The Lord of the Rings Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

“The Lord of the Rings” books, that are written by author J. R. R. Tolkien, are high fantasy; they are also a classic telling of good versus evil. It is about Sauron, who is the dark lord that made the One Ring, and about the Fellowship, which is made up of nine creatures that have the mission of taking the Ring back to where it was forged to destroy it, which is a place called Mount Doom.

Order of The Lord of the Rings Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Hobbit ( By: J.R.R. Tolkien) 1937 Description / Buy
2 The Fellowship of the Ring ( By: J.R.R. Tolkien) 1954 Description / Buy
3 The Two Towers ( By: J.R.R. Tolkien) 1954 Description / Buy
4 The Return of the King ( By: J.R.R. Tolkien) 1955 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

At first, the series started out as a story that would serve as a follow up to “The Hobbit”, Tolkien’s previous novel; it grew into a much bigger body of work. The series has been published both as a trilogy and a large single edition, with the entire saga in one volume. The novels each of two books in them and have many appendices of assorted background materials in the back of them. The series was written over about twelve years, from the year 1937 until the year 1949, and has since been translated into many foreign languages, besides English. Tolkien started the series when he was 45 years old, and the books would not all be published until he was 63 years old.


The series won International Fantasy Award in the year 1957. It was put in the Prometheus Hall of Fame Award in the year 2009.


An animated adaptation, released in 1978, was made by Ralph Bakshi. The series was made into a trilogy of Academy Award winning movies by filmmaker Peter Jackson, this is the most known adaptation of the series.


For those readers looking to get into the “Lord of the Rings” series written by author J. R. R. Tolkien, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “The Fellowship of the Ring”, “The Two Towers”, and “The Return of the King”.

The Fellowship of the Ring: This is the first novel in the “Lord of the Rings” series and was released in the year 1954. Rings of Power were forged by Elven smiths; Sauron made the One Ring, which has been filled with his own power and it allows him to rule over everyone else that lives in Middle-earth. The Ring was taken away from him, and was unable to find it, even though he looked for all throughout Middle-earth. Eons later, Bilbo Baggins ends up with it.

Bilbo gives it to his much younger cousin, named Frodo Baggins. This thrusts a large task onto him, as he is charged with the care of the Ring. Frodo has to odyssey across Middle Earth all the way to Doom. It is here he can destroy the One Ring, which will foil the Dark Lord in his master plans.

The Two Towers: This is the second novel in the “Lord of the Rings” series and was released in the year 1954. The Fellowship is scattered all over the place. Some were getting ready for war against Sauron (who is an ancient evil). Some were fighting off Saruman (an evil wizard).

Sam and Frodo are it to take the One Ring to Mordor (a dark place that Sauron has power in). Gollum is guiding them. He is full of lust for the ring and is prone to lying because he is a slave to the Ring.

The Return of the King: This is the third novel in the “Lord of the Rings” series and was released in the year 1955. The Fellowship get involved with different adventures as the quest to destroy the One Ring continues. Aragorn joins up with the Riders of Rohan against Isengard. He was part of the victory of Hornburg. He has been revealed as heir to the quite old Kings of the West.

Merry and Pip have been taken prisoner by the Orcs, and ran off, later finding the Ents in Fangorn Forest. Gandalf came back, which was a miracle, and defeated Saruman.

All the while, Smeagol accompanies Samwise and Frodo to their final destination of the Cracks of Doom. They fight off a giant spider, and Frodo ends up being taken by Orcs.


The “Alice in Wonderland” series by Lewis Carroll is another classic. This kids series, that appeals to both adults and children alike, is about a child who falls in a rabbit hole and goes to Wonderland. The series is set in the Victorian era.

Fans also enjoy the “Space Trilogy” series by C. S. Lewis. Elwin Ransom, who is a philologist, figures in all of the books in this series that is set on Mars, Earth, and Venus by the author of the Narnia books.

What Is The Next Book in The Lord Of The Rings Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Lord Of The Rings Series. The newest book is The Return of the King and was released on October, 20th 1955.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *