Ann Granger Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Ann Granger is a British author that writes cozy and historical mysteries. She was born in Portsmouth in 1939. A former student at the University of London where she studied Modern languages, Granger spent a year teaching English in France before working for the British government at consulates and embassies in places like Austria, Czechoslovakia, and Yugoslavia.

Get notified when Ann Granger releases a new book at

Order of Mitchell and Markby Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Say It with Poison 1991 Description / Buy
2 A Season for Murder 1991 Description / Buy
3 Cold in the Earth 1992 Description / Buy
4 Murder Among Us 1992 Description / Buy
5 Where Old Bones Lie 1993 Description / Buy
6 A Fine Place for Death 1994 Description / Buy
7 Flowers for His Funeral 1994 Description / Buy
8 Candle for a Corpse 1995 Description / Buy
9 A Touch of Mortality 1996 Description / Buy
10 A Word After Dying 1996 Description / Buy
11 Call the Dead Again 1998 Description / Buy
12 Beneath These Stones 1999 Description / Buy
13 Shades of Murder 2000 Description / Buy
14 A Restless Evil 2002 Description / Buy
15 That Way Murder Lies 2004 Description / Buy

Order of Fran Varady Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Asking for Trouble 1997 Description / Buy
2 Keeping Bad Company 1997 Description / Buy
3 Running Scared 1998 Description / Buy
4 Risking It All 2001 Description / Buy
5 Watching Out 2002 Description / Buy
6 Mixing with Murder 2005 Description / Buy
7 Rattling the Bones 2007 Description / Buy

Order of Lizzie Martin/Inspector Ben Ross Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Rare Interest in Corpses / The Companion 2006 Description / Buy
2 A Mortal Curiosity 2007 Description / Buy
3 A Better Quality of Murder 2010 Description / Buy
4 A Particular Eye for Villainy 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Testimony of the Hanged Man 2014 Description / Buy
6 The Dead Woman of Deptford 2016 Description / Buy
7 The Murderer's Apprentice 2019 Description / Buy
8 A Rare Interest In Corpses 2020 Description / Buy
9 The Truth-Seeker's Wife 2021 Description / Buy
10 The Old Rogue of Limehouse 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Campbell and Carter Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Mud, Muck and Dead Things 2009 Description / Buy
2 Rack, Ruin and Murder 2011 Description / Buy
3 Bricks and Mortality 2013 Description / Buy
4 Dead in the Water 2015 Description / Buy
5 Rooted in Evil 2017 Description / Buy
6 An Unfinished Murder 2018 Description / Buy
7 A Matter of Murder 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Ann Granger Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Poor Relation 1979 Description / Buy
2 Summer Heiress 1981 Description / Buy
3 The Garden Of Azure Dragon 1986 Description / Buy
4 The Unexpected American 1988 Description / Buy
5 A Scandalous Bargain 1989 Description / Buy
6 False Fortune 1989 Description / Buy

Ann Granger Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Malice Domestic 9 2000 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She met her husband during this period. He was also working in the foreign service. The couple lived in Germany and Zambia for a time. Eventually, the author took her children back to England.

When she was a child, Granger thought she would become a veterinary surgeon. A headmistress extinguished her dreams when she assured Granger that, more than likely, she would spend the rest of her life working at a small animals practice.

The notion did not appeal to the author. She liked budgies, gerbils, and other small creatures. But she did not want to dedicate her life to their care. This compelled her to pursue fiction and publishing as a career.

You can blame the author’s interest in animals on her obsession with horses. She couldn’t get enough of the creatures, which explains her fascination with the pony books that writers like Monica Edwards penned.

But that obsession did not last. Later on, she discovered Malcolm Saville, Peter the Whaler, Lorna Doone, Sherlock Holmes, and more. By her late teens, Granger was reading the works of Erle Stanley Gardner and Ngaio Marsh. Their books cemented the author’s interest in crime fiction.

People that read Ann Granger’s crime novels might be surprised to learn that she started by writing historical romance. She was still living in Germany when she wrote her first romance novel.

She remembers struggling through a long period of winter. Getting around with two small children was quite the challenge. On one occasion, her pram got stuck in the snow.

It took the help of strangers to get her free. Fortunately, she got her hands on a sled and it allowed her to travel to the local shops and back. Granger had a friend who gifted her with a collection of Georgette Heyer’s romance novels.

She read them all and took inspiration. She was surprised to learn, later on, that Georgette had also written crime novels. Granger’s writing career keeps thriving because the interest in crime fiction has endured.

The author attributes the success of the genre to the fact that it tackles greed, envy, hatred, violence, and other themes that have fascinated readers for centuries. Even though they explore dark and gritty concepts, crime novels emphasize the triumph of good over evil.

Readers flock to the crime fiction genre because they want to see the sort of justice they rarely encounter in the real world.

Best Ann Granger Books

The author published her historical romance novels using the ‘Ann Hulme’ pen name. Granger’s best novels including:

The Companion: Lizzie Martin came to London in 1864. Any expectations she had about the trials she would encounter as a lady’s companion went out the window when she saw the remains of a young woman.

Things got worse when she reached her new home. Apparently, Madeleine, her predecessor, had vanished. People had blamed her disappearance on her immoral behavior. But Inspector Benjamin Ross found shocking proof that showed otherwise.

Now, Lizzie is determined to find out what happened to Madeleine. She isn’t alone. Benjamin is obsessed with justice. He won’t stop until he solves Madeleine’s case. By combining their forces, they hope to find the killer before he turns the tables on them.

Mud, Muck, and Dead Things: Lucas Burton couldn’t stand the countryside. It had nothing but mud and muck to offer him. But he had a business deal to make. When he made the trip to a deserted farm, Lucas had no idea that he would discover a dead body.

When he drove away, he did not realize that Penny Gower had seen his car leaving the crime scene. Now, Lucas’ future is bleak. The only person that can help him is Jess Campbell. The inspector is investigating the case. But she doesn’t have any leads.

Ian Carter, the new superintendent is exerting undue pressure on her. She has to catch the killer before more people die.

When Does The Next Ann Granger book come out?

Ann Granger doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Old Rogue of Limehouse and was released on July, 6th 2023. It is the newest book in the Lizzie Martin/Inspector Ben Ross Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *