The Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Beatrix Potter has undergone a lot of hardships in her life and the novels in which she has been portrayed as the main character display the same in an intricate manner. She was born in London on 28 July 1866 and grew as a renowned writer, illustrator, natural scientist and conservationist. She established herself in the field of mycology and later published the much renowned illustrated book, ‘The Tale of Peter Rabbit’.

Get notified when Susan Wittig Albert releases a new book at

Order of The Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Tale of Hill Top Farm ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2004 Description / Buy
2 The Tale of Holly How ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2005 Description / Buy
3 The Tale of Cuckoo Brow Wood ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2007 Description / Buy
4 The Tale of Hawthorn House ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2007 Description / Buy
5 The Tale of Briar Bank ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2008 Description / Buy
6 The Tale of Applebeck Orchard ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2009 Description / Buy
7 The Tale of Oat Cake Crag ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2010 Description / Buy
8 The Tale of Castle Cottage ( By: Susan Wittig Albert) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series ‘The Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter’ revolves around the beloved author Beatrix Potter and how she manages her independence after she moves from London. The series is a mystery series and is suited for all age groups. The main character, Beatrix Potter buys a farm in England in Lake District. She is an author and an illustrator herself. She turns into a Victorian age daughter and sets off to live a new life. Her adventures are mesmerizing as she sets to find a new life and new hopes altogether. She connects strongly with the places and communities she visits and the intricacies with which she perceives the same. She buys the farm to settle and work peacefully on her children’s stories and forget the painful death of her fiancé. The villagers in her area are not all cooperative since they find it odd for an unwed woman to run and stay on a farm. Some offer her genuine help and show compassion towards the lady.

Written by Susan Wittig Albert, the entire series (series of eight books) describes the character of Beatrix Potter as a fun loving, friendly, brave and passionate young girl who is ready to face new aspects of her life. She bestows a great love towards animals and politeness towards the fellow companions that she meets along her way. The genre of the series being a mystery, either she or her animal friends set out to solve one. Set amidst a delicate and picturesque background, people of all age groups will enjoy Beatrix Potter’s amazing adventures.

After her life in Sawrey, she married William Heelis in 1913 and continued to pursue her interest in writing, illustrating and in her love for landscape. The land which she preserved is under the Lake District National Park.

Beatrix Potter Awards

Beatrix Potter was a renowned author herself but did not win any recognized awards. However, many of her drawings and writings are republished and presented in various museums and galleries. There are many adaptations of her work, art, and literature by various publishers for which they have received a number of awards.

Beatrix Potter Books into TV/ Movies

‘The Tales of Beatrix Potter’ has many visual adaptations too such as a ballet film released in 1971, a TV series, a biological film, a drama and a central character in many novels such as the one described above. She was given a tribute by highlighting her work in several recognized books. Her farming life and countryside experience are also discussed in the writings of renowned author Susan Denyer under the publications of the National Trust. There are several chapters in Linda Bear highlighting her work in mycology, mostly amongst Beatrix Potter: A Life in Nature, 2007 and Beatrix Potter: The Extraordinary Life of a Victorian Genius in the year 2008 in the UK.

Her popular story, The World of Peter Rabbit and Friends was fictionalized into a TV series. A prominent part of Beatrix Potter’s life was adapted into a biographical film which released in the year 2006.

Best Beatrix Potter Books

The Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter: The second book of the series ‘The Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter’ features a mysterious adventure which Beatrix and her friends chase to find out about the death of Ben Hornby, the shepherd whom everybody adores. As he has already befriended the villagers of Sawrey by now, she takes help of all creatures to find out about the death mystery. She takes hints from Ben’s sheep and follows clues to find out more. Being brave and clever, she does not back off until she has solved the mystery.

The other books of the series feature Beatrix Potter solving various other incidents and mysteries such as fighting rats in her attic, wealthy outsiders who allegedly build villas on shorelines, a baby left on her doorstep with a mysterious ring and other mysterious murders. She takes help of her friends, animals, companions associated with each incident and even gypsies in her area. Beatrix Potter is passionate and curious in all aspects of her journey and does not give up in the hardest of the circumstances that she faces. The exciting and pondering journey of Beatrix Potter is simply an enlightening read.

Other Book Series You May Like

Readers might also like ‘Mrs. Jeffries and the Mistletoe Mix-Up’ which is yet another mystery story set around an art collector, Daniel McCourt who is dead. The expert housekeeper, Mrs. Jeffries helps the inspector to solve the case.

What Is The Next Book in The Cottage Tales Of Beatrix Potter Series ?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Cottage Tales Of Beatrix Potter Series . The newest book is The Tale of Castle Cottage and was released on September, 6th 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *