Redemption Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Redemption is a series of Christian fiction novels written by Karen Kingsbury and Gary Smalley. The books follow the exploits of the Baxter family as they deal with life, love and everything in between.

Order of Redemption Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Redemption 2002 Description / Buy
2 Remember 2003 Description / Buy
3 Return 2003 Description / Buy
4 Rejoice 2004 Description / Buy
5 Reunion 2004 Description / Buy

Order of Firstborn Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fame 2005 Description / Buy
2 Forgiven 2005 Description / Buy
3 Found 2006 Description / Buy
4 Family 2006 Description / Buy
5 Forever 2007 Description / Buy

Order of Sunrise Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sunrise 2007 Description / Buy
2 Summer 2007 Description / Buy
3 Someday 2008 Description / Buy
4 Sunset 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Above the Line Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Take One 2009 Description / Buy
2 Take Two 2009 Description / Buy
3 Take Three 2010 Description / Buy
4 Take Four 2010 Description / Buy

Order of Bailey Flanigan Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Leaving 2011 Description / Buy
2 Learning 2011 Description / Buy
3 Longing 2011 Description / Buy
4 Loving 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Coming Home Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Coming Home 2012 Description / Buy

Order of The Baxter Family Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Baxter Family Christmas 2016 Description / Buy
2 Love Story 2017 Description / Buy
3 In This Moment 2017 Description / Buy
4 To the Moon and Back 2018 Description / Buy
5 When We Were Young 2018 Description / Buy
6 Two Weeks 2020 Description / Buy
7 Someone Like You 2020 Description / Buy
8 Truly, Madly, Deeply 2020 Description / Buy
9 Forgiving Paris 2021 Description / Buy
10 The Baxters: A Prequel 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Readers first meet the Baxter family in Redemption, the very first novel in the Redemptions series. Kari Baxter Jacobs, the protagonist of the novel, was happy. Her world shattered when she realized that her husband, a respected professor was not only having an affair with one of his students but that he wanted a divorce.

Most people in her position would have fled from their marriage without a second thought. And Kari’s friends and family encouraged her to do just that. But Kari refused to be moved.

Going against the grain, she decided that she would cling to her husband and fight for their marriage even if he wanted nothing to do with her. Kari believed against all rationale that, despite her husband’s philandering ways, God would come through for her and restore their marriage.

As far as first novels in a series go, Redemption tells quite the controversial story. While Karen Kingsbury wrote the novel with the intention of encouraging women to trust God even when the worst came to pass, some of her readers concluded that her novel only succeeded in teaching women to stay with their cheating husbands.

Many such readers criticized the author for spreading a message that was largely detrimental to the feminist movements and they expressed no further interest in pursuing the Redemption series.

However, the author’s fans have never stopped defending the message of her first Redemption novel, pointing out the fact that the novel placed more emphasis on God’s transformative power than it did on its hero’s philandering ways.

The other novels in the series are not quite as controversial. Each installment introduces readers to a new member of the Baxter family, a man or woman with a distinct personality and their own unique set of problems that they must fight to overcome.

The Baxters are a close-knit Christian family. However, they cannot steer clear of trouble. Karen uses them to tackle all the difficult issues that Christians encounter such as adultery, pregnancies out of wedlock, addictions and the like.

Each novel builds upon storylines and plot threads that were first introduced in its predecessor. As such, this series should be read in order. These novels are designed to deliver a message of hope.

No matter how far Karen’s characters fall, God is always waiting around the corner to pick them up and to put them on the right path.

Redemption Awards

The Redemption series won the Retailer’s Choice Award in 2005 (Best Series).

Redemption Books into Movies/TV

Roma Downey and Will Packer have expressed interest in working with the Lightworkers Media Streaming Platform to produce a television show based on the Baxter Books which include the Redemption series.

Best Redemption Books

The Redemption novels are often commended for being darker than the average Christian fiction series, tackling difficult subjects that some Christian authors typically shy away from, with some of the best books in the series including:

Rejoice: Brooke Baxter is living the life everyone desires. She has a beautiful home, a prestigious career, and great children. But Brooke only recently rediscovered her faith. And questions have begun to arise as to whether her belief in God is strong enough to weather all the storms that life is about to throw at her, this including tremendous loss and a rocky marriage.

Reunion: The Baxter Children were finally home, dining together for the first time in a little while. Everything should have been going great. But then terrible news struck and the family begun to fracture all over again.

Mr. and Mrs. Baxter have a secret, one that will change the family forever.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Michelli Family” Series Kristen Heitzmann as well. The Michellis are an Italian family that grew up in the Bronx. These books follow their exploits as they encounter God and learn to trust him through the various ups and downs of their personal, professional and romantic lives.

The “O’Malley” Series by Dee Henderson is another great read. Seven boys and girls were either abandoned or orphaned as teens. They came together, became a committed family and took the surname O’Malley. They promised to stay loyal to one another for so long as they drew breath. This series tells their stories.

What Is The Next Book in The Redemption Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Redemption Series. The newest book is Reunion and was released on June, 1st 2004.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *