Griffin Powell Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Griffin Powell is a series of novels by the late American author of popular contemporary romance suspense novels Beverly Barton. The lead character in the series is Griffin Powell, though he makes minor appearances in some novels in which other characters take center stage. The first novel to be published in the series was the 2000 published title “After Dark”.

Order of Griffin Powell Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 After Dark ( By: Beverly Barton) 2000 Description / Buy
2 Killing Her Softly ( By: Beverly Barton) 2005 Description / Buy
3 Close Enough to Kill ( By: Beverly Barton) 2006 Description / Buy
4 The Dying Game ( By: Beverly Barton) 2007 Description / Buy
5 The Murder Game ( By: Beverly Barton) 2008 Description / Buy
6 Cold Hearted ( By: Beverly Barton) 2008 Description / Buy
7 Silent Killer (By: Beverly Barton) 2009 Description / Buy
8 Dead by Midnight ( By: Beverly Barton) 2010 Description / Buy
9 Dead by Morning ( By: Beverly Barton) 2011 Description / Buy
10 Dead by Nightfall ( By: Beverly Barton) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series of novels feature either Griffin Powell or some of his associates from earlier novels, who work to resolve mysterious murders in their hometowns. With the murders having several suspects that may have had different motivations for committing murder, the novels offer thrilling twists and turns that will leave any thriller mystery fan on the edge of their seat.

The lead character in the first novel in the series is Johnny Mack Cahill, a man that has found success in Houston after leaving his Alabama hometown one and a half decades past. But he has now received a stunning letter that tells him that one of his hometown’s foremost men had been killed, the wife had been arrested for the murder, and his son needed him.

The woman in question had saved his life fifteen years ago, though he does not remember ever having had any romantic liaison with Lena Noble Graham the dead man’s wife. What follows is a heart-rending tale of love turned to hate and despair as Lane and Johnny, trying to make sense of who could have been responsible for the murder. It is a great story of romance and mystery that goes on tow show why Barton is deemed one of the best romantic suspense authors in the US.


Two novels of the Griffin Powell series were made into movies in late 2011. “Dead by Nightfall” the nineteenth novel in the series was made into a movie starring Marina Lyon as Nicole Powell and Christopher Warner as Special Agent Carlson. Marina Lyon would make a comeback in the remake of the twelfth novel in the series “Dead by Morning”, that was made into a movie by the same name in 2011.


After Dark: The first novel in the series is one of the best novel in the series and is a firm fan favorite. The romantic suspense narrative sees the lead reunite with a long-lost friend who becomes a romantic partner making it one of the best novels you could read in the series.

The Murder Game: The eighth novel in the series is another incredible novel in the series featuring Griffin Powell who teams up with FBI Agent Nicole Baxter. The rules of the game are simple; the villain sees them as the prey while he is the hunter. Griffin and Nicole know a lot about serial killers but this time the serial killer is in another league in terms of cunning and sadism. He likes to play games setting up clues for the detectives and taunting them when they solve his little puzzles without ever really getting close to him. The game gets even more dangerous when the killer decides enough is enough and sets out to catch them before they track him down.

The Dying Game: This is the riveting seventh novel in the Griffin Powell series of novels. Everybody is playing to win in a game in which to win you have to kill and to lose you will certainly die. The killers are targeting former beauty queens that they kill and leave with a single rose on the bodies. Lindsay McAllister is a rookie detective with the Chattanooga PD, and has been witness to several of the serial killings. Now that the killer is getting even bolder, more ruthless, and faster, the game is changing and the detective may have to play his game if she is to catch him in the act.


Most fans of the Griffin Powell series of novels also loved the “Safeguard” series of novels by Kennedy Layne. The series is about Townes Calvert an ex-Marine Gunnery sergeant who sets up an elite private investigative agency known as the Safeguard Security & Investigations.

Many of Griffin Powell fans also enjoy the “Hostile Operations” series of novels by Lynn Raye Harris. The novels are romantic suspense mysteries featuring gorgeous and hardened men working in Black Ops, who sweep beautiful women off their feet and save their country while at it.

What Is The Next Book in The Griffin Powell Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Griffin Powell Series. The newest book is Dead by Morning and was released on January, 1st 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *