John Wells Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

John Wells is a CIA agent who was born in Montana, west of the United States. His father was a surgeon but instead of following his footsteps, he decided to join the military, in hopes to get an adventurous life. Showing and incredible intelligence and ability, he was soon recruited by the Agency.The first book of the series begins presenting a CIA undercover agent who has been working many years with the people responsible for the 9/11 attacks. He was assigned to do the ultimate sacrifice for his country by joining the one organization that hated the U.S. the most: Al Qaeda.

Get notified when Alex Berenson releases a new book at

Order of John Wells Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Faithful Spy ( By: Alex Berenson) 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Ghost War ( By: Alex Berenson) 2008 Description / Buy
3 The Silent Man ( By: Alex Berenson) 2009 Description / Buy
4 The Midnight House ( By: Alex Berenson) 2010 Description / Buy
5 The Secret Soldier ( By: Alex Berenson) 2011 Description / Buy
6 The Shadow Patrol ( By: Alex Berenson) 2012 Description / Buy
7 The Night Ranger ( By: Alex Berenson) 2013 Description / Buy
8 The Counterfeit Agent ( By: Alex Berenson) 2014 Description / Buy
9 Twelve Days ( By: Alex Berenson) 2015 Description / Buy
10 The Wolves ( By: Alex Berenson) 2016 Description / Buy
11 The Prisoner ( By: Alex Berenson) 2017 Description / Buy
12 The Deceivers ( By: Alex Berenson) 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Alex Berenson was a successful business reporter for a number of years. He published over 500 articles in his time at the Denver Post before leaving to join Jim Cramer’s He’d go from there to one of the top paper’s in the country as he moved to the New York Times.

Berenson expanded his horizons after going to work for the New York Times. He covered the health care industry and dangerous prescription drugs, the occupation of Iraq in 2003 and 2004 for The New York Times and the infamous Bernie Madoff ponzi scheme.

He published the first novel in the John Wells series in 2006 and it was a big hit, winning him an Edgwr Award for best first novel by an American Author. His next few novels hit the New York Times Bestseller list and by 2010 he was able to retire from journalism to focus on being a full-time novelist.

After being incommunicado for two years, John finally finds a way to get a word to the CIA, letting them know that he knew nothing about the attacks; however, they fail to believe him. He is brought back to the United States, where he is questioned about his life as an Al Qaeda member and even after being subjected to a polygraph test, which he passes.

This book series by Alex Berenson explores how leaders, sending an agent on an undercover mission for months and even years, start to question this man’s loyalty to his country. Has he been indoctrinated? Is he still an asset to the agency or has he become one with the enemy? When in doubt, how do you deal with such an agent?

John Wells AWARDS

The first book of this thriller series “The Faithful Spy” won the 2007 Edgar Allan Poe Award (commonly known as the Edgars) for Best First Novel by an American Author. These awards are presented every year by the Mystery Writers of America, in New York City.


Here are three of the best books of the series featuring John Wells, they all have four stars or higher and are an exhilarating, nerve-wrecking read. If you are a thriller buff who loves suspense, you will enjoy them.

The Ghost War: Published on February 2008, this is the second book of the John Wells series. The unsung hero is struggling to adapt to a “normal” life, so when he is assigned a new mission, he cannot wait to get back into action. This time, the undercover agent trying to stop China and the U.S. from going to war. Stirred by a CIA mole, the world is about to suffer the consequences. Will John save the day again?

The Secret Soldier: Published on February 2011, this is the sixth book of the John Wells series. It presents a new chapter in the life of the main character, no longer a CIA agent, Wells is trying to find a more “normal” way of life when he is recruited by the King of Saudi Arabia to try to unveil his brother’s plans to assassinate him. The thriller portrays a natural born hero who chases terrorists from one country to another without the support of his former agency. Kidnappings, assassinations and threats against the U.S. are the order of the day and all the suspense and intrigue finds its climax in an unpredictable ending.

The Shadow Patrol: This book was published on February 2012, and the seventh book of the series. The CIA’s Kabul Station was ambushed in 2009 by a false informer who promised to bring them closer to finding Osama Bin Laden, instead, he turned out to be a suicide bomber who blew himself and many senior officers up. Two years later, the agency fears the unthinkable, that the Taliban may have infiltrated the station. John Wells is brought in to investigate the death of agents and officers, he finds a hostile and untrusting atmosphere, but he also finds clues that indicate drug-trafficking operations involving the CIA, the military and the Taliban. Someone is killing Americans, and John will not stop until he uncovers the truth.

The Prisoner: A mole within the CIA sends John Wells back in to action. An intelligence insider can’t trust anyone within the CIA and instead goes to John Wells with a plan to send Wells to a Bulgarian prison as a terrorist. What could go wrong?

This books recalls a lot of the tension and suspense of the first novel while moving him fully into the future. This is one of Berenson’s best novels to date as he sees Wells going undercover to stop the latest plot threatening the world.


If you like suspense, thriller and mystery novels, and are looking for some new literature to expand your horizons, you might also like the “Mitch Rapp” book series, written by Vince Flynn; the “Jack Reacher” novels written by Lee Child and the “Kay Scarpetta” novels written by Patricia Cornwell. These book series portray incredible characters that will take you on a journey of intrigue, mystery and suspense.

What Is The Next Book in The John Wells Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The John Wells Series. The newest book is The Deceivers and was released on February, 6th 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *