Ben Coes Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Ben Coes is New York and the USA Today bestselling author of espionage and international political thriller novels. Coes was born in Hartford, Connecticut and spent his childhood in West Simsbury, Connecticut. He attended Groton School in Massachusetts a boarding school that boasts with Franklin D. Roosevelt as one of its alumni.

Get notified when Ben Coes releases a new book at

Order of Dewey Andreas Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Power Down 2010 Description / Buy
2 Coup d'Etat 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Last Refuge 2012 Description / Buy
4 Eye for an Eye 2013 Description / Buy
5 Independence Day / A Day To Kill 2015 Description / Buy
6 First Strike 2016 Description / Buy
7 Trap the Devil 2017 Description / Buy
8 Bloody Sunday 2018 Description / Buy
9 The Island 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Dewey Andreas Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Shooting Gallery (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Rob Tacoma Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Russian 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

After high school, the author in pursuit of knowledge enrolled in Columbia College located in New York City. Ben Coes career began as an intern in the White House during the regime of President Ronald Reagan. He later worked as the White House speechwriter James D. Watkins, the former U.S Secretary of Energy under the leadership of President George H.W. Bush.

The author writes speeches for T. Boone Pickens, American Financier, and Business Magnate. He worked as a campaign manager for Mitt Romney during the 2002 gubernatorial campaigns in Massachusetts. Currently, he is a managing director of The Mustang Group, a private firm that has invested in some companies.

He is also very involved in charity work as he has his own charity called “Thrillers for America’s Best” which is an outreach program that sends books to military veterans at VA hospitals and homes.

Power Down is Coes’ debut novel; it features Dewey Andreas who confronts terrorists trying to sabotage America energy resources. His second novel is Coup d’Etat, and it follows Dewey the main protagonist working to prevent war from escalating after Pakistan hits India with a nuclear bomb. Dewey Andreas series consists of seven original works with the seventh book expected to be published in 2017.


Eye for an Eye appeared in Booklist Starred Review in 2013, while First Strike made it to the Booklist starred review in 2016. Independence Day was listed in 2015 Booklist and Publishers Weekly starred review.


These are two best books by Ben Coes, Power Down & Eye for an Eye

Power Down: The first novel of Dewey Andreas begins with a catastrophic event after a major hydroelectric dam in North America is blown up, and the biggest off-shore oil field in this part of the world is destroyed in a well-coordinated terror attack.

The terrorist attack Capitana platform located off the coast of Columbia, where they slaughter and blow up the platform. Fortunately, Dewey Andreas, the Capitana crew chief, and a former Army Delta and Ranger survives the attack, rescues many of his crew as possible and declares war for the men responsible.

While the law enforcement and the intelligence agencies scramble to unravel the web of the events and the people responsible, Alexander Fortuna, an agent operating at the highest levels of American business and society sets into to plan a second phase of the attacks.

The only possible savior is Dewey Andreas, a man who plans on using his long-dormant skills to fight the terrorists begins his quest into Columbia, and back to the USA following the trails of the terror group and the operatives sent to kill him.

The debut novel is a compelling, gripping and a real page turner from Ben Coes that will leave you wanting more of his fast-paced thrillers. The plot and the characters are well developed, from the ex-army ranger to the villains who are after him.

Eye for an Eye: Eye for an Eye is the fourth installment in Dewey Andreas series. In this novel, the hero faces toughest odds of his career and his life, as well as one of the China’s most influential men, has decided to undertake whatever he must to flush out Dewey and cause horrifying loss.

When Dewey reveals the identity of a puppet embedded at the highest level in Israel Mossad, it sparks a larger and a more dangerous plot. The puppet was the most valuable asset to the Chinese intelligence, and the head of China’s Ministry of State Security (MSS), Fao Bhang responds to this discovery by placing a kill order on the man responsible- and in this case, is Dewey Andrew.

Dewey Andreas is tracked down to Argentina where he is on vacation with his lover the U.S National Security Advisor, Jessica Tanzer.

The top-level suicide squad sent to kill Dewey fails, however, the collateral damage is unbearable deeply and personal, and with nothing left to lose, Dewey is determined to have his revenge at all cost.

The moment he teaches the person behind the attack and the reason for the attack, he goes rogue, using all his skills and assets to initiate a counterattack. Dewey must now face the full wrath of Fao Bhang, and the MSS if he is to achieve his one and only goal, revenge no matter the armies that he will have to fight.

The Last Refuge: This book starts with a bang as the Israeli Special Forces commander Kohl Meir is kidnapped from the streets of Brooklyn by the Iranian secret service and take him back to Iran. They kidnap him because he knows that they’ve built a nuclear weapon and plan to use it against Israel, but what they don’t know is who he was in New York to meet: Dewey Andreas.

Dewey owes his life to the Isreali Special Forces and he’s going to attempt the impossible to save his friend: he’s going to break him out from one of the most protected facilities in the world and he’s going to stop Iran from sending a bomb that would wipe out tons of lives. Worst of all, he’s got to do it alone as neither America or Israel will sanction his actions. He’ll have to use all of his experience and know-how to complete this mission as well as outsmart Abu Paria, who is his Iranian equal in every way.

This book is packed with action, danger, gun fights and more that Ben Coes is known for and is a solid addition to the Dewey Andreas series. The action is non-stop and can get pretty violent at times, but when you are trying to stop a war – you do whatever it is you have to do. Again.

When Does The Next Ben Coes book come out?

Ben Coes doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Island and was released on August, 17th 2021. It is the newest book in the Dewey Andreas Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *