Precious Ramotswe’s Very First Cases Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Before establishing her Detective Agency, Ramotswe was once a young girl who had a passion for solving mysteries. The Precious Ramotswe book series is a story about a young girl who went later on to become one of the most successful Private Detectives in Botswana. One of the best books in the Precious Ramotswe series is Precious and the Monkeys, which is the first installment. In this installment, we are introduced to one Precious, an extremely young student who resides in Africa. Despite being young, Precious uses her investigative skills to find solutions to mysteries and also catch thieves who have been stealing treats from her classmates. The protagonist, Precious after conducting a series of investigation, finally catches an extremely fat boy, Poloko who has been the main suspect in two consecutive incidences.

Get notified when Alexander McCall Smith releases a new book at

Order of Precious Ramotswe's Very First Cases Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Great Cake Mystery (By: Alexander McCall Smith) 2009 Description / Buy
2 Precious and the Monkeys ( By: Alexander McCall Smith) 2010 Description / Buy
3 Precious and the Mystery of Meerkat Hill (Short Story) ( By: Alexander McCall Smith) 2012 Description / Buy
4 Precious and the Mystery of the Missing Lion ( By: Alexander McCall Smith) 2013 Description / Buy
5 Precious and the Zebra Necklace ( By: Alexander McCall Smith) 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Precious Ramotswe Awards

None of the books in this series have been nominated for any major awards.

Precious Ramotswe Books into Movies

None of the books have been adapted into a screenplay.

Best Precious Ramotswe Books

The Great Cake: This is another great and warm-hearted book which shows how the protagonist, Precious Ramotswe began her investigative career. Apart from being curious, Ramotswe was also exceedingly observant and also one of the best performing girls in her class. Ramotswe manages to land her very first novel in school when a slice of bread, a piece of cake and ice burns are stolen from the friend’s bag packs. Alexander has managed to lace this narrative with contemplative musings. Furthermore, he also directs the reader into the mind of a young kid who is more than determined to become a detective in the future. Another great read in this series is Precious and the Mystery of Merkat-Hill. This read is much better than all the other books in this series and just like all the other books in this series is about Precious Ramotswe. The book begins as Precious becomes aware of her father’s lost hat. The Mystery of Meerkat Hill is a story about animals, Africa, friendship, and acceptance.

The Mystery of the Missing Lion: Another book that performed extremely well, in the Precious Ramotswe book series is The Mystery of The Missing Lion which is the third installment in this series. This installment begins as Precious has gone to visit her aunt who works in a camp. A movie company has scheduled to visit the camp and also use the camp to shoot one of their movies. However, when shooting the movie, one of the tamed lions which were to be used in the movie, gets away. Thus, Precious together with her friend Khumo decides to look for the lion. After the crew go after the lion with no positive results, Khumo and Precious decide to take a canoe along the local river in search of the lion.

Before going aboard the canoe, her aunt warns her about the local river and its dangers. However, as all this happens, will the children be able to get the lion or will they be lost in the woods, only time will tell. With that being said, this is a great book for young readers who are more than ready to tackle a book with many chapters. The writing style used in the book is exceedingly simple and in cases where the author introduces something new such as the Okavango Delta, he gives a clear definition or description for the young readers. At the beginning of the book, the author has also included a map of Africa which indicates where Botswana lies on the map. Also at the back of this installment, there is also a page which gives detailed information about the country and also its geography.

With that said, this is an exceedingly interesting story. Despite the fact that all the books are not as long as the books which involve Ramotswe as an adult, this story is worth reading since it still has all the elements of any classic full-length novel.

Other Books That You May Like

“The Number 1 Ladies Detective Agency” series is also another great series that you may like. This book is set in Botswana, and it introduces the reader to the 35 year old, Mma Ramotswe, who is an extremely cunning and content woman. After the sudden death of her father, Mma’s father was a miner worker who was employed by a mining firm in South Africa. Mma decides to sell the exceedingly large herd of cattle that he had left behind and used the money to open her investigative firm. Mma is hired to track cheating husbands, missing spouse and children and thieving daughters and husbands as well as witch doctors. Apart from the cases, the author does an exceedingly great job of describing the terrains and cultures of Africa.

The author also informs the reader about Mma’s extremely disastrous marriage which ended very many years ago.However, what will grab your attention is the main protagonist, Mma Ramotswe. She is not only an exceedingly interesting protagonist, but she is also a woman who is not afraid to stand up for herself and has a deep love for Africa.

What Is The Next Book in The Precious Ramotswe's Very First Cases Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Precious Ramotswe's Very First Cases Series. The newest book is Precious and the Zebra Necklace and was released on July, 7th 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *