Tales of Alvin Maker Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Tales of Alvin Maker is a novel series of alternate history/fantasy written by bestselling American author Orson Scott Card. The series was published from 1987 to 2003 and explore the adventures of a young man named Alvin Miller who discovers that he possesses incredible powers for creating and also shaping the things around him.

Get notified when Orson Scott Card releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Tales Of Alvin Maker Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Seventh Son ( By: Orson Scott Card) 1987 Description / Buy
2 Red Prophet ( By: Orson Scott Card) 1988 Description / Buy
3 Prentice Alvin ( By: Orson Scott Card) 1989 Description / Buy
4 Alvin Journeyman ( By: Orson Scott Card) 1995 Description / Buy
5 Heartfire (By: Orson Scott Card) 1998 Description / Buy
6 The Crystal City ( By: Orson Scott Card) 2003 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

These stories take place in the American frontier during the early 19th century, a fictional setting based on old American superstition and folklore and in a world where most of the characters have insufficient ability to perform tasks to near perfection.

These stories also involve some historical figures and events, but it is a creation of alternate history. What was once known as the Colonial United States is divided in the novels into several numbers of separate countries? It features much stronger American Indian effects on the society and culture of Virginia and New England and extending towards Ohio. There is also a monarchy located eastern seaboard founded by the House of Stuart.

Furthermore, most of the historical figures are either bear a superficial resemblance to their historical persons or are presented as caricatures. Other historical figures such as Benjamin Franklin are accorded knacks and possess the ability to make others obey and adore him. Some of the Native American Indian figures are Tecumseh, who is mentioned as Ta Kumsaw in the novels, and his brother Tensquatawa is called as Tenskwa Tawa. The characters featured in the books assume features similar to the two prolific Native Americans. Additionally, the famous Battle of Tippecanoe in which the two brothers were involved is also featured in the series even though its outcome is entirely different from the historical one.

Alvin Miller is the main character in Tales of Alvin Maker series; he is the 7th son who discovers that his knack is much greater than that of everyone else. He can change the on living and the living matter by force of will. However, Alvin Maker’s his power comes at a cost as there are forces that seek to see him dead. He, therefore, must discover how to make use of his abilities and use them for good deeds while struggling to survive.


Orson Scott novels have won and other been nominated for various awards. Alvin Journeyman won the 1996 Locus Award for the best fantasy novel category. Enders Game was featured in School Library Journal in 1985 and the following year won a Hugo Award.

Lost Boys won Locus Award for the best short story and Audies for best science fiction in 1995 and 2005 respectively. Ruins was featured in 2012 Booklist Starred Review while Seventh Son won the 1988 Locus Award for the best fantasy novel category and was nominated for World Fantasy Award in the same year. Speaker for the Dead has won three distinct awards which are 1986 Nebula Award, 1987 Locus Award for the best Science fiction novel and 1987 Hugo Award for the best book category.


These are two best books in the Tales of Alvin Maker series, Seventh Son, and Red Prophet.

Seventh Son: Since quantum physics entered the popular consciousness, alternate worlds have become the center stage of science fiction; but the flourishing of alternate worlds in which magic works has become a norm in the fantasy genre. Judging by this first installment, Tales of Alvin Maker series is a great contribution to the later.

The novel is set in 1800-1810 in the Indiana and Ohio frontier and describes the birth and the critical times in the childhood of Alvin Miller who is uniquely gifted born in the border America in which magic works and plays a crucial role in human lives.

However Magic is not the only thing unique to this alternate world to that of ours, and in this world, Oliver Cromwell lived to be 97 years while the banished Stuarts migrated to the Southern Colonies. For the seventh son, even in the loving safety of his home, evil forces still reach out to destroy him.

Red Prophet: The second novel in Tales of Alvin Maker by Orson Scott continues the American history that began in the Seventh Son and this time from the viewpoint of Lalawasike, known to the readers of American history as The Prophet. Andrew Jackson, William Henry Harrison, Napoleon and Lafayette also figure into this tale of time before the battle of Tippecanoe.


If you like reading alternate world fantasy books, you will find these two book series a good read. “Rid Master” Series by Patricia A. McKillip and “Initiate Brother” Series by Sean Russell.

What Is The Next Book in The Tales Of Alvin Maker Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Tales Of Alvin Maker Series. The newest book is The Crystal City and was released on January, 19th 2003.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *