The Loner Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Loner is a series of Western novels written by J.A. Johnstone. The books follow the exploits of a businessman that must take drastic measures to protect his family.

Get notified when J A Johnstone releases a new book at

Order of The Loner Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Loner ( By: J A Johnstone) 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Devil's Badland ( By: J A Johnstone) 2009 Description / Buy
3 Dead Man's Gold ( By: J A Johnstone) 2010 Description / Buy
4 The Big Gundown ( By: J A Johnstone) 2010 Description / Buy
5 Rattlesnake Valley ( By: J A Johnstone) 2010 Description / Buy
6 Seven Days To Die ( By: J A Johnstone) 2010 Description / Buy
7 The Bounty Killers ( By: J A Johnstone) 2011 Description / Buy
8 Trail of Blood ( By: J A Johnstone) 2011 Description / Buy
9 Killer Poker ( By: J A Johnstone) 2011 Description / Buy
10 The Blood of Renegades ( By: J A Johnstone) 2011 Description / Buy
11 Crossfire ( By: J A Johnstone) 2011 Description / Buy
12 Inferno ( By: J A Johnstone) 2012 Description / Buy
13 Brutal Vengeance ( By: J A Johnstone) 2012 Description / Buy
14 Hard Luck Money ( By: J A Johnstone) 2012 Description / Buy
15 Bullets Don't Die ( By: J A Johnstone) 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

It is worth mentioning that J.A. Johnstone is the nephew of William W. Johnstone. William was an immensely popular author that wrote horror and westerns. Best known for series like Mountain Man, and The Last Dog Team, William died in 2004.

J.A started out as William’s assistant. He spent many a year helping his uncle type and research, and when William finally died, it was only logical that his nephew would be chosen to continue his legacy.

J.A. Johnstone spent his first few years as an independent author completing and continuing his uncle’s independent novels and series. However, he eventually branched out and began to produce his own original novels, with the Loner being one such series.

The Loner, the first book in the series, was published in 2009. The book introduced readers to Conrad Browning, a man with a secret. To the outside world, Conrad couldn’t be more fortunate.

He has his own successful business from which he has garnered great wealth. Additionally, Conrad has a beautiful and loving wife who makes life that much sweeter. And the fact that Conrad’s father is Frank Morgan, a legendary gunfighter, matters little.

In fact, that is one aspect of his history that Conrad has chosen to hide, preferring to use his step-father’s name. Conrad never imagined taking up his father’s ways. But then mysterious men came into his life and took his wife.

Conrad initially thought he was dealing with an ordinary kidnapping. The men in question asked for a large sum and Conrad proceeded to gather and deliver the money to the appointed location.

Conrad had every reason to believe that his wife would be brought back to him and they would forget the whole incident in the happy years that followed. But that isn’t what happened.

Rather, the woman Conrad loved died and he himself barely got away in one piece. The men in question never cared for Conrad’s money. They were sent specifically to ruin his life.

Conrad could have gone home, accepted the comfort of his friends and family and watched as the law fought to bring his enemies to justice. But he couldn’t do that, not after seeing his wife die before his very eyes.

Conrad took a path his attackers would never have imagined. He faked his own death, took up the persona of Kid Morgan and begun to hunt his wife’s killers down. Conrad the businessman was no threat to a gang of kidnappers and murderers.

But Kid Morgan was his father’s son, a man that had taken the time to nurture the skills that made Frank Morgan such a legend and who had now turned those skills on the people that caused him so much heartache.

The Loner series initially focuses on Conrad’s attempts at getting bloody vengeance on the people who killed his wife. However, even after he attains the satisfaction of seeing his enemies die, Conrad refuses to return to his old life.

Rather, he begins to build his own legend as a mysterious loner who traverses the Old West, dealing out violent justice to the bad guys.

Best The Loner Books

The Loner series has been praised for its simplistic, enthusiastic, fast-paced approach to storytelling, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Devil’s Badland: Conrad Browning died, or at least that is what everyone believes. Conrad was just an ordinary businessman. His father was a legendary gunfighter but Conrad wanted nothing to do with that life.

He chose to do honest work and he succeeded as a result. But then thugs came into his life and killed his wife. Conrad faked his death, created the persona of Kid Morgan, took up his father’s gunfighting skills and used them to murder the thugs in question.

Now Conrad wants to put the whole fiasco behind him. But he cannot move on, not when he now knows that his wife’s killers were hired by a mysterious figure.

The Bounty Killers: The Loner was arrested years ago, a victim of mistaken identity. He escaped then. But now he is back in prison. The Loner’s hopeless situation takes an interesting turn when a beautiful bounty hunter and the sheriff’s daughter decide to break him out.

The Loner wastes no time in running to New Mexico. He thought he would be safe there. But the dangerous cutthroats on his trail have other plans.

Other Book Series You May Like

Fans also enjoy the “Flintlock” Series by William W. and J.A. Johnstone. Sam Flintlock’s mother was a prostitute. He was raised by a mountain man who gave him his name and his skills. Well-warmed and in his late thirties, Sam now earns his living by collecting bounties in the Old West.

Many readers also enjoy “The Last Mountain Man” Series by William W. Johnstone. Kirby Jensen is 16-years-old when he is left in the care of a legendary Mountain Man by his father. The Mountain Man teaches Kirby everything he needs to know: from hunting and killing to tracking and loving nature.

Over time, Kirby grows into the sort of man that kills bad men in the Old West.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *