New Library of the Universe Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

New Library of the Universe is a series of novels written by Isaac Asimov, famously known for his Sci-Fi, Mystery & Thrillers and Fantasy novels. Asimov is considered as one of the best writers of all time having authored and edited over 500 books and approximately 90,000 letters and postcards. The author published twenty-six books New Library of the Universe Series.

Order of Isaac Asimov's New Library Of The Universe Non-Fiction Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Red Planet (Short Story) 1967 Description / Buy
2 Comets and Meteors 1973 Description / Buy
3 Science Fiction: Vision Of Tomorrow 1981 Description / Buy
4 Venus (Short Story) 1981 Description / Buy
5 Neptune (Short Story) 1984 Description / Buy
6 Comet! (Short Story) 1985 Description / Buy
7 Death from Space (Short Story) 1987 Description / Buy
8 The Asteroids 1988 Description / Buy
9 Our Milky Way and Other Galaxies 1988 Description / Buy
10 Pluto 1989 Description / Buy
11 Mercury, the Quick Planet (Short Story) 1989 Description / Buy
12 Folklore and Legends of the Universe (Short Story) 1989 Description / Buy
13 Space Colonies 1995 Description / Buy
14 A Stargazer's Guide 1995 Description / Buy
15 Pollution in Space (Short Story) 1995 Description / Buy
16 Space Explorers (Short Story) 1995 Description / Buy
17 UFOs (Short Story) 1995 Description / Buy
18 The Birth of Our Universe (Short Story) 1995 Description / Buy
19 Our Planet Earth (Short Story) 1995 Description / Buy
20 Aliens and Extraterrestrials 1995 Description / Buy
21 Planet of Extremes: Jupiter 1995 Description / Buy
22 The Future in Space (Short Story) 1996 Description / Buy
23 Modern Astronomy (Short Story) 1996 Description / Buy
24 The 21st Century in Space (Short Story) 1996 Description / Buy
25 Index (Short Story) 1996 Description / Buy
26 Global Space Programs 1997 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Isaac Asimov (born 1920-1992) was American author and professor of biochemistry at Boston University. He is famously known for his works of popular science and science fiction. His books have been published, in nine out of the ten major categories of the Dewey decimal classification. He wrote science fiction along with Arthur C. Clarke, Robert A. Heinlein and was considered one of the Big Three Sci-Fi book writers during his lifetime. His famous work is The Foundation Series his major other series are Robot series, Galactic Empire series.

Asimov was born between 1919-1920 in Petrovichi in the Soviet Republic to Judah Asimov and Anna Rachael, a family of Jewish millers. Even though his birth is with that range, he celebrated it on January 2nd. His family relocated to the United States when he was three years, and since his parents always spoke English and Yiddish, Asimov never learned Russian but remained fluent in English and Yiddish.

Asimov started reading Sci-Fi magazine at a young age. His father forbids him from reading pulps and often considered them to be trash but Asimov persuaded his father because they had science in the title, they were educated. At the age of eleven, Asimov began writing stories, and at the age of 18, he joined a science fiction fan club, Futurians where he met some friends who later became editors or science fiction writers. At that same age, Asimov also sold his first story to a sci-fi magazine.

He attended New York City public schools aged five including Boys High School based in Brooklyn where he graduated at 15 and later went to Seth Low Junior in Downtown Brooklyn, a college designed to absorb Italian, Jewish-American students. Initially majoring in zoology, Asimov then switched to chemistry after his first semester because he disapproved dissecting a cat.

Asimov career is divided into several sections, his early career that was dominated by science fiction which began with short stories in 1939 and later novels in 1950. This period lasted until 1958 after The Naked Sun was published. Then in 1952, he started writing nonfiction, then after the orbit of the first human-made satellite by the USSR in 1957, Asimov works of nonfiction particularly in science fiction significantly increased but affected his science fiction output.

Over the next quarter century, Asimov wrote more science fiction books and the second of his science fiction career started after the publication of Fountains Edge. From then, Asimov published more prequels and sequels to his existing books tying them in a way that he had initially anticipated, thus making a unified series.


Isaac Asimov was nominated and also won several awards thanks to his prolific work. He won more than dozen annual awards for his sci-fi work and more than half dozen lifetime awards. Asimov also received fourteen honorary doctorate degrees.

Building Blocks of the Universe won Thomas Alva Edison Foundation Award in 1957 for the best sci-fi book for the youth. In 1962, Asimov was awarded Boston University Publication Merit Award. In 1983 he was awarded a Locus Award for his book Foundation Edge for the best novel category.


These are two best books in New Library of the Universe series by Isaac Asimov, Vision of Tomorrow (1981) and Space Colonies (1995).

Vision of Tomorrow: A thoroughly updated and revised work of highly celebrated Isaac Asimov New Library of the Universe installment. The book details the latest theories and discoveries and photos bring these volumes up to par in the 21st century while maintaining their originality. Asimov initial work forms a basis of a fascinating mixture of theory and science fact with highly captivating prose style.

Space Colonies: Isaac Asimov original work forms a basis of an intriguing mix of speculation and science fact combined with a simple, readable style. The unique is an exciting series capable of answering in understanding and an informative way, the endless number of questions children ask when they gaze above the Skyward.


What Is The Next Book in The Isaac Asimov's New Library Of The Universe Non-fiction Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Isaac Asimov's New Library Of The Universe Non-fiction Series. The newest book is Global Space Programs and was released on September, 1st 1997.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *