C.J. BOX Books

C.J. Box aka Charles James Box, Jr. is an author from United States. He graduated from the University of Denver with a degree in Mass Communication. Apart from writing, he has also worked as a reported and editor in a small newspaper in his town in Wyoming.

Order of Joe Pickett Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Open Season 2001 Description / Buy
2 Savage Run 2002 Description / Buy
3 Winterkill 2003 Description / Buy
4 Trophy Hunt 2004 Description / Buy
5 Out of Range 2005 Description / Buy
6 In Plain Sight 2006 Description / Buy
7 Free Fire 2007 Description / Buy
8 Blood Trail 2008 Description / Buy
9 Below Zero 2009 Description / Buy
10 Nowhere to Run 2010 Description / Buy
11 Cold Wind 2011 Description / Buy
12 Force of Nature 2012 Description / Buy
13 Breaking Point 2013 Description / Buy
14 Stone Cold 2014 Description / Buy
15 Endangered 2015 Description / Buy
16 Off the Grid 2016 Description / Buy
17 Vicious Circle 2017 Description / Buy
18 The Disappeared 2018 Description / Buy
19 Wolf Pack 2019 Description / Buy
20 Long Range 2020 Description / Buy
21 Dark Sky 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Joe Pickett Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dull Knife 2005 Description / Buy
2 The Master Falconer 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Joe Pickett Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Shots Fired: Stories from Joe Pickett Country 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Cassie Dewell Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Highway 2013 Description / Buy
2 Badlands 2015 Description / Buy
3 Paradise Valley 2017 Description / Buy
4 The Bitterroots 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Cody Hoyt Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Back of Beyond 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Highway 2013 Description / Buy

Order of The Highway Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Back of Beyond 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Highway 2013 Description / Buy
3 Badlands 2015 Description / Buy
4 Paradise Valley 2017 Description / Buy
5 The Bitterroots 2019 Description / Buy

Order of C.J. Box Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Blue Heaven 2007 Description / Buy
2 Three Weeks to Say Goodbye 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Bibliomystery Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Pronghorns of the Third Reich (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy

C.J. Box Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hook, Line & Sinister 2010 Description / Buy
2 Inherit the Dead 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Highway Kind 2016 Description / Buy
4 Gather at the River 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

C.J. Box is known for the famous Joe Pickett series along with so many other stand-alone novels and short stories. He is the New York Times No.1 bestselling author of 21 novels which includes the Joe Pickett series. His first novel in the Joe Pickett series was Open Season which was included in the “Notable Books” in the New York Times list in the year 2001.

The series follows Joe Pickett, a Wyoming game warden and family man who takes on all matter of foes in the pursuit of justice. The character has drawn rave reviews for being unlike the hero of most other novels these days as he is a happily married family man who doesn’t have a dark past or emotional troubles. He’s just a regular Joe.


The chronological order of all of the C.J. Box book series are the exact same as the publication order.


C.J. Box has won many awards in his career of being a writer. He won the “Anthony Award”, “Barry Award”, “Macavity Award”, “Gumshoe Award” for the best first novel.

His first Stand-Alone novel Blue Heaven won the Edgar Award for the Best Mystery novel in the year 2008. In the year 2010, he backed the Mountains and Plains Independent Booksellers Association Award. He has has also won an Award for Literature recently called the Western Heritage Award given by the National Cowboy Museum. Prix Calibre 38 Award is one more star in his career.


There was a time when a Joe Picket series seemed like an inevitability with Robert Redford rumored to be in the mix on the production side. However, in 2016 CJ Box announced on his website that he had withdrawn from the project because he did not like the direction that they were planning to take his characters. The characters had the same names and the show would take place in Wyoming, but that was about all that was the same from his novels and he decided to withdraw, stating that “A television series (or movie) is not the be-all and end-all for a novelist.” Hopefully, this gets revisited down the road as the Joe Pickett series feels tailor-made for television.

Box’s 2008 novel Blue Heaven has been optioned by major studios three times with the expectation of making it into a major motion picture, but that has failed to materialize as well. The current rights holder is unknown, but here’s hoping they do something with them.

While there hasn’t been a movie or TV series from Box’s work to make it to the screen yet, it is very likely that one day you will see something of his on the big screen. C.J. Box’s books are major sellers and there is an audience out there that is dying to see them on the big screen.


The best of the C.J. Box Books are “Open Season” which has won so many awards and “Endangered” from the Joe Pickett series and the “Blue Heaven”, his best stand-alone novel.

Open Season: His debut novel on crime genre was a big hit and grabbed four awards for the first best Novel. Open season engages you in a crime mystery world which suits very much for the outdoor enthusiasts. The story starts with gun shots and three outfitters are dead. Joe Pickett is the game warden in Wyoming finds one of the bodies. Joe Pickett is the main character of the series and he doesn’t take bribes or get distracted from this work, a kind of person needed in Wyoming where everyone hunts. The story continues with how Joe Pickett investigates and solves the murder. The author delves with issues which go deep into your heart making the readers to empathise the plot. No surprise why this novel bagged the famous awards.

Endangered: Endangered is the 15th novel in the Joe Pickett series and is the next famous book among the readers. The story revolves around Joe Pickett’s eighteen year old daughter who runs away with Cates, whom Joe Pickett really hates. His daughter is later found barely alive in the ditch. Joe is trying to find the truth behind who is responsible for her daughter’s situation and will the trust kill him is all the story is about. The book is filled with captivating and intriguing characters. Endangered has proved to be one of the best classic reader by the rating it has got by the readers. One of the reason the book was a hit is because the author has given equal importance to both the characterization and the plot.

Blue Heaven Blue Heaven is the first Stand-alone novel written by C.J. Box. Two children, William and Annie is on the run in the North Idaho woods where they encounter four men committing murder. They are persuaded by the murderers, who are retired cops, who exactly knows who these children are and who their mother is. The two kids meet their saviour unexpectedly as an old school rancher. But one school rancher against the four cops is next to impossible, so he tries to gather allies with a great risk to save the children and their mother. The author makes the reader sink into the unforgettable characters and in the deep plot. Blue Heaven was delivered with so many twists and turns which leave the readers breath-taking until the last page of the novel.

When Does The Next C.J. Box book come out?

The next book by C.J. Box is Dark Sky and will be released on March, 2nd 2021. It is the newest book in the Joe Pickett Series.