Peter Grant Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Peter Grant series is written by Ben Aaronovitch, an English author, and Galaxy National Book Awards Nominee. As the name suggests, the Peter Grant series is about Peter Grant, a member of the Metropolitan police that is drawn into a supernatural realm he wasn’t aware existed.

Order of PC Peter Grant / Rivers of London Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rivers of London / Midnight Riot 2011 Description / Buy
2 Moon Over Soho 2011 Description / Buy
3 Whispers Under Ground 2012 Description / Buy
4 Broken Homes 2013 Description / Buy
5 Foxglove Summer 2014 Description / Buy
6 The Hanging Tree 2016 Description / Buy
7 The Furthest Station (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy
8 Lies Sleeping 2018 Description / Buy
9 The October Man 2019 Description / Buy
10 False Value 2019 Description / Buy
11 Tales from the Folly: Short Story Collection 2020 Description / Buy
12 What Abigail Did That Summer 2021 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Rivers of London / Peter Grant Graphic Novel Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rivers of London: Volume 1 - Body Work 2013 Description / Buy
2 Rivers of London: Volume 2 - Night Witch 2014 Description / Buy
3 Rivers of London Volume 3: Black Mould (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy
4 Rivers of London Volume 4: Detective Stories (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy
5 Rivers of London Volume 5: Cry Fox (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Ben’s books could be described as police procedurals with a supernatural element, which isn’t exactly new, though the author definitely brings something unique to the table.

Hidden underneath the Cosmopolitan City of London is an ancient land filled with otherworldly creatures with roots in all manner of cultures and religions. The Metropolitan Police, or at least a small unit within the organization, is charged with supervising the magical community and keeping order.

Peter Grant acts as the reader’s eyes and ears. Because he is new to the supernatural aspect of London, Peter learns about the wonders of the supernatural at the same time as the readers, becoming an apprentice wizard and finding his place in the bizarre land.

Each book brings with it a new villain, a powerful enemy that must be overcome before Peter Grant can move on to the next case. The books are connected by an overarching story, though; a central villain who is causing mayhem all over the city.

The author keeps things interesting by exploring a new side of London with each book, this along with adding theater and history into the mix. You can see the author’s love for architecture manifested in his words.

Considering Ben Aaronovitch’s history writing for entities like Doctor Who, it is no surprise that his Peter Grant series is filled with such vibrant and imaginative ideas.

Peter Grant Awards

Rivers of London was the first book in Ben Aaronovitch’s Peter Grant series. The book was positively received, earning Ben a nomination for the Galaxy National Book Awards. Ben was able to get the nomination in the New Writer of the Year category.

Best Peter Grant Books

The Peter Grant series definitely made Ben Aaronovitch’s name, earning him considerable recognition from a number of unexpected circles, with some of the best books in the Peter Grant series including:

Foxglove Summer: Peter Grant has been tasked to look into the case of two missing girls in rural Herefordshire, not to solve the case but to determine whether or not otherworldly elements are involved.

Nightingale, his boss, assures the wizard apprentice that the assignment is merely routine and should last no more than a day. True to Nightingale’s word, Peter doesn’t find anything supernatural elements. However, that doesn’t stop him from working to help the police solve the crime.

However, a closer look at the picturesque countryside reveals that Peter might have some supernatural work to do after all.

One cannot help but conclude that Ben Aaronovitch finds his voice with this book, with his work having become commonplace in urban fantasy genre conversations by this point. The book makes a few changes, taking Peter Grant out of his comfort zone. Ben endeavors to keep some of the long term story lines alive and well.

Broken Homes: Peter Grant is struggling to get a handle on his case load. Rumors are already starting to connect the mutilated body of Crawley to an associate of the twisted wizard called the Faceless Man.

It is up to Peter to determine whether or not they are simply dealing with an ordinary serial killer; though, a stolen grimoire and a town planner who went under a tube train draw Peter’s attention.

All this initially seems like just another day in London until Peter gets word that something nefarious is happening on a housing estate. Peter begins to suspect a connection.

This book is very consistent, further cementing the rules of Peter Grant’s world and giving readers a very engaging perspective of the way a supernatural procedural would probably play out in the real world. As with most Ben Aaronovitch books, this one is filled with sly humor.

Other Book Series You May Like

“The Invisible Library Series” is written by Genevieve Cogman and revolves around a mystical library that exists in a unique space and time where books from every other reality are stored. The series takes the concept of Librarian Spies and blends it with the ideas of a show like Doctor Who.

“Shadow Police” is a series of novels written by Paul Cornell. Situated in Modern Day London, the books in the series follow a group of ordinary police officers that are not only cursed with True Sight but also compelled to take on the supernatural threats facing the city.

What Is The Next Book in The Pc Peter Grant / Rivers Of London Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Pc Peter Grant / Rivers Of London Series. The newest book is What Abigail Did That Summer and was released on March, 18th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *