Witch and Wizard Books

Witch and Wizard is a book series written by celebrated novelist James Patterson. The first book in the series was released in 2009, and is set in a dystopian future with elements of fantasy and magic. The novel tells the tale of two siblings who one day discover that they possess magical ability, and must avoid the clutches of a cruel, totalitarian government body that seeks to imprison them.

Order of Witch & Wizard Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Witch & Wizard 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Gift 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Fire 2011 Description / Buy
4 The Kiss 2013 Description / Buy
5 The Lost 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Witch & Wizard Graphic Novels Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Battle for Shadowland 2010 Description / Buy
2 Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 1 2011 Description / Buy
3 Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 2 2012 Description / Buy
4 Witch & Wizard: The Manga, Vol. 3 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The reader is introduced to two siblings called Whit and Wisty, who find themselves accused of possessing magic by a cruel and arrogant kid from their school named Byron Swain. Before getting arrested, the two are able to meet their parents, who present them with two items that seem to be an ordinary drumstick and a worthless book. They also speak briefly with a stranger who claims to be The One Who is The One, who informs them that he is a friend of their parents and the leader of a new political order known as the New Order.

Whit and Wisty are taken to a prison that contains only children, where they undergo interrogation, and are then sentenced to be executed. But before the sentence can be carried out, Whit’s girlfriend Celia appears before them and helps them escape. From there the story progresses rapidly, with the brother sister duo finding allies and discovering the truth about their past as well as magical ability. The novel ends on a cliffhanger with the words “To be continued…”

Afterwards, it is revealed that the two siblings have become leaders of the resistance comprising mainly of teens, and are continuing their mission of freeing as many prisoners held unfairly as possible. At the same time, the resistance continues to recruit new members through various means. The One proves to be a formidable foe, and carves a path of destruction through the land while he searches for the two youngsters, intent on somehow forcing the two to give up their magical ability. In the process, Whit and Wisty’s parents are seemingly killed, and the two become separated.

With the rest of the novels in the series, the two young heroes are reunited and learn the secrets to harnessing their power, and then use their newfound ability and the support of the downtrodden masses to rise up against the dictatorship that has kept their land hostage. New threats arise that need to be dealt with, and new alliances are formed and broken as the two attempt to come to terms with their new role as saviors.

The series deals with many themes of childhood and coming of age, against the backdrop of a cruel and authoritarian form of government that is intent on using the citizens of the land for it’s own personal gain. Patterson’s style of writing is sharp and witty, with a shrewd understanding of the characters and their motives. The series focuses on plenty of gritty action while also leaving room for character development and the exploration of interpersonal relationships.

Best Witch and Wizard Books

The fourth novel in the series, Witch and Wizard: The Kiss, is widely considered the best book in the series. The story deals with the aftermath of Whit and Wisty overthrowing the ruthless dictator who had exerted control over their land for so long. Cracks begin to appear in the sibling’s relationship after Wisty finds herself experiencing an attraction towards a mysterious young wizard named Heath.

Events are further complicated by the appearance of a new threat called the Wizard King, who had been living in the mountains so far, and is threatening war on the brother and sister’s land. It is now up to Wisty to decide whether she wants to reconcile with her brother, or place her trust in a man she does not know very well, but who makes her feel things she has never experienced before.

Other Book Series You May Like

Fans of the Witch and Wizard series would also enjoy reading The “Ice Princess”, by Theodore Svea. It is set in a magical fantasy land that is similar to the world of Witch and Wizard, and follows the events surrounding the theft of a crown by a scheming and dangerous beauty. A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K Le Guin is also a solid fantasy novel choice. It tells the tale of a school of magic for young wizards, with a young student named Ged as the novel’s protagonist.

What Is The Next Book in The Witch & Wizard Series ?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Witch & Wizard Series . The newest book is The Lost and was released on March, 6th 2014.