The Whispers Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Whispers is a series of paranormal thriller novellas written by Lisa Unger. The books follow the exploits of a woman who develops psychic abilities.

Get notified when Lisa Unger releases a new book at

Order of The Whispers Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Whispers ( By: Lisa Unger) 2014 Description / Buy
2 The Burning Girl ( By: Lisa Unger) 2014 Description / Buy
3 The Three Sisters ( By: Lisa Unger) 2015 Description / Buy
4 The Whispering Hollows ( By: Lisa Unger) 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Whispers series is both a prequel and a sequel of sorts to some of Lisa Unger’s novels. The heroine, Eloise Montgomery, was first introduced to readers in Fragile’, a 2010 novel that explored the lives of a detective and his psychologically intuitive wife who solved the case of their son’s missing girlfriend.

In that particular novel, Eloise was already a functioning clairvoyant living in the quaint little town of the Hollows. The Whispers, the first novel in the Whispers series, allows readers to glimpse the heroine’s origins.

Once upon a time, Eloise Montgomery was a happy woman. She was married to Alfie, her high school sweetheart and they had two daughters. Life was simple and satisfactory.

But then a horrific accident changed everything. Eloise woke up from her coma to learn that her husband and oldest daughter were dead and buried. As she fought to overcome the rigors of her grief, Eloise also awakened her psychic abilities.

She could see things that went largely unnoticed by others, hear voices that warned her of things that had happened. For a time, Eloise tried to bury them, hellbent on giving her remaining daughter, Amanda, all the care and support she needed to thrive through the trying times.

But the voices refused to yield. And, eventually, Eloise realized that her newfound powers were a gift that she could use to help others. So she proceeded to do just that.

The Whispers series follows Eloise’s attempts at coming to terms with her new role in life. This is as she tries to find the perfect balance between pursuing a normal life and tapping into the supernatural to help the helpless.

The trilogy covers a period of three decades, leaping in and out of the events of the Jones Cooper series. The Whispers novellas are not essential reading for anyone looking to consume Lisa Unger’s other works.

None of the information they divulge is necessary to understand novels like Fragile. However, the novellas provide a foundation for the supernatural that is bound to improve the enjoyment of readers who eventually proceed to read Lisa Unger works like Crazy Love You.

While Eloise is definitely the star of the show, some attention is given to her daughter Amanda and her granddaughter Finley who also develops psychic abilities. Eloise’s relationship with Amanda is somewhat contentious.

Amanda would rather steer clear of her mother’s supernatural shenanigans. However, she knows that she is completely out of her depth when it comes to her own daughter’s psychic abilities.

Each installment in the Whispers series has a case at its core that Eloise can only solve by utilizing her psychic abilities.

Best The Whispers Books

This series is typically commended for its strong characters, fast pace and taut writing, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Whispers: Eloise Montgomery woke up one random day unaware that tragedy would soon assault her. Then an accident put her in a coma and she woke up to find that her husband and oldest daughter were dead.

Additionally, Eloise found that she had been gifted with psychic abilities. Now Eloise must come to terms with her visions and the new purpose they have given her. She must determine whether she is ready to confront the evil that stalks her world or if she would rather hide away, nursing her wounds.

This is as her surviving daughter comes to terms with her own grief.

The Burning Girl: Eloise Montgomery thought that her wounds would never heal when her husband and oldest daughter died. But she came to terms with her loss and her new found powers. Now, ten years later, she has settled into her role as a psychic with a thriving business and a partner.

Trouble begins to brew when her granddaughter manifests psychic abilities as well, this as the clairvoyant attracts desperate visitors who do not want to be helped.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another good read is the “Special Agent Tess Winnett” Series by Leslie Wolfe.
Tess can put puzzles together better than most people and that makes her an amazing FBI agent. Unfortunately, her untreated PTSD has also made her volatile. Tess must lead her team in their efforts to solve murders and mysteries even while keeping her demons in check.

The “Mac Ambrose” Series by H.N. Wake is another popular read. Mac Ambrose is a CIA veteran who uses her skills to steer the political machinations of the United States in the right direction one case at a time.

What Is The Next Book in The Whispers Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Whispers Series. The newest book is The Whispering Hollows and was released on January, 4th 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *