Alex Berenson Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Alex Berenson is a highly esteemed American author with a lasting passion for thriller novels and some active interest in journalism. So far, Berenson has authored ten spy novels, all built on the exploits of his daring protagonist, John Wells. In these novels, Wells acts as a CIA agent who is insightful, sharp-witted and courageous as he discharges his dangerous duties in some of the world’s riskiest places.

Berenson’s first novel, The Faithful Spy, which was released in April 2006 was widely acclaimed both locally and internationally for its strong sense of realism with which it explored the scepter of terrorism including biological terror. His other novels were also themed on the subject of terror and the unique challenges that the US faces as the threat continues to evolve.

Get notified when Alex Berenson releases a new book at

Order of John Wells Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Faithful Spy 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Ghost War 2008 Description / Buy
3 The Silent Man 2009 Description / Buy
4 The Midnight House 2010 Description / Buy
5 The Secret Soldier 2011 Description / Buy
6 The Shadow Patrol 2012 Description / Buy
7 The Night Ranger 2013 Description / Buy
8 The Counterfeit Agent 2014 Description / Buy
9 Twelve Days 2015 Description / Buy
10 The Wolves 2016 Description / Buy
11 The Prisoner 2017 Description / Buy
12 The Deceivers 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Alex Berenson Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Power Couple 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Alex Berenson Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Number 2003 Description / Buy
2 Lost in Kandahar 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Prince of Beers 2012 Description / Buy
4 Alex Berenson Quotes 2016 Description / Buy
5 Tell Your Children 2019 Description / Buy
6 Pandemia 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Unreported Truth Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Unreported Truths about COVID-19 and Lockdowns: Part 1 (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
2 Unreported Truths about COVID-19 and Lockdowns: Part 2 (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
3 Unreported Truths About Covid-19 and Lockdowns: Part 3: Masks (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
4 Unreported Truths About Covid-19 and Lockdowns: Part 4: Vaccines (Short Story) 2021 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Born in New York City, Alex Berenson would grow up in Englewood, New Jersey before moving for college. He did very well in high school and was accepted into Yale University where he graduated with two bachelor’s degrees, one in history and one in economics. From there, he would work as a journalist joining the Denver Post in 1994 as a business reporter. He would publish over 500 articles there before leaving to join a financial news website called After a few years of working there, he would make it to the big show as he was hired to write as a business investigative reporter for the New York Times.

Berenson wrote about many major world happenings during his time with the New York Times. From 2003 to 2004, he covered the United States occupation of Iraq for the New York Times. He wrote about more national issues in later years. He covered the pharmaceutical and health care industries with a focus on the dangerous prescription drugs that have turned many people into addicts and changed so many lives. Perhaps most famously, Berenson wrote about the Bernie Madoff Ponzi scheme scandal that bilked investors out of $50 billion dollars.

Berenson would release his first novel in 2006 while continuing to write for the New York Times. He would wrote four novels while still working there before leaving the Times to focus on novel writing full-time. Alex is married to his wife Jacqueline, a forensic psychiatrist and researcher at Columbia University. The couple have two children and live in the Hudson Valley.


Berenson’s first novel, The Faithful Spy, won him an Edgar Award in 2006 within the category of the best first novel by an American author. The occasion marked his inaugural entry into the ranks of some of the renowned fiction writers in America. Later in February 2008, the novel was ranked first on paperback bestseller list of New York Times.

His other novels have not yet attracted awards, but were ranked impressively on the list of bestsellers. In 2010, Berenson released his fourth thriller, The Midnight House, which featured at position nine on The New York Times bestseller list. This feat of achievement was quickly followed by the fifth novel, which was released in 2011 and ranked sixth on the bestseller’s list.


Three thrillers that are truly outstanding from Berenson’s collection include:

The Faithful Spy: Apart from being his debut novel, The Faithful Spy is easily one of Berenson’s most gripping thriller given its shocking revelation of the dynamic threat of global terrorism with particular reference to the American situation. This book startles the reader with the complexity of terrorism and its global reach versus the ingenious ways used by the CIA agent, John Wells, to defeat the foes. The course of the story entails graphic details of mischief and danger, which raise the tempo of suspense.

Berenson draws from a vast scope of experiences including the September 11 terror attacks and the Iraq war to illustrate the monstrous nature of terrorism and the unique odds that the United States and the entire world must overcome to make the world a safer place. Remarkably, this thriller combines facts and fiction in a way that illuminates some dark facts about global security.

The Ghost War: This is Berenson’s second novel and it carries on with the extraordinary heroism of the protagonist, John Wells – a daring CIA agent who exceeds the bounds of duty for the sake of his country’s security. In this novel, Wells is caught up in an intricate web of geopolitical threats that include the Chinese and Koreans and the complicit dealings of a compromised CIA double agent who puts America’s security in the red zone.

In a profound sense, this book fosters the impression that America has more to fear than a random band of terrorists operating in far-flung regions like Afghanistan. The real threat seems to reside in the bosom of the country’s own intelligence systems, which are vulnerable to internal threats posed by severely compromised and self-serving officers. This novel captures the enormity of global insecurity and America’s invulnerability with unsurpassed profundity.

The Midnight House: The Midnight House centers on the superhuman insight and the indomitable will of CIA agent, John Wells, as he attempts to unravel the truth behind the mysterious killings of a former CIA agent and an army veteran. The author adroitly weaves the plot of the book through a myriad of details that expose the reader to some shadowy dealings within intelligence interrogation facility in Poland known as, The Midnight House.

Initially, it does appear as though the killings were orchestrated by terrorist hit men to avenge the death and torture of their colleagues in The Midnight House. The murdered agent and army veteran were part of the interrogation team and had been duly decorated for their service. However, Wells soon discovers that there is much more to the killing that a mere game of vengeance. This novel is one of Berenson’s most entertaining and startling with regard to its portrayal of the shadowy intrigues at the heart of US intelligence.

When Does The Next Alex Berenson book come out?

Alex Berenson doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Pandemia and was released on November, 30th 2021. It is the newest book in the Alex Berenson Non-Fiction Books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *