Flavia de Luce Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Flavia Sabina de Luce is the main protagonist of “Flavia de Luce” series written by Alan Bradley. Flavia is an 11 year old motherless girl living in the English countryside during the 1950’s.

Get notified when Alan Bradley releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Flavia de Luce Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (By: Alan Bradley) 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag ( By: Alan Bradley) 2010 Description / Buy
3 A Red Herring Without Mustard ( By: Alan Bradley) 2011 Description / Buy
4 I Am Half-Sick of Shadows ( By: Alan Bradley) 2011 Description / Buy
5 Speaking from Among the Bones ( By: Alan Bradley) 2012 Description / Buy
6 The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches ( By: Alan Bradley) 2014 Description / Buy
7 The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse (Short Story) ( By: Alan Bradley) 2014 Description / Buy
8 As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust ( By: Alan Bradley) 2015 Description / Buy
9 Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd ( By: Alan Bradley) 2016 Description / Buy
10 The Grave's a Fine and Private Place ( By: Alan Bradley) 2017 Description / Buy
11 The Golden Tresses of the Dead ( By: Alan Bradley) 2019 Description / Buy
12 What Time the Sexton's Spade Doth Rust (By: Alan Bradley) 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The first book of the series i.e. “The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie” starts with Flavia and her two older sisters at their country home. As the plot deepens, Colonel de Luce i.e., Flavia’s father is arrested when a man is found dead in the family cucumber patch. Flavia ends up investigating the case to reveal the mystery of the dead man and ends up on a trail filled with old secrets.

Using her exceptional brain and chemistry skills, she proves to be an extremely talented detective. With 8 books already in the series, people have seen Flavia fend off a variety of dire situations. Her investigations include finding murdered people under St Tancred’s crypt, tapes on old family secrets and uncovering secrets which may even include Winston Churchill.

A child detective with outstanding brilliance is loved by people of all age. The Flavia de Luce series is a page turner collection as Flavia solves mysteries around the city on her bicycle; the series has won many awards since the first book came in 2009.

Flavia de Luce Awards

The Flavia de Luce series has won a number of awards. The first book of the series has won numerous awards which include the Debut Dagger Award of the (British) Crime Writer’s Association in 2007 followed by Agatha Award for Best First Novel in 2009, the Dilys Award in 2010 along with the Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel in 2010. The series has also won the Spotted Owl award, the Macavity Awards for Best First Mystery Novel and the Barry Award for Best First Novel. The 6th book in the series was in the top New York Bestsellers of the Year. The series also got nominated for the Goodreads Choice Awards in Best Mystery & Thriller and Best Fiction categories.

Flavia de Luce into TV/Movies

The rights for making Flavia de Luce into a TV show were purchased by Neal Street Productions which is a Britain based production house owned by Sam Mendes. Sam is quite famous in the UK for producing high rated TV shows which include Call the Midwife. People are expecting him to do similar wonders with the amazing story of Flavia de Luce series.

Best Flavia de Luce Books

With so many awards and favorable reviews, the best book in the series is definitely “The Sweetness at the bottom of the Pie”. This book shows the readers about how Flavia became a detective and the circumstances which helped her along her journey to learn things and solve mysteries with logic and science.

The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches: Another masterpiece by Alan Bradley in the Flavia de Luce series. The 6th book of the series is favored by fans of all ages. It starts off with the 11 year old detective awaiting her mother’s return on a railway station on an early spring morning. A tall stranger changes everything as he whispers a coded message to Flavia before being pushed in front of a train minutes later. The determination of Flavia to find different answers leads her on a tumultuous path as she uncovers deep secrets.

Thrice the Branded Cat Hath Mew’d: The 8th book in the series, “Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d” is also a great example of writing by Alan Bradley. Continuing on the thrilling storyline, this book has a great amount of suspense for the readers. After being expelled by Canada’s Miss Bodycote’s Female Academy, Flavia is happy to sail back to England where she is suddenly posed with an opportunity to investigate a murder.

Other Book Series You May Like

Flavia de Luce fans generally like “Bryant & May” book series which are 11 books based on good suspense and dark humor. Bryant and May are two detectives who have worked as partners for more than fifty years. As the past catches up to them, they are forced to quickly catch a criminal who will take one of their lives if not caught on time.

“Miss Seeton” series is another collection of suspenseful and entertaining books which take the reader to another world. With light humor and good storyline, this book unfolds drama with well-defined characters in a great setting. People who liked Flavia de Luce series are sure to like this one too.

What Is The Next Book in The Flavia De Luce Series?

The next book in the The Flavia De Luce Series by Alan Bradley is What Time the Sexton\'s Spade Doth Rust and will be released on September, 3rd 2024.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *