Magic Trilogy Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Magic Trilogy is a collection of novels written by Catherine Coulter. Coulter is an American author that writes suspense thrillers and romance. Growing up in Cameron County in Texas, Coulter was always surrounded by individuals with artistic tendencies.

Get notified when Catherine Coulter releases a new book at

Order of Magic Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Midsummer Magic ( By: Catherine Coulter) 1981 Description / Buy
2 Calypso Magic ( By: Catherine Coulter) 1988 Description / Buy
3 Moonspun Magic ( By: Catherine Coulter) 1988 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

It is no surprise that she eventually pursued the arts. Coulter actually began writing on a dare. She became very frustrated with a bad romance novel and claimed that she could do far better.

Her husband dared her to prove her boast, and the book Catherine Coulter wrote in response to this challenge got her a three book contract. She never looked back, leaving her job as a speech writer for a Wall Street Executive behind.

The Magic Trilogy is misleading, or at least the title is misleading. There is no magic in these books, and it is difficult to understand why Coulter chose those titles. The Magic Trilogy is historical romance fiction.

The books are perfect manifestations of Coulter’s provocative approach to writing romance. Her characters, as one would expect, are not very likable. In fact, in some cases, they are downright terrible, with almost no redeeming qualities.

As with any romance, the heroes and heroines of the Magic Trilogy start out by hating each other. Though, unlike many romance novels, the hate displayed in these books is usually earned, many times because the hero cannot help but take a savage and uncouth attitude towards the heroine.

Issues of slavery and even rape keep cropping up. The protagonists have very sketchy morals. And as one might expect, there is a lot of sex and nudity, and not all of it is consensual.

There is more of a connection between the books than what one might find with the Medieval Song series, Coulter’s other work. Protagonists from the different books cross paths on a number of occasions, giving readers a chance to see how they have changed and progressed since their own books ended.

For instance, Midsummer Magic, the first book in the series, published in 1981, follows Frances Kilbracken and Philip Hawkesbury. The protagonists lie and trick each other on numerous occasions, with Coulter painting them to be a rather terrible couple, even after their lies are stripped away and they learn to be honest with one another.

Frances and Philip appear in Calypso Magic, the second book in the series, except that they are far more likable, almost as if they have matured in the last two years and learned to actually love one another.

Best Magic Trilogy Books

Catherine Coulter’s Magic Trilogy takes a unique approach to the romance genre, with the best books in the series including the following:

Moonspun Magic: When the beautiful Victoria Abermarle fled, it was to escape the clutches of the handsome but vicious Damien Carstairs. She didn’t expect to run into Damien’s twin brother, a man who rescues her during her darkest hour.

Rafael Carstairs is nothing like his brother, far more gentle and caring than Damien. He begins to melt the icy terror that Damien generated in Victoria’s heart, her affections setting brother against brother.

This book references previous events in the Magic Trilogy series, this along with bringing back Frances and Hawk and making them out to be far less horrible than they were presented in the first book.

There is also an interesting Easter egg thrown out by Coulter, one that seems to connect this book to the Medieval Song series of novels.

Calypso Magic: Everyone knows that Lyonel Ashton is a rogue that loves to use women and then discard them. Diana Savarol knew enough to stay away from his hot-tempered cousin. However, a journey back to the West Indies changes everything when Lyonel undertakes the task of escorting Diana home. The pair encounters adventure and mayhem even as their love begins to burn more fiercely than ever.

This book marks the first appearance of Rafael, the hero of the third book. Frances and Hawk from the first book also make an appearance. Diana and Lyonel are very passionate protagonists. They are constantly warring with one another. It makes their burgeoning love all the more interesting.

Other Book Series you May like

Written by Stephanie Laurens, the “Cynster” series of books follow the three daughters of Lord Martin and Lady Celia Cynster who reach marrying age and encounter danger and heartbreak as they contend with the several eligible bachelors seeking their hand in marriage.

The “Huxtable Quintet” series of novels by Mary Balogh follows the sensual and fiery children of the Huxtable Family who engage in games of lust, sex, and passion that expose them to the harsh realities of true love as well as its consequences.

What Is The Next Book in The Magic Trilogy Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Magic Trilogy Series. The newest book is Moonspun Magic and was released on August, 1st 1988.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *