Middle School Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

James Patterson is best known for his various mystery and suspense novels, particularly his Alex Cross and Women’s Murder Club books. In recent time he has written a number of books for younger readers in his Middle School series.

The Middle School series of books from James Patterson includes many books that were co-written with Christopher Tebbets and Laura Park. Since the series started in 2011 with Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life, there have been nine different books in the Middle School series.

Get notified when James Patterson releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Middle School Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life (By: James Patterson, Chris Tebbetts) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Get Me Out of Here! (By: James Patterson, Chris Tebbetts) 2012 Description / Buy
3 How I Survived Bullies, Broccoli, and Snake Hill (By: James Patterson, Chris Tebbetts) 2013 Description / Buy
4 My Brother is a Big, Fat Liar (By: James Patterson, Lisa Papademetriou) 2013 Description / Buy
5 Ultimate Showdown (By: James Patterson, Julia Bergen) 2014 Description / Buy
6 How I Got Lost in London ( By: James Patterson) 2014 Description / Buy
7 Save Rafe! (By: James Patterson, Chris Tebbetts) 2014 Description / Buy
8 Just My Rotten Luck (By: James Patterson, Chris Tebbetts) 2015 Description / Buy
9 Going Bush (By: James Patterson, Martin Chatterton) 2016 Description / Buy
10 Dog's Best Friend (By: James Patterson, Chris Tebbetts) 2016 Description / Buy
11 Hollywood 101 (By: James Patterson, Martin Chatterton) 2016 Description / Buy
12 Escape to Australia / Million-Dollar Mess Down Under (By: James Patterson, Martin Chatterton) 2017 Description / Buy
13 From Hero to Zero (By: James Patterson, Chris Tebbetts) 2017 Description / Buy
14 Born to Rock (By: James Patterson, Chris Tebbetts) 2019 Description / Buy
15 Master of Disaster (By: James Patterson, Chris Tebbetts) 2020 Description / Buy
16 Field Trip Fiasco (By: James Patterson, Martin Chatterton) 2021 Description / Buy
17 It's a Zoo in Here! (By: James Patterson, Brian Sitts) 2022 Description / Buy
18 Winter Blunderland (By: James Patterson, Brian Sitts) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series covers siblings Rafe and Georgia Khatchadorian, two middle schoolers who are doing what they can to make it through life at Hils Village Middle School. The series has many other memorable characters like the troublemaking Leo the Silent, the appealing tutor Jeanne Galleta and the tough bully Miller the Killer.

Middle School Awards

Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life was honored by the YALSA or Young Adult Library Services Association as one the top Picks for Reluctant Young Readers in 2012. Patterson also won the 2015 Literarian Award at the National Book Awards for his work on the series.

Middle School Books Into Movies

Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life was made into a film in 2016. The film stars Griffin Gluck as Rafe, Alexa Nisenson as Georgia and Andy Daly as Principal Dwight. This marks the first time that the Middle School series has been adapted into a film or movie in some way although it is far from the first thing Patterson has made that has been adapted into something.

Best Middle School Books

Many of the books in the Middle School series have been beloved by young readers. Here are a few of the top ones to see:

Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life: The first book in the series continues to be a classic to this day. This book entails Rafe working with Leo the Silent to try and break every single rule in the middle school’s code of conduct. Whoever can break more of these rules will get more points through a particular system. However, all the fun leads Rafe into thinking about whether or not he is safe to work with.

Middle School: Get Me Out of Here!: The second book in this series occurs as Rafe is accepted to an art school in a much bigger city. He is excited to be there but it turns out it is even worse than his original school as it is overly competitive and rough. However, he has to think about what he can do to try and make his experience in high school all the more entertaining and fun. It turns out that it is not as easy for him to pull it off as he might wish it could be.

Middle School: Save Rafe!: Rafe is sent out to an outdoor survival camp. This is even more stressful as he needs to prove that he can complete the camp or else he will be held back and forced to repeat the sixth grade. The camp is especially tough with activities like whitewater rafting and rock climbing. The crazy counselors at the event are especially making it harder for him to make it through. However, he is determined to do what he can to succeed if only to avoid the embarrassment that could come with being held back.

Other Book Series You May Like:

Fans of James Patterson’s Middle School series will enjoy the “Charlie Joe Jackson” series of books from Tommy Greenwald. The series profiles Charlie as he tries to get through middle school without doing lots of things that people tell him to but starts to learn about how important it might be to follow the rules.

Janet Tashjian’s “My Life” series highlights stores of Derek Fallon, a schoolboy who gets into a variety of adventures. He often struggles to be perfect and is often mocked by a variety of people but he always takes what he does in stride.

Michael Buckley and Ethen Beavers’ “NERDS” series is another charming series of books for fans of the Middle School series. It is about a bunch of nerdy and unpopular fifth graders who secretly run their own spy network. This highlights all sorts of kids using what makes them unpopular to their advantage as they fight crime and make all sorts of fascinating discoveries.

What Is The Next Book in The Middle School Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Middle School Series. The newest book is Winter Blunderland and was released on November, 7th 2022.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *