Little House Chapter Books: Laura Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The “Little House Chapter Books: Laura” series written by author Laura Ingalls Wilder is part of the larger chapter book side series; it provides a chance for readers of a certain age to enjoy some classic stories about everyone’s favorite young female pioneer. This series comes after “My First Little House” books, which are for even younger readers than this series is intended for.

Order of Little House Chapter Books: Laura Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Adventures of Laura and Jack (Short Story) 1997 Description / Buy
2 Pioneer Sisters (Short Story) 1997 Description / Buy
3 Animal Adventures (Short Story) 1997 Description / Buy
4 School Days (Short Story) 1997 Description / Buy
5 Laura & Nellie (Short Story) 1998 Description / Buy
6 Farmer Boy Days (Short Story) 1998 Description / Buy
7 Little House Farm Days (Short Story) 1998 Description / Buy
8 Hard Times on the Prairie (Short Story) 1998 Description / Buy
9 Little House Friends (Short Story) 1998 Description / Buy
10 Christmas Stories 1998 Description / Buy
11 Laura's Ma (Short Story) 1999 Description / Buy
12 Laura's Pa (Short Story) 1999 Description / Buy
13 Laura & Mr. Edwards (Short Story) 1999 Description / Buy
14 Little House Parties (Short Story) 1999 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

There are also chapter books about other characters such as Caroline and Rose; some of the books in these other two series coincide with this one. The ones that star Laura have the most installments of these three, with fourteen of them being released. Caroline and Rose only have five chapter books each.

The series began in the year 1994 with the release of the book “The Adventures of Laura and Jack”. They were adapted from the original books, to be shorter and easier for younger readers to read. These books focus on just one thing and Laura. One book, is a collection of stories with her and wild animals, another of her interacting with her sisters. Or there is one that is a collection of her interacting with some wild animals. That being said, they are some stories in here that are not in the other books meant for older kids. The series is meant for kids that are in second to fifth grades and ages six through ten years old.


For those readers looking to get into the “Little House Chapter Books Laura” series by Laura Ingalls Wilder, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “The Adventures of Laura and Jack”, “Pioneer Sisters”, and “Animal Adventures”.

The Adventures of Laura and Jack: This is the first novel in the “Little House Chapter Books Laura” series and was released in the year 1994. This is the story of how Jack, a watchdog and bulldog, kept his family safe through everything. He would walk along the wagon, while the family was moving out west, and everyone was in the covered wagon. There was a time that they lost him, as they were crossing a creek, and thought he had died. Somehow he made it, however, and one night he came running to them when they had set up camp and were looking up at the stars somewhere.

Him and Laura have some great adventures together, while her and the rest of her family move around from Wisconsin, on to Kansas, and then later off to Minnesota.

He protects the family by going around to the stable and through the house to see if there is anything he needs to deal with. He also barks at the neighbor, who is just being friendly and helpful. Jack does not understand this, though, and continues to bark at him.

Pioneer Sisters: This is the second novel in the “Little House Chapter Books Laura” series and was released in the year 1997. This story focuses on the relationship that Laura, Carrie, and Mary have as they play some games together, find all kinds of trouble, and go all over the wild just exploring what they can find. All on their travels across the Midwest.

Animal Adventures: This is the third novel in the “Little House Chapter Books Laura” series and was released in the year 2000. It is the unsettled West, and the entire Ingalls family find themselves surrounded by a lot of wild animals. All kinds of them: deer, panthers, bears, and badgers. Laura somehow always able to find herself caught up in some kind of an adventure, and this is one that involves some animals.

It seemed that everywhere the Ingall family went on their travels across the Midwest they were surrounded by some kind of wild animal or another.


The “Pony Pals” series by Jeanne Betancourt is another great series. This 44 book series, which is written by Jeanne Betancourt, chronicles the adventures three little girls have with their ponies. It stars Lucinda Sanders, Pam Crandal, and Anna Harley. The series began in the year 1995, with the release of the book “I Want a Pony”.

Be sure to check out the “Chime Travelers” series by Lisa M Hendey. This series takes kids to distant lands and throughout time on all kinds of adventures. It also delivers them a Catholic message. The series started in the year 2015 with the release of the book “The Secret of the Shamrock”.

What Is The Next Book in The Little House Chapter Books: Laura Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Little House Chapter Books: Laura Series. The newest book is Laura & Mr. Edwards and was released on March, 21st 1999.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.