Ordinary People Change the World Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

“Kids always search for heroes, so we might as well have a say in it”- Brad Meltzer

Ordinary People Change the World is a picture biography book series by Brad Meltzer, illustrated by Christopher Eliopoulos. This series has a set of 11 books till date and the first one published was I am Abraham Lincoln.

Order of Ordinary People Change the World Series

1I am Abraham Lincoln2014Description / Buy
2I am Amelia Earhart2014Description / Buy
3I am Rosa Parks2014Description / Buy
4I am Albert Einstein2014Description / Buy
5I am Jackie Robinson2015Description / Buy
6I am Lucille Ball2015Description / Buy
7I am Helen Keller2015Description / Buy
8I am Martin Luther King, Jr.2016Description / Buy
9I am George Washington2016Description / Buy
10I am Jane Goodall2016Description / Buy
11I am Jim Henson2017Description / Buy
12I Am Gandhi (Short Story)2017Description / Buy
13I am Sacagawea (Short Story)2017Description / Buy
14I Am Harriet Tubman (Short Story)2018Description / Buy
15I Am Neil Armstrong (Short Story)2018Description / Buy
16I Am Sonia Sotomayor (Short Story)2018Description / Buy
17I Am Billie Jean King (Short Story)2019Description / Buy
18I Am Walt Disney (Short Story)2019Description / Buy
19I Am Marie Curie (Short Story)2019Description / Buy
20I Am Leonardo Da Vinci (Short Story)2020Description / Buy
21I Am Benjamin Franklin (Short Story)2020Description / Buy
22I Am Anne Frank (Short Story)2020Description / Buy
23I Am I. M. Pei (Short Story)2021Description / Buy
24I Am Oprah Winfrey (Short Story)2021Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Each of the books revolves around the life history and childhood of one of the icons of America. Meltzer started the series as he wanted to give his daughter and the kids her age, some real heroes to follow. The message delivered through the series of books is, “We can all be heroes”.

Ordinary People Change the World Awards

The series is a New York Times bestselling children’s picture book series.

Best books in the Ordinary People Change the World Series

All of the books in the series have been best sellers. Here are 3 of the books that have been a favorite among readers, young and old alike.

I am Abraham Lincoln: This book is a comic like, illustrated version of the biography of Abraham Lincoln. It was the first book in the series, published in January 2014. It starts with featuring a young Abraham Lincoln, who stood for himself, spoke against bullies and believed in fairness in every situation. Right from his childhood he exhibited several traits that evidently spoke of his leadership qualities. Meltzer focuses on those anecdotes in his life which can teach the young readers good values.

It also talks about how he strongly stood and led the nation during its toughest times. The book also talks about the failures he faced and how Abraham Lincoln dealt with them. How an ordinary person made his way to become one of the greatest presidents of America is presented in an easy to follow format for the kids.The readers also get a glimpse of how he was, as a president, and right up to his Gettysburg Address.

I am Rosa Parks: This was the third book in the series published in June 2014. This book is about the life and struggle of Rosa Parks. Her grandfather was a slave who was released after the US Constitution’s 13th Amendment. Young Rosa Parks was not happy when she was discriminated by a white kid. She was concerned about the rules which were unfair to the African Americans. She faced a lot of discriminatory situations, forced to attend a separate school, pushed to the back seats in buses and several other unfair occasions. She could not take this any longer.

She then put her foot down and refused to let anyone treat her with a racist attitude. She went on to fight for her fellow African Americans. She was one of the greatest leaders who fought against racism and was the inspiration for the Montgomery Bus Boycott. She played a major role in launching the Civil Rights Movement in America. The life of this determined leader is presented in an engaging way to inspire young readers in this book.

I am Amelia Earhart: This book was also released in January 2014 along with I am Abraham Lincoln. It illustrates the life and adventures of Amelia Earhart. Ideally, kids in the 5-8 years age category would learn a lot from this book about the world famous adventurer. Right from the time she was a kid, Amelia Earhart’s adventure streak ran wild. She was always eager to explore and try out new things.

She was fearless and never hesitated to do the wildest things other girls would shy away from. She built her own version of a roller coaster with wood and other odd raw materials. She always loved flying and pushing beyond the limits. She grew up without the slightest change in her nature. She was the first woman to fly all alone over the entire stretch of the Atlantic Ocean.

Other books you may like

If you love the books in this series, you might also like “The Book With No Pictures”, by B.J. Novak. No, a book without pictures needn’t be boring. It is, in fact, a book that has been widely sought after and read and re-read by a lot of kids. If you would like to go to another illustrated book, go to “Grandfather Gandhi” by Arun Gandhi and Bethany Hegedus. This illustrated book talks about the Indian leader’s life.

What Is The Next Book in The Ordinary People Change The World Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Ordinary People Change The World Series. The newest book is I Am I. M. Pei and was released on September, 28th 2021.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *