Madam of Espionage Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Madam of Espionage is a series of historical suspense novels written by Carol K. Carr. Carr started out as a successful lawyer before she finally gave into her desire to write fulltime.

Get notified when Carol K Carr releases a new book at

Order of Madam of Espionage Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 India Black ( By: Carol K Carr) 2010 Description / Buy
2 India Black and the Widow of Windsor ( By: Carol K Carr) 2011 Description / Buy
3 India Black and the Rajah's Ruby (Short Story) ( By: Carol K Carr) 2012 Description / Buy
4 India Black and the Shadows of Anarchy ( By: Carol K Carr) 2013 Description / Buy
5 India Black in the City of Light (Short Story) ( By: Carol K Carr) 2013 Description / Buy
6 India Black and the Gentleman Thief ( By: Carol K Carr) 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The author has since garnered some attention for the Madam of Espionage Series for which she is best known.

The books take place in Victorian England. They follow the exploits of the proprietor of a brothel called India Black. First introduced in India Black, the first novel in the series, India Black is a success.

The Lotus house has a stable flow of high society clients and Black has never had much reason to complain about her finances. Unfortunately for the feisty, witty woman, success is boring.

Black feels purposeless and her entrepreneurial efforts have done little to satisfy her cravings. A chance at adventure comes when one of Black’s clients, a government official, dies in the Lotus House.

The man in question was supposed to be in possession of valuable information at the time of his death, information that cannot be allowed to fall into the wrong hand. It is here that India Black meets French, a spy for the crown who initially injects great distress into Black’s life when he decides to use her to recover the dead man’s secrets.

And Black isn’t shy about her distaste for the spook that goes to great lengths to endanger her life. However, as the story progresses, a begrudging respect develops between French and Black.

Over the course of the Madam of Espionage Series, India Black becomes an invaluable asset to the Queen. Once her first adventure with French gives her a taste of the excitement of Espionage, she finds that she is unwilling to return to the dull life of an ordinary Madam in Victorian England.

Black is drawn into the social, economic and political conflicts of the times. This is as the Ottoman Empire declines and Russian begins to push for greater influence in Europe.

Each new novel finds Black on an adventure to stop a Russian plot that might upend England’s peaceful rule. Most times, Black accompanies French on his epic journeys all over England and Europe.

On a few occasions, Black is roped into undertaking missions by herself. Though, French is never far from her mind. While the two only exchange friendly banter at the start, an attraction starts to build between them, one that they are hard-pressed to control.

A notable character in the Madam of Espionage series is Vincent, a street urchin who worships French. Then there is Benjamin Disraeli, the Prime Minister of England and French and Black’s boss.

Best Madam of Espionage Books

Carol K. Carr has based her career solely on the success of the Madam of Espionage novels which have been praised for their witty dialogue and adventurous spirit, with some of the best books in this series including:

India Black and the Shadows of Anarchy: India Black looks like a high-class Madam, and that is because she is one. Her brothel is a successful establishment. However, there is more to India Black than prostitution. She also occasionally doubles as a secret agent.

For all the work she has done for Prime Minister Disraeli, Black is still caught off guard when he asks to meet her alone, without the presence of the handsome spy French.

And the meeting does not disappoint. There is a group called the Dark Legion spreading anarchy throughout Europe by assassinating lords and earls, and Disraeli wants Black to infiltrate their ranks and stop them. This is a mission she must undertake alone.

India Black and the Gentleman Thief: India Black always thought that it was great fun to split her time between being the Madam of a high-class brothel and working as a spy for the Queen of England. But then she received a seemingly innocent shipping bill and that led to thugs breaking into her home and roughing her and fellow Spy French up.

Now Black is pretty angry. Already a veteran spy, Black initiates an investigation that brings her face to face with a gentleman thief with whom she has a passionate history.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Lady of Ashes” Series By Christine Trent. These books take place in the 1800s. They follow the exploits of Violet Morgan, a female undertaker that solves crimes in Victorian England.

Many readers also enjoy the “Lady Julia Grey” Series By Deanna Raybourn. Lady Julia Grey is dragged into a mysterious and deceitful world after she meets the enigmatic and attractive Nicholas Brisbane, a private detective whose help she seeks in her efforts to solve her husband’s murder.

What Is The Next Book in The Madam Of Espionage Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Madam Of Espionage Series. The newest book is India Black and the Gentleman Thief and was released on February, 4th 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *