Professor Dr von Igelfeld Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Professor Dr. Moritz Maria is a collection of short comic stories authored by the critically acclaimed writer, Alexander Smith. This book series features the Professor Dr. Moritz, a very gentle figure and a pompous professor who has mainly specialized in Romance languages. The protagonist is a college graduate and works extremely hard on various subjects such as irregular verbs. Apart from the professor, other notable characters in the series include Dr. Florinus Prinzel who is a colleague to the main protagonist, Signora Margarita Cosi who is the owner of a local inn in Tuscany and Professor J.H Sign.

Get notified when Alexander McCall Smith releases a new book at

Order of Professor Dr. Von Igelfeld Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Portuguese Irregular Verbs ( By: Alexander McCall Smith) 2003 Description / Buy
2 The Finer Points of Sausage Dogs ( By: Alexander McCall Smith) 2003 Description / Buy
3 At the Villa of Reduced Circumstances ( By: Alexander McCall Smith) 2003 Description / Buy
4 Unusual Uses for Olive Oil ( By: Alexander McCall Smith) 2011 Description / Buy
5 Your Inner Hedgehog (By: Alexander McCall Smith) 2021 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Professor Dr. Moritz Maria Awards

None of the books in this series has been nominated for any major award.

Professor Dr. Moritz Maria von Igelfield Books into Movies

None of the books in this series is yet to be adapted for screenplay.

Best Professor Dr. Moritz-Maria Books

Portuguese Irregular Verbs: One of the best books in the Professor Dr. Moritz book series is Portuguese Irregular Verbs, which is among one of the books in the series. Professor Dr. Moritz is a three book series which features the protagonist Professor Dr. Moritz, who is the author of philosophical masterwork. All the books in this series were published in the year 2003; thus there is no starting point to the Professor Dr. Moritz-Maria book series. However, it is highly advisable that the readers should begin with this installment. The eight stories which have been included in this installment offer a great background to the series’ main protagonist.

The reader gets to learn about Maria’s acquaintance while she was a student with one Florianus Prinzel, who later on becomes the protagonist’s colleague at the Romance Philosophy Institute, which is located in Regensburg. We also get to learn about the protagonist’s early assistance work as a deputy professor. The author also in the book, gives the readers an account of when the idea for writing about the Portuguese Irregular Verbs began and also about his ill-fated courtship of a certain lady dentist. Professor Moritz travels to Zurich and Ireland, Venice, Sienna, and India in this installment. On one of his journey’s he meets with one man who is believed to be holy, a murderer, provokes a sword fight and also gets his tooth pulls out. Throughout the book, Professor Moritz is not only characteristically self-important but also endearingly out of touch.

The Finer Points of Sausage: Nonetheless, some of the books in the book are much better than others. In a majority of these stories, the protagonist Maria von Igelfield attempts to improve the sales of the monograph that he had designed so that it can be saved from being sold. Another installment that performed extremely well in the Professor Dr. Moritz book series is the Finer Points of Sausage Dogs. It is not only a great read but also it is also relatively light-hearted novel which is exceedingly entertaining as the first book. This installment follows the main protagonist as he travels across America. Throughout the journey’s the medical professor is mistaken for a veterinary doctor, thus at one point supervises the amputation of one sausage dog. The professor is shocked upon discovering that the sausage dog belonged to one of his colleagues.

Later on, the Professor travels to Italy where he is given the task of protecting St. Nicholas’s relic bones, which he fails to protect and are accidentally eaten by some dogs. He also mistakenly penalizes the pope for being extremely loud in the library. At one point, the protagonist is presumed dead after he runs away from a cruise-ship after escaping away from numerous elderly ladies who had just discovered that the professor was a bachelor.

Other Book Series You May Like

If you are a fan of the Professor Dr. von Igelfeld, then you are definitely going to love the “44 Scotland Street” series. The first installment in this series introduces the reader to one Bertie Pollock, a six-year-old who is extremely wise beyond his years. Bertie loves playing the saxophone and is also a psychotherapy patient whose main job in the book is to tie all the other characters together. She also gives the story a poignant intuition into what exactly a child’s life can be especially under the hands of an extremely overbearing mother. As the book progresses, his life appears to be getting worse and worse. However, despite everything that the main character is going through, one thing is clear, she is not going to get assistance from the psychotherapist that he normally reports to since the therapists believe that Bertie is criminally insane.

What Is The Next Book in The Professor Dr. Von Igelfeld Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Professor Dr. Von Igelfeld Series. The newest book is Your Inner Hedgehog and was released on February, 16th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *