Ann B Ross Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Ann B. Ross is an American writer from Hendersonville, North Carolina. She went to University at the University of North Carolina at Asheville, where she got her Bachelor’s Master and PhD degrees before embarking on a teaching career at the same institution. Ann writes novels in the cozy mystery genre and has been publishing since the early 1980s.

Get notified when Ann B. Ross releases a new book at

Order of Miss Julia Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind 1990 Description / Buy
2 Miss Julia Takes Over 2001 Description / Buy
3 Miss Julia Throws a Wedding 2002 Description / Buy
4 Miss Julia Hits the Road 2003 Description / Buy
5 Miss Julia Meets Her Match 2004 Description / Buy
6 Miss Julia's School of Beauty 2005 Description / Buy
7 Miss Julia Stands Her Ground 2006 Description / Buy
8 Miss Julia Strikes Back 2007 Description / Buy
9 Miss Julia Paints the Town 2008 Description / Buy
10 Miss Julia Delivers the Goods 2009 Description / Buy
11 Miss Julia Renews Her Vows 2010 Description / Buy
12 Miss Julia Rocks the Cradle 2011 Description / Buy
13 Miss Julia to the Rescue 2012 Description / Buy
14 Miss Julia Stirs Up Trouble 2013 Description / Buy
15 Miss Julia's Marvelous Makeover 2014 Description / Buy
16 Miss Julia Lays Down the Law 2015 Description / Buy
17 Miss Julia Inherits a Mess 2016 Description / Buy
18 Miss Julia Weathers the Storm 2017 Description / Buy
19 Miss Julia Raises the Roof 2018 Description / Buy
20 Miss Julia Takes the Wheel 2019 Description / Buy
21 Miss Julia Knows a Thing or Two 2020 Description / Buy
22 Miss Julia Happily Ever After 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Miss Julia Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Miss Julia's Gift (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Ann B. Ross Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Murder Cure 1978 Description / Buy
2 The Murder Stroke 1981 Description / Buy
3 The Pilgrimage 1987 Description / Buy
4 Etta Mae's Worst Bad-Luck Day 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

While she has published for several decades, Ann B. Ross is best known for the Miss Julia series of novels. These are a series of Southern novels the first of which was “Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind”, published in 1999. The series is one of the most popular Southern mystery novels out there and has won many awards and been a top ranking novel on several bookseller lists. They have been so popular that they have been translated into Croatian, Japanese, and German editions.


Ann B. Ross has won several awards over the years for the Miss Julia series of novels. “Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind” made the top 10 of the Independent Booksellers most recommended novels of the year 1999, and the Discover Great New Writers list by Barnes and Noble. It also made the list for BookSense’s The Best Books of the First Five Years. “Miss Julia Takes Over” the second novel in the series was nominated for the Southeastern Booksellers Association 2001 Book of the Year Award.


Three of Ann B. Ross’s most popular novels in the Miss Julia series are:

Miss Julia Weathers the Storm: The 19th novel in the Miss Julia series is one of the most popular showing Julia’s strong will and quick wit in protecting her most treasured friends in a delightful and entertaining narrative. While Julia is a making preparations for the trip to the beach her husband has organized, LuAnne brings her the horrible news that her husband may have been cheating on her. Looking to comfort her friend Julia invites her to the beach party, where she can reflect on things and avoid making any rash decisions.

Settling into the beach house that will be their retreat for several days they have a lot of fun searching for seashells. Latisha, the housekeeper’s six-year-old discovers a treasure trove of valuables washed up on the shore following a strong offshore storm. Heading back to the house in Abbotsville they meet three strangers who looked like they were too into Latisha’s treasures. It turns out that the three strange men followed them back into town and now Julia must protect the little Miss Latisha, while trying to resolve LuAnne’s marriage problems.

Miss Julia Stands Her Ground: This enchanting novel finds the strong-willed Julia looking forward to years of peace and happiness with her beloved husband Sam. But that was before Brother Vernon Puckett comes into town with the news that her little son Little Lloyd was not the biological son of Wesley Lloyd Springer, her late philandering husband. While she would have loved such news a few years back, it could not be any worse for the present given the magical bond she has established with the boy ever since the death of his father.

With DNA testing the only conclusive proof of paternity, the only solution is to exhume the body of her long dead husband, a thought that makes her shudder. But Lilian her housekeeper had kept some of Wesley Lloyd’s souvenirs, and creepy as it would seem, Miss Julia accepts her offer to provide the souvenirs to be used prove the child’s paternity.

Miss Julia Renews Her Vows: The eleventh novel in the series opens to Julia’s marriage standing on shaky ground. Sam her husband wants them to attend counseling sessions but Julia is having none of it. For one she does not believe that her marriage could be in such a poor state and secondly, the psychologist Dr. Fred Fowler is a man that she never wants to ever see again nor introduce to Sam. But staying in bed is not an option given that Francie Pitts one of her best friends just got brutally attacked by an unknown assailant, and it is now up to Miss Julia to try to unravel the mystery.

Meanwhile, she still has to convince Sam that their marriage life is healthy enough to not need specialist intervention. In a novel filled with quirky charm, sass, and wit, the novel is a fascinating narrative that shows why Miss Julia is such a beloved character.

When Does The Next Ann B. Ross book come out?

Ann B. Ross doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Miss Julia Happily Ever After and was released on April, 6th 2021. It is the newest book in the Miss Julia Series.

2 thoughts on “Ann B Ross”

  1. A friend recently told me about this series of books. I love them! I am on book number 12. I get 3 at a time from the library.

  2. The Miss Julia series has been on a one book per year schedule for awhile now and all I can say to that is HALLELUJAH! Being able to plan a return trip to Abbotsville every year to visit Miss Julia and her colorful collection of friends is one of life’s simpler pleasures.

    Some books are better than others, some aren’t even that great (didn’t care for the Etta Mae book), but they always keep me coming back. I love Miss Julia and the way Ann writes her.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *