Maximum Ride Books

Maximum Ride is a book series penned by James Patterson and is centered on the adventures of Max’ Maximum Ride and other five characters after they escaped from school. As a young adult fantasy, this book also has a manga adaptation. This series was inspired James Patterson’s earlier novels, The Lake House and When the Wind Blows. The first book in this series is the Angel Experiment and in this book the author gives an overview of the gang; Maximum Ride, Iggy, Fang, Gasman, Angel and Nudge. These group of children who are aged between 6 to 14 years are indeed far from normal.

Order of Maximum Ride Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Angel Experiment 2005 Description / Buy
2 School's Out - Forever 2006 Description / Buy
3 Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports 2007 Description / Buy
4 The Final Warning 2008 Description / Buy
5 Max 2009 Description / Buy
6 Fang 2010 Description / Buy
7 Angel 2011 Description / Buy
8 Nevermore 2012 Description / Buy
9 Maximum Ride Forever 2015 Description / Buy
10 The Warning 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Maximum Ride Graphic Novels Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 1 2009 Description / Buy
2 Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 2 2009 Description / Buy
3 Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 3 2010 Description / Buy
4 Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 4 2011 Description / Buy
5 Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 5 2011 Description / Buy
6 Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 6 2012 Description / Buy
7 Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 7 2013 Description / Buy
8 Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 8 2014 Description / Buy
9 Maximum Ride: The Manga, Vol. 9 2015 Description / Buy
10 Max Ride: Ultimate Flight 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

They are only 98 per cent human and the rest 2 per cent Avian. The Avian side not only gives them super powers but also wings. The Angel Experiment also talks about the back story of the flock, by explaining how the flock ended up on a remote mountain home. This book also talks about the antagonistic half human, half wolf creatures known as Erasers. The youngest member of the flock is abducted by Erasers and he is taken to the school where they were created genetically and also raised. While in captivity, angel learns about a place known as the Institute which holds lots of secret. Max and the other Flock members try to rescue Angel, however they are captured.

The Maximum Ride series of book begins with novel The Angel Experiment. It was released in 2005 by the publishers Headline in the United Kingdom. The book is narrated in first-person style by the main protagonist, Maximum Ride, known as Max. The book goes into the backstory of Max and her friends, explaining to the reader how The Flock, as they are known, are hybrid humans – 98% human and 2% bird. The story then evolves into how The Flock escape their creators and search for their real parents in a dystopian near-future. While it’s not a pre-requisite to read The Angel Experiment first when getting into the Maximum Ride series, the amount of backstory it covers definitely adds to the experience of reading the later books in the series.

Nevermore is one of the more interesting books in the Maximum Ride series. Although not because of the content. While the book deals with the same central themes that the rest of the Maximum Ride series deals, it was rumoured to be the final book in the series, wrapping up the adventures of Max and The Flock. However, upon release of the book, James Patterson quashed any rumours that this was to be the last book in the series. While it does tie up many loose ends in the novel, fans were glad when it was announced that the series would continue with Maximum Ride Forever, the ninth book in the series and a continuation of Max’s story.

There has also been a Manga series created following Maximum Ride and The Flock’s adventures, which are straight adaptations of Patterson’s original novels, and have proven to be a real hit amongst fans of the series and fans of Manga in general.

Maximum Ride Books into Movies

In the year 2007, it was made public the series Maximum Ride was going to be adapted into a movie. James Patterson was going to be the Executive Producer of the movie. Avid Arad who is widely known for his works such as X-Men and Spiderman was going to be the producer alongside the critically acclaimed Stephen Paul. While at an interview, Arad announced that he has already designed the blueprint for the first two movies. On the 7th of August 2008, it was made public that Columbia Pictures had purchased the screen rights. The movie was slotted for a 2010 release date.

On January 2010, the movie went into pre-production. However, the movies director ordered the script to be rewritten so that the movie will include more action. Hawk Ostby and Mark Fergus were hired to work on the rewrite. Because of the rewrite, the movie’s estimated release was pushed to 2013. In the first quarter of 2011, the movie’s official page posted that the movie was coming out in 3D. Additionally, they also asked the fans about the actors whom they would love to see in the movie. While speaking to USA Today, Patterson said that he was hopeful that the film adaptation was going to be successful.

Best Maximum Ride Books

The first book in the series is by far the best book in the Maximum Ride series. It is not only eye grabbing but also consists of a story that catches the interest and imagination of the reader. Another outstanding book in the series is Maximum Ride Forever, which has the main character living once again in the apocalyptic world. With word already out, this could be the last book in this series. In this book, the entire flock survives the apocalypse. After it is believed that Dylan is dead, the entire flock decides to leave the island.

Another outstanding book in this series is The Final Warning, which begins as the flock travel for a government meeting which was organized so as to find out what the government officials really thought of them. Later on in the book, they travel to Antarctica where they fight against an international organization. The leader of the organization intends to auction the flock to other corrupt leaders from other countries.

Other Book Series You May Like

Many people who enjoyed reading Maximum Ride also enjoyed reading the “Divergent” series. Just like Maximum Ride, the Divergent book series is also a young adult fantasy that is set in the post-apocalyptic dystopian Chicago. This series is a trilogy and is made up of Divergent, Insurgent and Allegiant. Apart from the three books in the series, a book Four is also available and presents the readers with a number of short stories which are told from one of the trilogy’s character perspective. The Divergent book series has also been adapted into movies and all of them performed pretty well at the box office.

Maximum Ride FAQ

Q: Who writes the Maximum Ride series of book?
A: The author James Patterson writes the Maximum Ride series of books for young adults.

Q: What is Maximum Ride’s real name?
A: Maximum Ride is the real name of the character, but she is known as Max to her friends.

Q: What gender is Maximum Ride?
A: Maximum Ride is a young woman. Remember, Max is an androgynous name!

What Is The Next Book in The Maximum Ride Series ?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Maximum Ride Series . The newest book is The Warning and was released on August, 13th 2019.