Night Tales Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Night Tales is a series of suspenseful romance novels written by Nora Roberts. The books follow the exploits of a group of men and women who fall in love in the midst of danger.

Get notified when Nora Roberts releases a new book at

Order of Night Tales Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Night Moves (By: Nora Roberts) 1985 Description / Buy
2 Night Shift ( By: Nora Roberts) 1991 Description / Buy
3 Night Shadow ( By: Nora Roberts) 1991 Description / Buy
4 Nightshade ( By: Nora Roberts) 1993 Description / Buy
5 Night Smoke ( By: Nora Roberts) 1994 Description / Buy
6 Night Shield ( By: Nora Roberts) 2000 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Nora Roberts is a favorite amongst romance enthusiasts. She has written over two hundred novels under her real name and pseudonyms like Jill March. Roberts wasn’t much of a writer as a child.

But she had an active imagination and was always making up stories in her head. Her books have a formula to them but Roberts works hard to make the execution of that formula new and fresh.

The Night Tales series started publication in the early 1990s and it shows. The books feature technology and investigative tools that have long since been abandoned.

Night Shift, the first novel, tells Cilla and Boyd’s story. Cilla was a late-night radio announcer whose sexy voice had won her an army of fans. So she was pretty accustomed to receiving calls from overly enthusiastic followers.

But then some of her fans crossed the line. Words of adoration became threats and Cilla realized that she had drawn the ire of a dangerous figure. She called the police and, thus, met Boyd Fletcher.

Boyd had one job: to keep Cilla safe and to find the man that had turned her life upside down. But he was distracted. Cilla was the most breathtaking woman he had ever met, and the more time he spent in her company, the more difficult it became for the detective to focus on his task.

While Cilla and Boyd, the protagonists of Nightshift, only appear in that debut novel, Night Shift lays out a blueprint that its sequels continue to follow.

The Night Tales books are standalones. Each installment introduces a new hero and heroine to readers. The series is classified as suspense romance because each love story has a sinister plot at its heart.

In Night Shift, the heroine has a stalker that the hero must identify and confront. In Night Smoke, the hero is a firefighter that must solve the heroine’s arson case.

This sinister plot acts as the driving factor that ultimately brings the hero and the heroine together. It also keeps them together, placing them in close proximity and paving the way for a bond to take shape.

The heroes are not always alpha males but they are strong, possessive and protective. The women are independent and willful. However, they are also hesitant to pursue a romantic relationship.

It takes some poking and prodding on the part of the hero to open their hearts.

Night Tales Awards

Night Shift won a RITA Award in 1992. Night Shade won the RITA Award in 1994. Night Smoke won the Romance Readers Anonymous Award in 1994.

Best Night Tales Books

These novels might be classified as suspense romance but they tend to emphasize the romance and the sex above all else, with some of the best books in the series including:

Night Smoke: Natalie Fletcher is abrasive and aggressive. She also has little patience for Ryan’s ways. But the arson investigator is exactly what Natalie needs now. Someone set her warehouse on fire.

Now Ryan will work alongside her to find the culprit and avoid further disaster down the line. Ryan and Natalie don’t belong together. They are too different. And yet they can’t stop thinking about one another.

Night Shield: Jonah was busted by the police as a much younger man. But Boyd Fletcher helped him out. Now Jonah runs a night club that has been linked to a series of burglaries.

When Boyd asks Jonah to assist in the investigation, he acquiesces. Boyd inserts his daughter Allison inside Jonah’s club. The goal is for the young officer to work undercover to identify the source of the burglaries.

Things get complicated when Jonah falls for Allison.

Other Book Series You May Like

You may also like the Mercy Street Series by Mariah Steward. Robert Magellan is a reclusive billionaire whose wife and child disappeared. Now he works with former detective Mallory Russo and various other operatives to solve missing person’s cases.

Another good series is the Kendrick, Coulter, Harrigan Series. These books tell the stories of the Kendricks, the Coulters, and the Harrigans, men, and women that have been wounded by life but for whom the hope of true love and healing still exists.

What Is The Next Book in The Night Tales Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Night Tales Series. The newest book is Night Shield and was released on June, 9th 2000.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *