandalism on the construction site, saves the endangered owls from pancake people. After “Hoot” there are three more books were released in Juvenile series. We will know about the other books in the later on.

Juvenile Awards

The Juvenile series has won many awards for some of the best books in the series and one of the best books is definitely the first novel “Hoot”. In 2003 “Association for Library Service to Children” has awarded the “Newbery Honor” to the novel “Hoot” and in 2005 it has received Rebecca Caudill Young Readers Book award. Two other books in the series including Scat (2005) and Chomp (2012) have been awarded for its interesting stories.

Juvenile Book into Movies

The story of the first novel “Hoot” was converted into the movie named “Hoot”. It was a successful movie starring Logan Lerman, Luke Wilson, Brie Larson and others. The movie was directed by Wil Shriner and it was screened on theater in May 2006.

Juvenile Best Books

The first novel is definitely one of the best novels in this series that has own multiple awards as well as it was appeared in big screen too. However, the next best book in this series is Scat which has also received multiple awards.

Scat: The story describes, Nick and Marta, two biology students in Bunny Starch’s class. Bunny Starch is a very strict teacher and thus no students appear to like her that much. The interest of the story begins when Bunny takes her students on a field trip to Black Vine Swamp. On that trip a sudden swamp fire starts ending up the trip unexpectedly. Everybody returned from the trip except Bunny Starch. Later the principal tried to convince the students that their biology teacher had to leave because of some family emergency. However, Nick and Marta was quite unconvinced with the principal’s statement and he suspected that “Smoke” a bad guy in his class must have done something with their teacher and he started investigation along with Marta to solve the mystery. You can read the full book to know whether he was successful to solve the mystery or not.

Chomp: This is another interesting story where Carl Hiaasen has characterized Wahoo Cray who lives in a zoo with his father. Wahoo’s father got a job in a reality TV show called “Expedition Survival”. Little later a girl named Tuna joins their team after leaving her violent father and the main story of the book begun from that point. In this novel Carl discussed some serious social issues like cruelty to animals, reality TV, abusing and alcoholism through different part of the story.

Other Book Series You May Like

People who liked the juvenile books by Carl Hiaasen have also liked some other similar series like “Wonder” written R. J. Palacio. There series describes the story of August, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face who has been home schooled for several years and finally he was admitted to a real school. August had to face a lot of obstacles in school and each book in the series tells how Auggie has survived with his extraordinary face and what happened to him in his life. Even though the genre of this series is different from Juvenile but you will definitely like this series too.

What Is The Next Book in The Juvenile Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Juvenile Series. The newest book is Wrecker and was released on September, 26th 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *