Lucas Davenport / Prey Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The character Lucas Davenport is the leading role of the “Prey” series of private detective novels that are authored by John Sandford. In the first couple of novels, he is seen as a rebel in plainclothes as an officer with the Minneapolis Law enforcement agency, and a deputy performing autonomously, controlling a system of street contacts. In the series, he’s forced to leave his job to evade unnecessary force charges, partially owing to his understanding of the fitting together of a senior crime squad officer to that circumstance.

Order of Prey/Lucas Davenport Series

1Rules of Prey1989Description / Buy
2Shadow Prey1990Description / Buy
3Eyes of Prey1991Description / Buy
4Silent Prey1992Description / Buy
5Winter Prey1993Description / Buy
6Night Prey1994Description / Buy
7Mind Prey1995Description / Buy
8Sudden Prey1996Description / Buy
9Secret Prey1998Description / Buy
10Certain Prey1999Description / Buy
11Easy Prey2000Description / Buy
12Chosen Prey2001Description / Buy
13Mortal Prey2002Description / Buy
14Naked Prey2003Description / Buy
15Hidden Prey2004Description / Buy
16Broken Prey2005Description / Buy
17Invisible Prey2007Description / Buy
18Phantom Prey2008Description / Buy
19Wicked Prey2009Description / Buy
20Storm Prey2010Description / Buy
21Buried Prey2011Description / Buy
22Stolen Prey2012Description / Buy
23Silken Prey2013Description / Buy
24Field of Prey2014Description / Buy
25Gathering Prey2015Description / Buy
26Extreme Prey2016Description / Buy
27Golden Prey2017Description / Buy
28Twisted Prey2018Description / Buy
29Neon Prey2019Description / Buy
30Masked Prey2020Description / Buy
31Ocean Prey2021Description / Buy

Order of Lucas Davenport vs. Lincoln Rhyme Short Stories/Novellas

1Rhymes With Prey: Lincoln Rhyme vs. Lucas Davenport (Short Story)2014Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The novel series, describes Davenport as this tall, slender, wide-shouldered gentleman with a “everlasting tan” that provides his blue eyes with a caring appearance, challenged by the “unfriendly” smile of a killer, mainly a wolverine.

He comes back in Night Prey as a Second-in-command Chief (a politically aware choice), operating his personal intelligence unit. Opening with Naked Prey, Lucas is a detective, acting infrequently as a special expert for the governor of Minnesota in govern-mentally complex cases. Lucas is recognized for his unconventional and scheming behavior as an investigator, evocative of a “Dirty Harry” type of character. Lucas is not a trailblazer, nevertheless a lone wolf who operstes with a small circle of accomplished, straight police helpers.

The thing that makes Davenport such an interesting character is how tied in he is to the streets of the Twin Cities. He has a street-wise character with a wide network of contacts that help him solve cases. He can get his mind into the head of a criminal, while also using technology to solve crimes. He’s not the greatest detective of all-time though, not every thing he touches turns to gold, as a lot of times he is just plain lucky.

The contacts are what move him into another territory as a character though. He’ll “bend” the law if he needs to get the case where he wants it to be, even going so far as to use the media to mess with his suspsects.

I think that he’d like to shoot first and ask questions later, but the law doesn’t always work that way. Davenport has been (correctly) suspected of putting suspects in a situation where violence will almost certainly be the answer. Something he has no issue with.

Author John Sandford has admitted that he first thought of Davenport as a sociopath, but has since softened on that stance a bit, saying “He had a problem with women. Even when he was in a relationship, he’d [have an affair with] some [other] women. But then he changed, mellowed out … . I want him to have a happy ending. I don’t want him to wind up a bitter, lonely guy.”

Early on he was a lot more of a womanizer, but as he grew he would become a married man. This allowed him to show change and grow into a calmer version of himself.


The Lucas Davenport series of novels has won one awards. This award was the Minnesota Book Awards Finalist.


The series has had a little bit of success when it comes to the silver screen. The work of fiction Mind Prey was vended for a television motion picture, and the character of Davenport was represented by actor Eriq LaSalle. An Additional novel, Certain Prey, was made into a movie in 2012. USA Network took the rights and used actor Mark Harmon as Davenport.


The Rules of Prey being his first book was a novel that caught the attention of millions. This book was his first book but considered to be one of his best because he had such a huge following after writing it. Shadow Prey was voted the next best book in the series because it was the second book that lead readers on the journey to want to know what else is going on with character Lucas Davenport. Shadow Prey is another novel in the series that people really enjoy.

This one involves a terrorist plot, conceived by a small cluster of Native Americans, boards on a series of ceremonial murders, getting rid of public officials acknowledged for their record of bias in contradiction of Indians. This novel was one of the best because it showed how the author knows all there is to know about exploding the gut level surprises of a good thriller.

Fortunately, with WINTER PREY, the author in this novel has changed his construction to the better, putting together a nerve-frying story of terror that ranks with the best of the decade. This novel is considered to be one of the best because the eerie snowbound locations lend sufficiently of remote, creepy texture to the plot, despite the fact Sandford dazzlingly provokes a troubling, frightening atmosphere that puts readers right into the story


Many Lucas Davenport fans are similarly fans of the “McRyan Mystery Series” which a real nail biting thriller where a new brave man is born in the empire of great amazing guys that do whatever it takes to get the job done. It is a steady to fast paced story that is similar to the Lucas Davenport Series. They are also fans of Forget Me Not – Mark Kane Mysteries which every one of the books features Boston private detective Mark Kane, or just Kane as he is recognized to most individuals, and his longtime friend, Lucy – a somewhat eccentric couple with a to some extent peculiar relationship.

Several Lucas Davenport fans are likewise admirers of The “Jeff Resnick Mysteries” set in Buffalo, New York. It features a miserable previous insurance detective who, after a spiteful attack in Manhattan, is gifted to sense things others are not able too. Soon after going back to Buffalo to rewire with his half-brother Richard, and his spouse Brenda, this sharp consciousness leads him to malicious crimes that have yet to be resolved.

What Is The Next Book in The Prey/lucas Davenport Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Prey/lucas Davenport Series. The newest book is Ocean Prey and was released on April, 20th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *