Alan Bradley Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Alan Bradley is a Canadian mystery writer who has achieved mainstream success particularly with the Flavia de Luce series of novels. While he is a radio and training engineer by profession, he has been interested in writing throughout his life and has written screenplays and short stories for radio and literary magazines.

However, it was until the publication of the critically acclaimed “Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie” the first novel of the Flavia de Luce series that in 2009 that his writing career took off on an exponential growth trajectory. The Flavia de Luce series is one of the most popular of mystery crime novels and the entire series has been turned into a TV show in the UK.

Get notified when Alan Bradley releases a new book at

Order of Flavia de Luce Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag 2010 Description / Buy
3 A Red Herring Without Mustard 2011 Description / Buy
4 I Am Half-Sick of Shadows 2011 Description / Buy
5 Speaking from Among the Bones 2012 Description / Buy
6 The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches 2014 Description / Buy
7 The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy
8 As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust 2015 Description / Buy
9 Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd 2016 Description / Buy
10 The Grave's a Fine and Private Place 2017 Description / Buy
11 The Golden Tresses of the Dead 2019 Description / Buy
12 What Time the Sexton's Spade Doth Rust 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Alan Bradley Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ms Holmes of Baker Street: The Truth About Sherlock 1989 Description / Buy
2 The Shoebox Bible 2006 Description / Buy

Alan Bradley Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Study in Sherlock 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF


Alan Bradley has been the recipient of several prestigious awards since he started writing in 2009. His first novel – Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie won the CWA Debut Dagger Award, the Macavity Awards for Best First Mystery Novel, the Anthony Award for Best First Novel, and the Dilys Award. He also won the inaugural Saskatchewan Writers Guild Award for Children’s Literature. He has been nominated for the Goodreads Choice Awards Best Mystery & Thriller and the Goodreads Choice Awards Best Fiction.


In 2012, the British production house Neal Street Productions purchased the rights to make Alex Bradley’s Flavia de Luce series into a TV show. Sam Mendes the owner of the production house that had the most highly rated TV shows in the UK – Call the Midwife, believed that Alan Bradley’s books could achieve similar success.


Three of the most popular of Alan Bradley’s books in the Flavia de Luce series are:

Speaking from the Bones: Alan Bradley’s fifth novel, this crime mystery is a fast-paced thriller that will have the reader turning the pages with the anticipation of tension. Flavia de Luce is an ardent chemist and amateur 11-year-old detective looking for clues to a murder between the pages of her unbearable sisters’ diaries and in laboratory potions. While digging up bodies is not her forte, on the 500th anniversary of St Tancred’s death, she is among the first to peek into the crypt holding the saint’s body. In a bizarre twist, the body of Mr. Collicut the church organist is found in the crypt. She sets out to investigate who could have had a motive in killing the organist and the reason his body was hidden in such a sacred spot. The intrigues surrounding her investigation and her irrepressible vigor in unearthing truths that are too well hidden, make for a spellbinding read.

The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches: The 6th novel in the Flavia de Luce series is a fan favorite. It perfectly showcases the never say die attitude and grit of Luce in finding the answers to a murder mystery. On an early Spring morning, as Flavia de Luce the 11-year-old aspiring detective is awaiting the return of her mother at the railway station, when a tall stranger approaches and whispers a cryptic message to the would-be detective. Minutes later the man is pushed onto the tracks and killed by an oncoming train. Luce sets out to investigate the meaning of the cryptic message while trying to decipher a trail of clues about her family secrets that she finds from a film reel in the attic. Luce pulls out all the stops to find the killer even if it involves secrets that involve the most powerful man in the land –Winston Churchill.

Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d: Bradley’s 8th book of the series, the book packs just as much suspense and tension as previous Flavia de Luce books. After she is expelled from Canada’s Miss Bodycote’s Female Academy, Luce is happy to be sailing home to England. She arrives to the news that her father was taken ill, and she cannot visit him while he recuperates. Unable to stand her insufferable sisters she heads out on an errand to deliver a message from the Vicar’s wife to the hermit wood carver. She arrives to find the front door ajar and the wood carver dead in the bedroom. Her curiosity aroused, she sets about a new investigation into who killed the woodcarver. What follows is sleuth at its best as Flavia de Luce executes bold, brilliant detective work until she finds the killer.

When Does The Next Alan Bradley book come out?

The next book by Alan Bradley is What Time the Sexton\'s Spade Doth Rust and will be released on September, 3rd 2024. It is the newest book in the Flavia de Luce Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *