Kinsey Millhone Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

When we talk about some of the most fascinating and gripping mystery and detective books, the name of Sue Grafton always comes to our mind. She started her writing career as early as 18 years of age and since then she has had a very distinguished career. Born on August 24, 1940 over the past seventy six years her achievement has been exemplary when it comes to writing gripping and highly interesting crime thrillers. Over her complete writing period she has written close to 26 novels and each one of them have been unique and different as far as content and presentation are concerned. She has earned name and fame for her highly popular Kinsey Millhone Mysteries (Series by Sue Grafton). She has written crime thrillers starting in this series from Alphabet A and has moved on to Alphabet X and most of these crime thrillers are unputdownable according to her thousands of fans.

Order of Kinsey Millhone Series

1A is for Alibi1982Description / Buy
2B is for Burglar1985Description / Buy
3C Is for Corpse1986Description / Buy
4D is for Deadbeat1987Description / Buy
5E is for Evidence1988Description / Buy
6F is for Fugitive1989Description / Buy
7G is for Gumshoe1990Description / Buy
8H is for Homicide1991Description / Buy
9I is for Innocent1992Description / Buy
10J is for Judgment1993Description / Buy
11K is for Killer1994Description / Buy
12L is for Lawless1994Description / Buy
13M is for Malice1996Description / Buy
14N Is For Noose1998Description / Buy
15O Is for Outlaw1999Description / Buy
16P Is for Peril2000Description / Buy
17Q Is for Quarry2002Description / Buy
18R is for Ricochet2004Description / Buy
19S is for Silence2005Description / Buy
20T Is For Trespass2007Description / Buy
21U is for Undertow2009Description / Buy
22V is for Vengeance2011Description / Buy
23W is for Wasted2013Description / Buy
24X2015Description / Buy
25Y is for Yesterday2017Description / Buy

Order of Kinsey Millhone Collections

1Kinsey and Me: Stories2013Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She was born in Louisville, Kentucky and her father C. W. Grafton is also a novelist of repute. Her mother Vivian Hamsberger is also a famous personality being the child of Presbytarian minster. She graduated from the University of Louisville with a Bachelors Degree in English Literature. She worked in various capacities as hospital admission clerk, medical secretary and cashier in Santa Barbara and Santo Monica in California. She is married to Steven H. Humphrey for 20 years now. She has been divorced twice and has three children from her previous marriages and a number of grandchildren. She is now staying with her husband in Montecito, California and Louisville, Kentucky California. Her early novels include Keziah Dane which was published in 1967 and The Lolly Madonna War which hit the stands in 1969.

Kinsey Millhone Mysteries Awards

As mentioned above the Kinsey Millhone Mysteries run in alphabetical order. Each of them is quite unique and interesting in its own way. B For Burglar and C for Corpse won her two Anthony Awards for Best Novels in the year 1986 and 1987. These awards are selected by the prestigious members and attendees of the annual Bouchestery Convention. G for Gumshoe also won her the same Anthony Award for the best novel in the year 1991. She also has been the recipient of Shamus Awards thrice. Apart from the above it also is worth mentioning that her short story The Parker Shotgun received the Anthony Award for The Best Short Story in 1987.

Sue Grafton also received the Ross Macdonald Literary Award. This is an award which is reserved for a California Writer who is able to raise the level of literary excellence in this part of the country. This certainly is a prestigious award. The British Crime Writers’ Associated honored Sue Grafton with the Carter Dagger award. This is in honor of her lifetime achievements in the field of crime story writing. She also is the recipient of the famous Grand Master Award given by the Mystery Writers of America. She was honored with this award in 2009. She also received the famous Bouchercon’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013. She also has been nominated for Shamus Award in 2014 in the Best Hardcover Novel category, which she had won thrice previously. Hence on the whole she has a plethora of awards and recognitions in her name.

Kinsey Millhone Books Into Movies:

It would be pertinent that Kinsey Millhone Mysteries (Series by Sue Grafton) and other books have never ever been adapted in any Hollywood movies. There are quite a few reasons for it and here negative and not-so-pleasant experience in Hollywood could be one of the main reasons for her not being able to get represented in Hollywood.

Best Kinsey Millhone Mysteries Books

Though there are 24 books in the Kinsey Millhone Mystery series, there are a few books which stand out. They are two books namely B for Burglar and C for Corpse which have won special acclaim and also have got Sue two prestigious awards. It is certainly a gripping murder mystery novel revolving around Mrs. Danziger and Elaine Boldt. It is a story about a house being razed to the ground by arson, about a woman who was brutally murdered and much more. C For Corpse is another fast passed and highly exciting murder mystery. It is about Kinsey Millhone being hired to prevent a murder but eventually he ends up with the job of tracking down the killer.

Other Book Series You May Like

Fans of this series also like the Jake & Annie Lincoln book series written by Rayven T. Hill.

What Is The Next Book in The Kinsey Millhone Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Kinsey Millhone Series. The newest book is Y is for Yesterday and was released on August, 22nd 2017.

1 thought on “Kinsey Millhone”

  1. This series is so fun. Kinsey is fun, heroic, but believable. Plot twists, romance, excellent writing; these books seem to have it all! It’s incredibly sad that Grafton passed away and didn’t finish the alphabet, but we can all be grateful that she got as far as she did as there are plenty of books in the series to keep you occupied. I highly recommend these!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *