Ben Aaronovitch Books

Ben Aaronovitch is a British novelist best known among the readers and literary critics for his best-selling Rivers of London series of novels. His professional career started in 1988 when he got involved in Doctor Who for the BBC by writing two Doctor Who serials; The Battlefield in 1989 and The Remembrance of the Daleks in 1998. Subsequently he became a permanent author for the BSB’s SF series Jupiter Moon and wrote an episode for the BBC’s medical drama Casualty. Aaronovitch was born in 1964 in London and is the son of an economist and a prominent member of the British Communist Party Sam Aaronovitch. The writer currently lives in Wimbledon and is fully committed to his work on The Rivers of London.

Order of PC Peter Grant / Rivers of London Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rivers of London / Midnight Riot 2011 Description / Buy
2 Moon Over Soho 2011 Description / Buy
3 Whispers Under Ground 2012 Description / Buy
4 Broken Homes 2013 Description / Buy
5 Foxglove Summer 2014 Description / Buy
6 The Hanging Tree 2016 Description / Buy
7 The Furthest Station (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy
8 Lies Sleeping 2018 Description / Buy
9 The October Man 2019 Description / Buy
10 False Value 2019 Description / Buy
11 Tales from the Folly: Short Story Collection 2020 Description / Buy
12 What Abigail Did That Summer 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Rivers of London / Peter Grant Graphic Novel Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rivers of London: Volume 1 - Body Work 2013 Description / Buy
2 Rivers of London: Volume 2 - Night Witch 2014 Description / Buy
3 Rivers of London Volume 3: Black Mould (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy
4 Rivers of London Volume 4: Detective Stories (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy
5 Rivers of London Volume 5: Cry Fox (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Doctor Who: 7th Doctor Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Doctor Who and Warriors' Gate (Short Story) ( By: Stephen Gallagher, John Lydecker) 1982 Description / Buy
2 Doctor Who (Short Story) ( By: Stephen Gallagher) 1983 Description / Buy
3 Doctor Who: Terminus ( By: Stephen Gallagher, John Lydecker) 1983 Description / Buy
4 Remembrance of the Daleks 1990 Description / Buy

Order of Doctor Who: New Adventures Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Transit 1992 Description / Buy
2 The Also People 1995 Description / Buy
3 So Vile a Sin 1997 Description / Buy

Order of Bernice Summerfield Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Genius Loci 2007 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Aaronovitch’s most notable books are The Doctor Who novelizations (n.b. Remembrance of the Daleks), his three Doctor Who spin-off novels in the Virgin New Adventures series and six novels from the Rivers of London series (n.b. the sixth one, The Hanging Tree is scheduled for publishing in January 2017).


Aaronovitch’s novel The Rivers Of London received very positive feedback from the critics and was subsequently nominated for the Galaxy National Book Award in the New Writer Of The Year category. The series is not yet completed, so its true literary value can only be appreciated after some time.


Most of Aaronovitch’s novels and other literary works have been ground up works directly for the Television, mostly BBC. The writer mostly wrote for TV serials focusing on specific episodes. His work on The Remembrance of the Daleks as the first serial in the 25th season of Doctor Who includes four episodes. The work he did on TV drama Casuality includes an episode called ‘Results’. In addition to those works, he also authored 10 episodes for the Jupiter Moon in 1990 and 1996. Aaranovich also worked on the Dark Night – a TV series filmed in New Zealand which follows Ivanhoe’s quest to bring peace to England by restoring King Richard to the throne.

Aaronovitch had also authored several audio dramas, which include Doctor Who audio drama for Big Finish called Earth Aid. He also worked on a number of Blake’s 7 SF series audio dramas; the Rebel, When Vila Met Gan, Eye of the Machine and the Blood and Earth in 2009. While none of his books were yet used to inspire a movie AFTER they were published, considering that he is a very productive writer, it is just a matter of time before some of his works catch the attention of some big studio film script scout.


Aaronovitch’s best literary works include the Rivers of London series of novels and his Doctor Who novelization Remembrance of the Daleks.

The Rivers of London tells a story of Peter Grant, a Metropolitan Police officer who is recruited into a special detachment of the London’s Metropolitan Police Service that deals with paranormal cases. Grant’s job is to investigate a series of recent crimes in which someone or something is turning ordinary people into ruthless killers. At the same time, Grant has to negotiate peace between two gods who rule the Thames and are locked in a bitter feud. Even thought these two tasks do not seem related at all, Grant will have to discover that they have very much in common indeed. The Rivers of London was published in 2011 and it the first novel in the series of the same name (it is followed by Moon Over Soho, Whispers Under Ground, Broken Homes and Foxglove Summer.)

In his second work, the Remembrance of the Daleks, the main protagonist called “The Doctor” travels back in 1963 to retrieve a powerful device called the Hand of Omega to keep it from the Daleks who are in the state of a civil war. Araronovitch wrote the Remembrance Of The Daleks when he was only 25. It was the first series in the 25th season of the show and Aaronovitch used this opportunity to incorporate many references to past episodes of the show into the story. His work on the story received positive reviews from the audience and critics alike as Aaronovitch reintroduced mystery and magic into the series. His greatest credit was that the was able to do it with intelligence and revisionist continuity.

When Does The Next Ben Aaronovitch book come out?

The next book by Ben Aaronovitch is What Abigail Did That Summer and will be released on March, 18th 2021. It is the newest book in the PC Peter Grant / Rivers of London Series.