Michael Bennett Books

Michael Bennett is currently a series of thriller novels by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge. This book series has been the number one bestselling detective book series of the past twenty-five years. Like the majority of James Patterson novels, the Michael Bennett series are crime thrillers which take place, for the most part, in New York City. The series focuses on Michael Bennett, a detective in the New York Police Department. He is involved in solving a lot of crimes while raising 10 adopted children.

Order of Michael Bennett Series By: James Patterson, James O. Born, Michael Ledwidge

# Read Title Published Details
1 Step on a Crack 2007 Description / Buy
2 Worst Case 2009 Description / Buy
3 Run for Your Life 2009 Description / Buy
4 Tick Tock 2010 Description / Buy
5 I, Michael Bennett 2012 Description / Buy
6 Gone 2013 Description / Buy
7 Burn 2014 Description / Buy
8 Alert 2015 Description / Buy
9 Bullseye 2016 Description / Buy
10 Haunted 2017 Description / Buy
11 Manhunt (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy
12 Ambush 2018 Description / Buy
13 Blindside 2020 Description / Buy
14 The Russian 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Bookshots: Michael Bennett

# Read Title Published Details
1 Chase 2016 Description / Buy
2 Manhunt (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Step on a Crack is the first novel featuring Michael Bennett. It was published in 2007 as the pioneer novel. This exciting thriller is set in the heart of Manhattan. Michael Bennett, an NTPD detective is getting through a tough Christmas with his adopted children. He is also facing the loss of her wife to cancer. At the same time, the funeral of a former first lady goes awry. A group of men storm the church and take hundreds of hostages. Michael is asked to talk with the gang leader named Jack. Jack releases all people except the famous ones and makes demands. These hostages include the mayor, a popular comedian a beloved talk show host and a pop starlet. Jack wants a million of dollars from each of them. Michael realizes that Jack is really diabolic after he starts killing the hostages. Bennett is a fascinating characters modeled by Patterson. The reader is captivated with the tense drama while empathizing with Michael’s life. This was a promising start to the book series.

Michael Bennett fits the mould of many of James Patterson’s leading characters. He’s a tough man involved in stopping crime who has personal demons to cope with while trying to do his job. However, unlike any of Patterson’s other characters, Michael Bennett is also father to ten children at the start of the first book in the series, Step On A Crack. While the Michael Bennett series of books is mainly about Bennett’s pursuit of criminals, there is also a focus on how he juggles an extremely hectic personal life with his often strenuous job and the problems that come from that.

The first book in the Michael Bennett series, Step On A Crack, introduces Bennett in his role as a detective in the NYPD when he has to deal with a hostage scenario involving the First Lady of the United States of America’s funeral. In his role as hostage negotiator, Bennett has to call on all his skills to avoid catastrophe. Of course, as with most of Patterson’s books, things never work out as planned, and Bennett must work with the FBI and his NYPD colleagues to save the hostages and also work out who the hostage-takers are.

The third book in the Michael Bennett series is Worst Case, which sees Bennett paired up with an FBI agent, Emily Parker, to try and stop a terminally ill lawyer who is torturing and killing the teenage children of his wealthiest clients. Bennett and Parker must find the lawyer before he takes and kills any more hostages.

Best Michael Bennett Books:

Alert, Gone and Burn are regarded as the best among the 10 books in the series.

Gone is the 6th novel in the series, published in 2013. This book introduces a fearless villain namely; Manuel Perrine. He is a charismatic and fearless leader who slaughters his rivals. He wears his trademark white linen suit. Detective Michael Bennett managed to put him behind bars once making him the only official in US to accomplish that. Once again he is called upon to help apprehend Perrine.

The 7th written book in the long series, Burn, was published in 2014. Michael and his family do return to the city of New York after being forced into hiding by a ruthless crime lord. He faces a crime squad in Harlem. He receives this unusual call from a man who seems to have seen group of well-dressed gentlemen holding a bizarre event in a condemned house. With no clear evidence, he dismisses the report. Later, a charred human body is found in the same building. Bennett is compelled to take this case seriously. This case is very unsettling and horrific among others in his career.

Alert is the 8th book in his series, published on 2015. The citizens of New York are not scared easily but some people are trying effortlessly to scare them again. New York City is on edge after two high-tech attacks. NYPD detective Bennett and his friends Emily Parker from the FBI are on the trial of these mysterious criminals claiming responsibility. They are masters of keeping everything on the low making them hard to track. Michael is running against the clock to save New York City once again.

Other Book Series you may like:

Many fans of Michael Bennett also enjoy reading “Alex Cross” and “Private” books series by James Patterson.

The Alex Cross series has 24 books making it the longest book series by famous James Patterson. It is based on Alex Cross, a widowed father and a detective who faces threats to his family and the city of Washington, D.C. This series focuses on Alex trying to solve very difficult cases while trying to salvage his family. This series led to three films namely; Along Came the Spider, Alex Cross and Kiss the Girls.

Private series has 13 books with the first one being published in 2009. It is a series of thriller novels by James Patterson as well as other co-writers. This series is based on character, Jack Morgan who runs an organization called private. This a detective agency that will get the job done with maximum force and discretion. They provide an option where the police can’t help you and the press proves to be destructive. Private will help you even if it means breaking a few rules. Jack served in the marines where he was involved in a helicopter crash in Afghanistan. He returns home to take over and rebuild an agency found by his father.

Michael Bennett FAQ

Q: Who writes the Michael Bennett series?
A: The Michael Bennett series is written by James Patterson. Patterson also writes the Alex Cross series of books, and the Private series, as well as several others.

Q: What is the first book in the Michael Bennett series?
A: The first book in the Michael Bennett series is Step On A Crack.

What Is The Next Book in The Michael Bennett Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Michael Bennett Series. The newest book is The Russian and was released on January, 14th 2021.