C S Lewis Books

Clive Staples Lewis better known as C.L. Lewis was one of the most influential writers and intellectual giants of the 20th century. A tutor and fellow of Oxford University until 1954, Lewis is best known for writing fantasy and science fiction novels, most of which were concerned with Christian themes. A prolific writer, he has written over 30 novels on similar themes.

Order of The Chronicles of Narnia Series

Order of The World Of Narnia Series

# Read Title Published
1 Aslan's Triumph 1998
2 Aslan 1998
3 The Wood Between the Worlds 1999

Order of Other Narnia Books

Order of C S Lewis Standalone Novels

Order of Space Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published
1 Out of the Silent Planet 1938
2 Perelandra 1944
3 That Hideous Strength 1945

Order of C S Lewis Poetic Works

# Read Title Published
1 Spirits in Bondage 1919
2 Poems 1964
3 Narrative Poems 1969

Order of C S Lewis Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published
1 The Allegory of Love 1936
2 The Personal Heresy 1939
3 The Problem of Pain 1940
4 Case for Christianity 1942
5 Mere Christianity 1943
6 The Abolition of Man 1943
7 Miracles 1947
8 Essays Presented to Charles Williams 1947
9 English Literature in the Sixteenth Century 1954
10 Surprised by Joy 1955
11 Reflections on the Psalms 1958
12 The Four Loves 1960
13 The World's Last Night 1960
14 A Grief Observed 1961
15 An Experiment in Criticism 1961
16 Letters to Malcolm 1964
17 The Discarded Image 1964
18 Of Other Worlds 1966
19 Letters of C. S. Lewis 1966
20 A Mind Awake 1968
21 Selected Literary Essays 1969
22 The Joyful Christian 1977
23 Essays on the Death Penalty 1978
24 They Stand Together 1979
25 On Stories 1981
26 The Visionary Christian 1981
27 Of This and Other Worlds 1982
28 The Business of Heaven 1984
29 C. S. Lewis' Letters to Children 1985
30 Seeing Eye and Other Selected Essays from Christian Reflections 1986
31 Present Concerns 1987
32 All My Road Before Me 1991
33 Compelling Reason 1996
34 Readings for Meditation and Reflection 1996
35 C.S. Lewis on Grief 1998
36 C.S. Lewis on Joy 1998
37 C.S. Lewis on Faith 1998
38 The Christian Way 1999
39 Latin Letters of C.S. Lewis 1999
40 C.S. Lewis Essay Collection 2000
41 C.S. Lewis Signature Classics 2001
42 What Christians Believe 2005
43 Made for Heaven 2005
44 Paved with Good Intentions 2005
45 Virtue and Vice 2005
46 God's Words of Life for Men 2006
47 C. S. Lewis Bible 2010
48 C. S. Lewis at War 2013
49 Image and Imagination 2013
50 Easter Stories 2015
51 A Grief Observed 2016
52 The Weight of Glory 2016
53 Reflections on the Psalms 2016
54 Spirits in Bondage a Cycle of Lyrics 2016
55 Present Concerns 2017
56 Compelling Reason 2017


# Read Title Published
1 George MacDonald 1946
Print: Print PDF

C.L. Lewis is best known for the Chronicles of Narnia series, a fantasy series for children. He published the first novel in the series, The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe in 1950 and went on to publish six more titles in the critically acclaimed series. The Chronicles of Narnia is one of the most popular fantasy series and has been translated into over forty languages and been adapted for radio, TV, the stage and cinema many times, and sold over 100 million copies.


C.S. Lewis has been a nominee and a winner of several awards for his novels. He has been a finalist for the Gandalf Awards for grandmaster of science fiction in 1975, 1976, and 1977. The novel “That Hideous Strength” was the finalist for the Prometheus Awards in 2003, and 2008. The first novel in the series, The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe was nominated for the Retro Hugo Awards in 1996, 2001, and 2014. He was awarded the Carnegie Award, the UK’s most prestigious honor for children’s literature for the novel “The Last Battle” of the Narnia Chronicles. In 1951, he was offered one of Britain’s highest civilian honors, the Commander of the British Empire (CBE). One of his earliest works, the 1936 published “The Allegory of Love” won the Hawthornden Prize.


Lewis works have been made into many TV series and movie adaptations over the years. The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe was the first to be adapted for TV in 1967. The 10-episode series was directed by Helen Standage, with Trevor Preston writing the screenplay. In 1979, the novel was adapted for TV for the second time, this time as an animated cartoon produced by Children’s Television Workshop in conjunction with Bill Melendez. Between 1988 and 1990, the first four of the Narnia Chronicles were made into TV serials by the BBC, and also aired in the US on Disney’s Wonderworks show. The adaptations were later made into three feature length movies that were released on DVD and VHS. In 2005, the first novel was adapted for the big screen and starred Liam Neeson as the Voice of Aslan, and Tilda Swinton as the witch Jadis. This was followed by Prince Caspian in 2008 and The Voyage of the Dawn Treader in 2010, both of which went on to become major commercial successes.


The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe: It is not surprising that the novel is one of the most popular given that it was made into a movie, cartoon, and TV series. The series begins with rumors that Aslan is on the move or that he has already landed, which sends different emotions through the main characters. Lucy gets the feeling that when one realizes that summer is at hand, Susan felt a delightful musical strain, Peter felt adventurous and brave, while Edmund is full of a mysterious sense of terror. Entering the bewitched lands of Narnia the four friends walk into a enchanted country only accessible to Lucy, Edmund, Susan, and Peter. Lucy is the first to find the mysterious land after stumbling into it behind the professor’s enormous wardrobe in his ancient country house. At first, she is the object of derision from her friends. Soon Susan, Peter, and Edmund enter the magical land and meet its ruler, the Great Lion Aslan, who changes their lives forever.

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader: Another novel in the Chronicles of Narnia series that was adapted into a film. Edmund and Lucy ,together with their Eustace their dreadful cousin find themselves sucked into the painting of a ship that is sailing the high seas. Caspian, The King of Narnia, captains the Dawn Treader. Together with his companions, they seek seven lost noblemen of Narnia in a voyage that will see them travel to the ends of the earth. They have many adventures some of which include a close encounter with a dragon, capture by slave traders, and a visit to enchanted islands, one of which was to an island where wishes come true.