Brian Herbert Books

Brian Herbert is an American author of multiple New York Times bestsellers and one of the greatest science fiction writers of his generation. The son of famous science fiction writer Frank Herbert, he made his debut into the writing world in 2003, and has been writing ever since.

Order of World of Darkness Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Blood on the Sun 1996 Description / Buy

Order of Dune: House Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 House Atreides 1999 Description / Buy
2 House Harkonnen 2000 Description / Buy
3 House Corrino 2001 Description / Buy

Order of Legends of Dune Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Butlerian Jihad 2002 Description / Buy
2 The Machine Crusade 2002 Description / Buy
3 The Battle of Corrin 2004 Description / Buy

Order of Dune Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hunters of Dune 2006 Description / Buy
2 Sandworms of Dune 2007 Description / Buy
3 The Duke of Caladan 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Schools of Dune Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sisterhood of Dune 2011 Description / Buy
2 Sisterhood of Dune 2012 Description / Buy
3 Mentats of Dune 2014 Description / Buy
4 Navigators of Dune 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Heroes of Dune Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Paul Of Dune 2008 Description / Buy
2 The Winds of Dune 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Dune: Red Plague Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dune (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Dune Collections Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Songs Of Muad'dib 1992 Description / Buy
2 The Road to Dune 2005 Description / Buy
3 Tales of Dune 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Dune Chapbooks

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fremen Justice 2001 Description / Buy

Order of Timeweb Chronicles Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Timeweb 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Web and the Stars 2007 Description / Buy
3 Webdancers 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Hellhole Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hellhole 2011 Description / Buy
2 Hellhole Awakening 2013 Description / Buy
3 Hellhole Inferno 2014 Description / Buy

Order of The Stolen Gospels Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Stolen Gospels 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Lost Apostles 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Brian Herbert Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sidney's Comet 1983 Description / Buy
2 The Garbage Chronicles 1985 Description / Buy
3 Sudanna Sudanna 1985 Description / Buy
4 Man of Two Worlds 1986 Description / Buy
5 Prisoners of Arionn 1987 Description / Buy
6 The Race for God 1990 Description / Buy
7 Memorymakers 1991 Description / Buy
8 The Little Green Book of Chairman Rahma 2014 Description / Buy
9 The Assassination of Billy Jeeling 2018 Description / Buy
10 The Unborn 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Brian Herbert Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dangerous Worlds 2016 Description / Buy
2 The Comet Chronicles 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Brian Herbert Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Notebooks of Frank Herbert's Dune 1988 Description / Buy
2 Dreamer of Dune 2000 Description / Buy
3 The Forgotten Heroes 2004 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

With over 20 titles to his name, Brian Herbert is one of the most prolific writers in the genre. While he launched his career with a high moving biography of his father “Dreamer of Dune, he is now best known for the prequels Prelude to Dune, Legends of Dune, Dune Chronicles, Heroes of Dune, and Schools of Dune. Even as he has written several other series of novels and standalones, he is best known for the Dune prequels which have been New York Bestsellers and been made into a TV series and movie.


In 2004, Brian Herbert was a Hugo Award finalist for Best Related Book for Dreamer of Dune, his father’s biography.


In 2015, Legendary Entertainment announced that it had reached an agreement with the Herbert estate to adapt the Dune series of novels into a TV show and movie. Cale Boyter, Mary Parent, and Thomas Tull would be the main producers, with Kim Herbert, Byron Merritt, and Brian Herbert serving as executive producers for both the series and movie. Denis Villeneuve who directed Blade Runner 2049 and the critically acclaimed Arrival will direct the Dune remake.


With sequels set before the critically acclaimed Dune, and prequels that have become cult classics, Brian Herbert has written some very good novels. However the most highly regarded of his works are:

Dreamer of Dune:: The Biography of Frank Herbert: In a complex and amazing epic, Frank Herbert combined ecology, human evolution, religion, and politics to capture and enthrall generations readers. In the moving novel that is both loving and honest, Brian Herbert tells the life story of his father. He brings to light the many important happenings in the life of Frank Herbert that are sure to be part and parcel of speculative fiction’s greatest ever narratives. Starting out in Tacoma Washington , going to school at the University of Washington, Seattle, joining the Navy, trying his hand at being a cameraman for a local TV station, his life as a radio commentator, reporter and editor of a newspaper on the West coast, to several years of poverty while trying to establish himself as a professional writer. It was a bumpy ride for Frank Herbert and he worked hard and long before he found success with his 1965 classic, Dune. Brian tells of these years with such intensity and honesty that brings all aspects of the older Herbert’s often troubled though brilliant genius to light. It provides Brian Herbert’s personal perspectives on his father, who is arguably one of the most creative and enigmatic talents of the times.

Mentats of Dune: in the fifth novel of the Dune Universe, the AI have been defeated though humanity is not yet out of the woods. The Mentat School is an institution that Gilbertus Albans has set up to teach humans to learn how to think like the machines. But Albans has to walk a thin line between compromise and conviction, if he is to survive his struggle with the Butlerian fanatics whose leader is the insane Manford Torondo. But he gets help from Josef Venport, who hates the Butlerians just as much as he does. A company known as VenHold Spacing Fleet has the monopoly on all commerce since they have the advantage of having superior mutated navigators. They maintain their hold on the trade by imposing ruthless embargoes on any planet that is party to Torondo’s anti-technology pact with a view to starving them into submission. The fanatics are just one of those opponents that do not give in that easily. With the Navigators and the Mentats striving to improve the lives of humanity, the Butlerian’s fanaticism grows in leaps and bounds. The factions will soon have to fight it out to decide if humanity’s future lies with technology, or with the dark ages devoid of civilization.

Navigators of Dune: in the final title in the explosive Schools of Dune trilogy, we go back 10, 000 years before the time of Frank Herbert’s Dune. It tells the story of how the Bene Gesserit Sisterhood was established including the Navigators (the Spacing Guild), the human computer Mentats, the breeding program, and the all-important faceoff between fanaticism and civilization. These are crucial events for humanity, which will have important consequences affecting the story of Dune, thousands of years in the future.

When Does The Next Brian Herbert book come out?

The next book by Brian Herbert is The Duke of Caladan and will be released on October, 27th 2020. It is the newest book in the Dune Series.