Sherlock Holmes Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Sherlock Holmes is a fictional character in a series of novels written by bestselling English author, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Popularly referred as “consulting detective” in the series, Holmes is a man known for his competence with deductive reasoning, crime science and observation which he often employs in solving cases for his clients.

Get notified when Anthony Horowitz releases a new book at

Order of Sherlock Holmes Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The House of Silk ( By: Anthony Horowitz) 2011 Description / Buy
2 Moriarty ( By: Anthony Horowitz) 2014 Description / Buy
3 The Three Monarchs ( By: Anthony Horowitz) 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Adventure of the Seven Christmas Cards (Short Story) (By: Anthony Horowitz) 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Holmes debuted in 1887 when A Study in Scarlet, the first book in Sherlock Holmes series was published. Even though Holmes is not the first fictional detective, he is probably the famous with the Guinness World Records noting him as the most played movie character in the history. The character has garnered popularity to the point that many people have associated him being a real life individual rather than a fictional character.

Conan Doyle admitted that his character, Holmes was inspired by Joseph Bell, a surgeon whom he met in 1877. Just like his character Holmes, Doyle stated that Bell was a man known for drawing conclusions from few minutes’ observations.


Several of Sherlock Holmes books have won and others nominated for various distinct awards. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes was nominated for 2004 & 2005 Agatha Award- Nonfiction category. The same title won 2005 Edgar Allan Poe Award- Critical/Biographical and was also featured in 2015 Publishers Weekly- Starred Review.

Sherlock Holmes: Volume I and II won the 1996 Audies Award and subsequently featured in 2015 Publishers Weekly- Starred Review.


Many of Sherlock Holmes books have been adapted into television movies (including silent film), series and board games. The Sign of Four (1890) was made into a 1983 movie by the same name with Ian Richardson playing Sherlock Holmes. Richardson also featured in a The Hound of the Baskervilles, an adaptation of a novel by the same name.

More recently, Sherlock Holmes was turned into a major motion picture starring Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law. Downey’s portrayal of Sherlock Holmes earned praise from fans and critics alike. The film also featured Rachel McAdams as one of Sherlock’s greatest questions/love interest, Irene Adler. The film was directed by Guy Ritchie and produced by Joel Silver. It was a huge box office success as it grossed a total of $524 million worldwide making it the most successful Sherlock Holmes film adaptation of all-time.

The film spawned a sequel as well called Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows. The sequel featured all of the major actors from the first film returning as well as Jared Harris playing Sherlock’s greatest rival, Professor Moriarty. This film was another success at the box office and a third film in the sequel feels like an inevitability at this point.

The greatest adaptation of Sherlock Holmes is considered to be the BBC’s Sherlock. Beneditch Cumberbatch plays Sherlock Holmes in a modern setting alongside Martin Freeman as Dr. John Watson. In the modern update, Freeman is a former war doctor while Sherlock is portrayed as a cold techie who shows signs of Aspergers. Sherlock’s brother Mycroft also plays a major role in the series as a member of the British government who works as both a help and adversary to his brother. We even get to meet the Holmes’ parents at one point during the series. While the series is set in modern times, there was one special episode that was more a flashback to the original setting of the books.

Over dozen video games based on Sherlock Holmes stories have been created. Notable ones include Sherlock Holmes: The Devils Daughter available for play on Xbox One, PC, PS4, and Frogwares.


These are two best books in Sherlock Holmes series by Conan Doyle, A Study in Scarlet (1890) and The Sign of Four (1890).

A Study in Scarlet: The novel that introduces the heroic detective team of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson. Searching for a roommate, Watson is introduced to Holmes with some warnings. However, Holmes and Watson get along perfectly and end up being one of the most excellent pairings in the history of literature. The story is split up into two parts, the first part being when Holmes and Watson meet and slowly get to know each other. Eventually, Holmes profession is revealed, and all the fun begins when a man is found dead in an abandoned house. The cops are baffled and seek Holmes assistance.

In Part II “The Country of Saints” the narrative then shifts backstory of the killer who is somehow a gentleman despite multiple homicides. This part narrative style, setting (set in the heartland USA), and the characters are entirely different from the first part, and Holmes and Watson are not featured as well.

The Sign of Four: This book kicks off with Holmes with sniffing cocaine out of boredom and then goes ahead to humiliate his friend Watson for his dull intellect. Soon, Miss Mary Mortsan shows up with her freakish case about the mysterious disappearance of her father and someone mailing her pearls on an annual basis. Holmes and Watson move in to help solve Miss Mary and soon find themselves entangled in a case that involves, a stolen Indian treasure, a wronged woman, a love affair, a wooden-legged thug and a helpful dog.

The Sign of Four is cleverly written, fast-paced and humorous. It also features a romantic subplot where Watson falls madly in love with Mary Morstan, at first sight. Just like any other Sherlock Holmes novel, this book features a lengthy flashback that serves to give the readers more insight into the lives of Holmes, Watson and other characters.


If you fancy reading Sherlock Holmes series, the chances are that you may also like, The “Hercule Poirot” series by Agatha Christie featuring a Belgian detective Hercule Poirot as the main character.

You may also enjoy “Feluda’s Stories” by Satyajit Ray featuring the master detective Pradosh C. Mitter AKA Feluda as the protagonist.

What Is The Next Book in The Sherlock Holmes Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Sherlock Holmes Series. The newest book is The Adventure of the Seven Christmas Cards and was released on December, 21st 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *