Sir Robert Carey Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Sir Robert Carey was the first Earl of Monmouth. Born in 1560, Carey was a military man who participated in many diplomatic missions and conflicts, eventually passing away at the age of 78.

Get notified when Patricia Finney releases a new book at

Order of Sir Robert Carey Series P.F. Chisholm

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Famine of Horses ( As: P.F. Chisholm) 1994 Description / Buy
2 A Season of Knives ( As: P.F. Chisholm) 1995 Description / Buy
3 A Surfeit of Guns ( As: P.F. Chisholm) 1996 Description / Buy
4 A Plague of Angels ( As: P.F. Chisholm) 1998 Description / Buy
5 A Murder of Crows ( As: P.F. Chisholm) 2010 Description / Buy
6 An Air of Treason ( As: P.F. Chisholm) 2014 Description / Buy
7 A Chorus of Innocents ( As: P.F. Chisholm) 2014 Description / Buy
8 A Clash of Spheres ( As: P.F. Chisholm) 2017 Description / Buy
9 A Suspicion of Silver ( As: P.F. Chisholm) 2018 Description / Buy
10 A Taste of Witchcraft ( By: P.F. Chisholm) 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Sir Robert Carey series, written by Patricia Finney, provides a fictionalized account of Robert’s adventures.

Robert was a cousin to Queen Elizabeth the First. His father’s mother was Mary, sister to Anne Boleyn. Because Mary played the role of King Henry’s mistress on more than one occasion, some speculated that Robert’s father was King Henry child.

The fact that Robert might be the half-brother of the Queen doesn’t really factor into the equation when readers first encounter the hero in A Famine of Horses, the first novel in the series.

Robert is still one of the Queen’s favorite people. And when he decides to become Deputy Warden in Carlisle, the protagonist doesn’t encounter much in the way of opposition.

Most people might have questioned the appointment. England and Scotland were not on the best terms in 1592. And that border territory was often a source of contention.

But Robert pursues the appointment because he needs to escape the problems that haunted him back at Queen Elizabeth’s court, chief among them were his creditors.

More importantly, the hero has his eye on Elizabeth Widdrington, a clever woman in the vicinity that has captured Robert’s heart. The fact that Elizabeth is married has not stopped Robert from pursuing her.

Robert doesn’t expect his time in Carlisle to be a cakewalk. And yet he is still quite shocked by the series of unfortunate events that he encounters. When the body of one of the most powerful groups in the community is uncovered and horses begin to disappear, Robert must use all the wit and cunning in his arsenal to maintain peace.

The Sir Robert Carey series belongs in the historical mystery genre. Each novel has a puzzle at its center that the hero has to solve. The author spends quite a bit of time fleshing out the historical setting.

However, the historical details are scarce. They do not burden or bury the mystery. The author’s goal is to provide a clear context, not to educate. The historical elements are crucial to the story of each novel, especially the enmity at the border between England and Scotland.

The effort the author injected into her research shows. However, one doesn’t have to be a history buff to enjoy these books. Robert is a strong, handsome hero who can fight the bad guys and charm the ladies whenever the need arises.

One of his more problematic antagonists is Sir Richard Lowther. Lowther had his sights set on the Deputy Warden position. So he wasn’t particularly amused to learn that the job had been assigned to Robert.

Lowther believes that he deserves to be deputy warden, and he will do everything in his power to either kill or discredit Robert.

Best Sir Robert Carey Books

These novels have a lot more romance than most people might expect, with some of the best books in the series including:

A Season of Knives: Robert became Deputy Warden of the West March to escape his creditors. But life in Carlisle is fraught with problems. When Robert marches off to stop the Grahams from kidnapping Elizabeth during her journey home, a man he recently sacked dies.

Robert comes back to find that Barnabus, his servant, has been arrested for the crime. Now it looks like Richard Lowther is trying to connect Robert to Barnabus’ perceived crimes.

A Plague of Angels: Carey became Warden of the West March because he wanted to escape the troubles of court life. But now his father wants him to come back to London. Henry might be the son of Anne Boleyn’s sister but he can’t rely on the weight of his origins to resolve a new complication into which his elder son has walked.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Phryne Fisher” Series by Kerry Greenwood. Phryne Fisher comes from a poor background. But circumstances drew her father into aristocratic circles. Now Phryne is a fashionable but generous socialite living in Melbourne in the 1920s. She also solves mysteries.

Another great series is “The Thief Taker” Series by Alissa Johnson. These historical fiction novels feature men of the law whose determination to walk the straight and narrow path is challenged when they are captured by the allure of women who are not afraid to break every law in the book to get what they want.

What Is The Next Book in The Sir Robert Carey Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Sir Robert Carey Series. The newest book is A Taste of Witchcraft and was released on February, 11th 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *