Joe Pickett Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Joe Pickett is the character featured in the “Joe Pickett” series by C.J Box. Open Season was the first book published in this series on July 9th, 2001.

Joe Picket is a game warden from the town of Twelve Sleep, Wyoming. Joe is an honest warden who refrains from taking bribes. Hunting is an immensely popular sport in the town. Joe is a struggler who supports his growing family in the tiny salary he gets.

Order of Joe Pickett Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Open Season ( By: C.J. Box) 2001 Description / Buy
2 Savage Run ( By: C.J. Box) 2002 Description / Buy
3 Winterkill ( By: C.J. Box) 2003 Description / Buy
4 Trophy Hunt ( By: C.J. Box) 2004 Description / Buy
5 Out of Range ( By: C.J. Box) 2005 Description / Buy
6 In Plain Sight ( By: C.J. Box) 2006 Description / Buy
7 Free Fire ( By: C.J. Box) 2007 Description / Buy
8 Blood Trail ( By: C.J. Box) 2008 Description / Buy
9 Below Zero ( By: C.J. Box) 2009 Description / Buy
10 Nowhere to Run ( By: C.J. Box) 2010 Description / Buy
11 Cold Wind ( By: C.J. Box) 2011 Description / Buy
12 Force of Nature ( By: C.J. Box) 2012 Description / Buy
13 Breaking Point ( By: C.J. Box) 2013 Description / Buy
14 Stone Cold ( By: C.J. Box) 2014 Description / Buy
15 Endangered ( By: C.J. Box) 2015 Description / Buy
16 Off the Grid ( By: C.J. Box) 2016 Description / Buy
17 Vicious Circle ( By: C.J. Box) 2017 Description / Buy
18 The Disappeared ( By: C.J. Box) 2018 Description / Buy
19 Wolf Pack ( By: C.J. Box) 2019 Description / Buy
20 Long Range ( By: C.J. Box) 2020 Description / Buy
21 Dark Sky (By: C.J. Box) 2021 Description / Buy
22 Shadows Reel (By: C.J. Box) 2022 Description / Buy
23 Storm Watch (By: C.J. Box) 2023 Description / Buy
24 Three-Inch Teeth (By: C.J. Box) 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Joe Pickett Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dull Knife ( By: C.J. Box) 2005 Description / Buy
2 The Master Falconer ( By: C.J. Box) 2011 Description / Buy
3 Honor & ... (By: C.J. Box, Sandra Brown) 2017 Description / Buy
4 Precious Cargo (By: C.J. Box) 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Joe Pickett Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Shots Fired: Stories from Joe Pickett Country (By: C.J. Box) 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Joe Pickett Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dull Knife ( By: C.J. Box) 2005 Description / Buy
2 The Master Falconer ( By: C.J. Box) 2011 Description / Buy
3 Honor & ... (By: C.J. Box, Sandra Brown) 2017 Description / Buy
4 Precious Cargo (By: C.J. Box) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In the first novel, Open Season, Joe is living in a small cottage with his wife and daughters. Life is a struggle in his scarce salary and especially when Joe is an upright and lawful man. The story takes a major twist when a poacher is found dead in the backyard of Joe’s house. Soon there are two more hunters murdered. And though local police have their explanations ready, Joe is not convinced. He launches his own investigation into the case to find the real reason behind the murder. He soon discovers an endangered species living in the wood stack of his backyard. It had been brought over by the hunter who died. The existence of the catlike species has to be kept a secret. The multinational gas giant InterWest is building a pipeline through the forests of Wyoming. Its chances of continuing with the project would become bleak if people come to know about the existence of this species. The book further describes Joe’s saga of solving the mystery and getting a close brush with the death of his dear ones.

Joe Pickett awards:

Open season was a highly acclaimed novel that fetched Box numerous awards. He received awards at the Gumshoe, Anthony, Barry, and Macavity awards for the Best First Novel. Numerous novels of the Joe Pickett series have been the New York Times Bestsellers. C.J Box was also bestowed with the Mountains and Plains awards in 2010, the Prix Calibre (38) award, and the Western Heritage award in 2016.

Joe Pickett Books into Movies/TV:

No Joe Pickett novels have yet been made into movies or television shows. There was a project going on in 2016 for a TV series however C.J. Box wasn’t happy with the direction and they withdrew it.

Best Joe Pickett Books:

The Joe Pickett series features 15 novels and a collection of Short Stories that have released till date. Open season is one of the most notable works of the series. Though all of Joe Pickett series books are worth reading, we will discuss the story of two novels.

Endangered: Joe Picket totally disapproves of Dallas Cates who is a Rodeo champ. Moreover, Joe’s adopted daughter April elopes with him. She is found in a ditch along the mountain area is a brutally assaulted state. Cates denies having anything to do with the incident, and evidence points to another guy. Joe has a strong intuition that it’s Cates behind the incident and is determined to get even. Cates family, though, is dangerous and powerful people and Joe has to be well geared to fight against them.

Nowhere to Run: The story is situated in the mountain town of Baggs, Wyoming, where Joe is temporarily stationed as a game warden. On his final patrolling expedition in the mountains, he comes across the lawless twins Caleb and Carmish Grim who were behind the series of unlawful events that were taking place up the mountains. The story becomes more and more enticing as mysteries unfold and Joe and his close friend Nate Romanowski take the plunge in probing deeper into the case. Read the entire book to discover how Joe rescues the Olympic racer from these deadly goons and courageously moves ahead to get the twin brothers punished.

Other book series you may like:

The Joe Pickett fans would also like to read the novel series “Jake & Annie Lincoln” crime thriller series. Lincoln investigation is the crime investigating agency and Jake and Annie Lincoln solve deadly cases in Richmond Hill, Canada. “Blood and Justice” was the first novel in this series.

The “Joe Dillard” series is a captivating series of books which outlines the crime encounters of the criminal lawyer Joe Dillard. The series talk about the fight of Dillard’s inner conscious with his career commitments. These books are intense, and the crime plots make excellent reads for readers who like suspense and thriller mystery novels.

What Is The Next Book in The Joe Pickett Series?

The next book in the The Joe Pickett Series by C.J. Box is Three-Inch Teeth and will be released on February, 27th 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *