Lindsay Gordon Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Lindsay Gordon, a freelance journalist (later in the series, she becomes a private investigator, due to the odd events that happen to her) and lesbian, stars in this series by Scottish crime author Val McDermid. Lindsay, like Val, is a lesbian, worked as a journalist at one time, and is based in Scotland. This is due to Val thinking of herself when describing Lindsay, this makes Lindsay resemble Val quite a bit. This made a lot of Lindsay’s behavior resemble a lot of Val’s. Lindsay calls herself a cynical socialist lesbian feminist.

Get notified when Val McDermid releases a new book at

Order of Lindsay Gordon Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Report For Murder ( By: Val McDermid) 1987 Description / Buy
2 Common Murder ( By: Val McDermid) 1989 Description / Buy
3 Final Edition / Open and Shut / Deadline for Murder ( By: Val McDermid) 1991 Description / Buy
4 Union Jack / Conferences Are Murder ( By: Val McDermid) 1993 Description / Buy
5 Booked For Murder ( By: Val McDermid) 1996 Description / Buy
6 Final Edition (By: Val McDermid, V.L. McDermid) 1997 Description / Buy
7 Hostage To Murder ( By: Val McDermid) 2003 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series began in the year 1987 with the release of “Report For Murder” (which is also Val’s debut novel and her first success as a published author), and is from the genre of mystery. Val believes that all of her work is from the genre of Tartan Noir Scottish crime genre. It has six books to it, with the last coming out in the year 2003, with the title of “Hostage to Murder”. Releases in the series became fewer, after book four was published. There was a three year wait for the fifth book, and then a seven year wait until she would release the last book. The series is a lesser known work of Val’s, as she is more known for her work about Tony Hill and Carol Jordan.


“Booked for Murder”, which is the fifth book in the series, was nominated for a Lambda Literary Award.


For those readers looking to get into the “Lindsay Gordon” series by Val McDermid, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Report For Murder”, “Common Murder”, and “Deadline For Murder”.

Report For Murder: This is the first novel in the “Lindsay Gordon” series and was released in the year 1987. Lindsay Gordon is less than pleased to spend a weekend at a luxurious boarding school for girls. Tension is high at the school because of the financial trouble the school has been going through lately. It does not help that Lorna Smith-Couper (alumna of the school and renowned musician) is coming to do a benefit for the school.

Right before the concert can even start, Lorna Smith-Couper is found dead after being strangled with one of the strings from her cello. Lindsay and Cordelia get tested in new ways in their relationship as they try to find the killer from a huge suspect pool.

Common Murder: This is the second novel in the “Lindsay Gordon” series and was released in the year 1989. A murder happens at a women’s peace camp, as a protest group makes news headlines. Lindsay Gordon is there already on the scene and tries to find a balance between her responsibilities, both personal and professional. This comes as she finds out that one of her former lovers is accused of murder.

She digs deeper and finds that there is a lot of deception going on. The more she finds out, the more she sees that no one, whatever their standing (be they a tax payer, a reporter, a cop, or one of the peace women), is above suspicion. Then, she finds something out that she has a hard time believing.

Deadline For Murder: This is the third novel in the “Lindsay Gordon” series and was released in the year 1997. Everything has been capsized for Lindsay Gordon when she returns from Italy. Her lover has found a new partner, after Lindsay thought she could wait for her to return. To make things worse, a former lover of hers was killed, and one of her old colleagues was put in jail for the crime.

Some do not agree with the verdict the jury came up with. It gets Lindsay in the middle of an investigation that has stolen government documents, blackmail, and some people having a good reason for her not to find out what the truth is.


The “Chief Inspector Gamache” series by Louise Penny is another good one. Set in the city of Quebec, this award winning series of mystery novels stars Armand Gamache. They follow each of the murders he investigates throughout. The books are character driven and explore the relationships that different characters have with one another.

Be sure to check out the “Inspector Rebus” series by Ian Rankin. This is a series of detective novels (also called “Tartan Noir”) that center around a Detective Inspector named John Rebus, that are set around and in the city of Edinburgh, Scotland.

What Is The Next Book in The Lindsay Gordon Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Lindsay Gordon Series. The newest book is Hostage To Murder and was released on April, 1st 2003.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *