Beverly Barton Books

Beverly Barton born Beverly Marie Beaver was an American novelist from Tuscumbia, Alabama. Beverly Barton is best known for writing romantic suspense novels, in which she has written over 50 contemporary novels since 1990. She passed on from heart failure in 2011 aged 64.

Order of The Protectors Series

# Read Title Published
1 This Side of Heaven 1992
2 Paladin's Woman 1993
3 The Outcast 1994
4 Defending His Own 1995
5 Guarding Jeannie 1995
6 Blackwood's Woman 1996
7 Roarke's Wife 1997
8 A Man Like Morgan Kane 1997
9 Gabriel Hawk's Lady 1997
10 Keeping Annie Safe 1999
11 Murdock's Last Stand 2000
12 Egan Cassidy's Kid 2000
13 Whitelaw's Wedding 2001
14 Navajo's Woman 2001
15 Sweet Caroline's Keeper 2001
16 Jack's Christmas Mission 2001
17 The Princess's Bodyguard 2002
18 On Her Guard 2002
19 So This Is Christmas 2002
20 Grace Under Fire 2003
21 Keeping Baby Secret 2004
22 Downright Dangerous 2004
23 Laying His Claim 2004
24 Worth Dying For 2004
25 Ramirez's Woman 2005
26 Penny Sue Got Lucky 2006
27 Dangerous Deception 2006
28 His Only Obsession 2007
29 Dying for You 2007
30 A Time To Die 2007

Order of Griffin Powell Series

# Read Title Published
1 After Dark 2000
2 Killing Her Softly 2005
3 Amnesia 2005
4 Close Enough To Kill 2006
5 The Dying Game 2007
6 The Murder Game 2008
7 Cold Hearted 2008
8 Silent Killer 2009
9 Dead By Midnight 2010
10 Dead By Morning 2011
11 Dead By Nightfall 2011

Order of Fortunes of Texas Series

# Read Title Published
1 In The Arms Of A Hero 2014

Order of 3 Babies For 3 Brothers Series

# Read Title Published
1 His Secret Child 1999
2 His Woman His Child 1999
3 Having His Baby 1999

Order of 36 Hours Series

# Read Title Published
1 Nine Months 1998

Order of Cherokee Pointe Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Fifth Victim 2003
2 The Last To Die 2004
3 As Good As Dead 2004

Order of Raintree Series

# Read Title Published
1 Raintree 2007
2 Raintree 2007
3 Raintree 2007

Order of Way Out West Series

# Read Title Published
1 Lone Wolf's Lady 1998

Order of Lone Star Country Club Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Rebel's Return 2002

Order of Don't Cry Series

# Read Title Published
1 Don't Cry 2010
2 Don't Say A Word 2012

Order of Rand Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Mother Of My Child 1993
2 Lover and Deceiver 1994

Order of Cameron Series

# Read Title Published
1 Cameron 1993

Order of Family Secrets Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Phoenix Encounter 2003
2 Check Mate 2004

Order of Beverly Barton Standalone Novels

Print: Print PDF

Beverly Barton is best known for the incredible Protector series of novels. The first title in the series was the 1992 published novel, This Side of Heaven that was followed by twenty-nine other titles. The series is one of her most popular though she went on to write several other successful series in the same genre that included the Griffin Powell series, the Dead by Trilogy, Cherokee Pointe Trilogy, and Don’t Cry among many other standalone novels.


Beverly Barton has won many awards throughout her long career. She won the Romantic Times Magazine 1998 Career Achievement Award for a Series Romantic Adventure. Her novel Sanctuary won the 2007 Silhouette Nocturne Award, while In the Arms of s Hero won the Mini Series Romance Award, both under the RT Reviewers Choice Awards. Barton has also been a two-time recipient of Maggie Award of the Romance Writers of America, and twice winner of the National Reader’s Choice Award by the RWA.


Two of Beverly Barton’s novels have been adapted to the big screen. Dead by Nightfall and Dead by Morning of the Dead by Trilogy, were adapted into mini movies of the same names in 2011. Christopher Haine directed Dead by Nightfall that starred Christopher Warner and Marina Lyon. He also directed Dead by Morning that starred Brian Patrick Nichols, Murisa Harba, and Kurt Sinclair.


Beverly Barton wrote over 50 romance novels in her lifetime making the exercise of determining her best works a particularly difficult one.

Nonetheless, the following three are some of her most popular books:

The Murder Game: The eighth novel of the Griffin Powell series of novels sees FBI agent Nicole Baxter and Private Investigator Griffin Powell have the game turned on them by a psychopath. Their quarry is hunting them down, but he is playing a game of letting them escape and then try to outsmart him, in a highly terrifying game that has dangerous consequences. Even as they have dealt with psychopathic serial killers before, this sadistic killer forces them to play in his twisted little games. Every posed victim, unsolvable clue, and taunting phone is all part of the complex puzzle that he weaves. Nonetheless, while this is a new game, the fundamentals of the game have not changed – the winner kills all. The brutal killer will not stop until he kills his most precious prey – Nicole. It is now up to Griffin to stake his most precious things in life trying to save his partner.

Don’t Cry: The first novel of the Don’t Cry series of novels features Audrey Sherrod, a Chattanooga grief counselor who subcontracts for the local police. The police call her in to help solve a series of disturbing murders by a deranged killer. The killer took deliberate care to portray his victims as alive even as the last moments of their lives are clearly agonized and the crime scenes grisly and shocking. While at first it seems that the victim’s share a commonality in physical appearance that may help determine the motive of the killer, another disturbing connection soon appears that hits too close to Audrey. Each new discovery just unearths more secrets from the past even as they get more gruesome. Audrey findS that the truth that she has been seeking is more terrifying and twisted than anything she could ever have imagined.

Worth Dying For: The 24th title of the Protectors series of novels proves that sometimes love proves stronger than death. Dante Moran a security agent knows that love in his line of work has led many people to their death, which is why he deems it a luxury he cannot afford. Moreover, no one has ever filled the void left by his high school girlfriend, who fell victim to a serial killer and rapist. As far as he is concerned, his emotions were buried with his first and only love. However, he is bewildered when the emotions he thought lay long buried suddenly rise to the surface, when he is contracted to find the missing daughter of Tessa Westbrook. Westbrook arouses in him feelings that make him feel that she could fill the void left in his heart from childhood. But Tessa is a woman with a checkered past full of secrets, and with a killer still at large, Dante has to make a decision if he can bear to lose her or himself to the psychopath.