Beverly Lewis Books

Beverly Lewis is a renowned Christian fiction novelist and author of over 80 adult and children’s books. She was born and raised in Pennsylvania. Beverly Lewis draws her writing inspiration back to her background and childhood days. Her maternal grandmother was an old order Mennonite church attendee. This made her interested in the heritage thus focusing much of her writing on the Anabaptist heritage. Beverly Lewis’s father was also a pastor and grew up as part of the Assemblies of God community. She is the wife of David Lewis and together have three children and three grandchildren. Beverly Lewis’s family currently live in Colorado.

Order of Rose Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Thorn 2010
2 The Judgment 2011
3 The Mercy 2011

Order of Amish Country Crossroads Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Postcard 1999
2 The Crossroad 1999
3 Sanctuary 2001

Order of Girls Only Series

# Read Title Published
1 Dreams on Ice 1998
2 Only the Best 1998
3 A Perfect Match 1999
4 Reach for the Stars 1999
5 Follow the Dream 2000
6 Better Than Best 2000
7 Photo Perfect 2010
8 Star Status 2010

Order of Seasons of Grace Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Secret 2009
2 The Missing 2009
3 The Telling 2010

Order of Summerhill Secrets Series

Order of The Courtship of Nellie Fisher Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Parting 2007
2 The Forbidden 2008
3 The Longing 2008

Order of Abram's Daughters Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Covenant 2002
2 The Betrayal 2003
3 The Sacrifice 2004
4 The Prodigal 2004
5 The Revelation 2005

Order of The Heritage of Lancaster County Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Shunning 1997
2 The Confession 1997
3 The Reckoning 1998

Order of Cul-de-sac Kids Series

Order of Holly's Heart Series

Order of Annie's People Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Preacher's Daughter 2005
2 The Englisher 2005
3 The Brethren 2006

Order of Home to Hickory Hollow Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Bridesmaid 2012
2 The Fiddler 2012
3 The Guardian 2013
4 The Secret Keeper 2013
5 The Last Bride 2014

Order of Beverly Lewis Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 The Sunroom 1998
2 The Redemption of Sarah Cain 2000
3 October Song 2000
4 Child of Mine 2014
5 The River 2014
6 The Love Letters 2015
7 The Photograph 2015
8 The Wish 2016

Order of Beverly Lewis Childrens Books

# Read Title Published
1 The Six Hour Mystery 1994
2 Cows in the House 1998
3 Just Like Mama 2002
4 What is Heaven Like? 2006
5 In Jesse's Shoes 2007
6 What Is God Like? 2008

Order of Beverly Lewis Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published
1 The Beverly Lewis Amish Heritage Cookbook 2004
2 Amish Prayers 2011
Print: Print PDF

Beverly Lewis’s love for writing began at a tender age. She started writing short stories and poetry at the age of nine. After marriage, she went back to writing articles and short fiction stories which featured in various magazines. Beverly Lewis published her first book, Holly’s First Love in May 1993. This was the start of a pre-teen girl 14 book series. Besides this, she has written other many series, youth fictions, and picture books. Before taking writing as her full-time job, Beverly Lewis was a schoolteacher. She also makes music.

Beverly Lewis Awards

Beverly Lewis is a New York times bestselling novelist and a multi-award winning writer. Some of the awards she has won include The Christy Award in 2007, the Library Journals best genre fiction in 2005, the crossing book of the year in 2004 and came first place in the Inspirational Readers Choice in 2004. Beverly Lewis was also rated the eight among the top 10 Christian authors for 2009.

Beverly Lewis Books into Novels

Saving Sarah Cain, a movie based on Beverly Lewis standalone novel The Redemption of Sarah Cain was released on the Lifetime in 2007. Additionally, two of Beverly Lewis book installments in the series The Heritage of Lancaster County have been shot to movies. The two include The Shunning, which is the first installment in the series was announced in 2011 and premiered on the Hallmark channel in April 2011. The Confession, her second installment in the series, was also shot and announced a movie in 2012. It premiered in May 2013 on the Hallmark channel in the US.

Best Beverly Lewis Books

The Heritage of Lancaster County: The shunning is the first installment of Beverly Lewis book series, The Heritage of Lancaster County. It was published in the year 1997. The story revolves around Katie Lapp, a young Amish woman aged 22 years. Katie loses the love of her life, Daniel in a boating accident. This disturbs her life besides the feeling that she had been experiencing that she doesn’t fit in. Katie is unhappy with her normal Amish life and always felt like she wanted more. So to say, she is drawn to a fancy life. With the love of her life gone, Katie settles to marrying a widowed bishop.

Just before she marries the local Amish bishop, she discovers a satin baby dress in the attic. She sought to discover more about the satin by inquiring from her parents. Katie’s parents uncovered to her the story of her life. That she was given to them after their baby was born dead. This throws her to fresh tailspin now realizing that she does not belong there. As if this isn’t enough, her real name is Katherine Mayfield, as sewn in the satin dress. The preparations for her wedding and the pastor went on. However, as they were about to take vows, she jumps up and dashes out and away after uttering a few brief words.

The bishop announces a ban on her. This made Katie shunned. According to the Amish culture, any shunned person cannot be allowed to eat and speak with other community members. This makes Katie’s life hard. She resolved to elope and makes plans to leave and search for her biological mother. With that said, will Katie’s escapade finally give her what she has been longing for in her life?

Beverly Lewis’s stories are certainly a good read. She explores the devastating effects of community and traditional driven faiths. So to mention, the Amish way of life is quite intriguing. She provides deep insights reflecting the lives of many people unsatisfied by a community that is driven customs and heritage and the effects on their lives. Reading this book should prepare you to other much more fascinating reads in this series that will keep you on toes until the end. The Confession and The Reckoning follow suit in this series The Heritage of Lancaster County.