Chronicles of Narnia Books

Chronicles of Narnia is a series of fantasy novels written by C.S. Lewis. The books have sold over a hundred million copies since they were first published, this along with being translated into dozens of languages.

Order of The Chronicles of Narnia Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe 1950 Description / Buy
2 Prince Caspian 1951 Description / Buy
3 The Voyage of the Dawn Treader 1952 Description / Buy
4 The Silver Chair 1953 Description / Buy
5 The Horse and His Boy 1954 Description / Buy
6 The Magician's Nephew 1955 Description / Buy
7 The Last Battle 1956 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of The Chronicles of Narnia (Chronological Order) Series

# Read Title Published Details
Print: Print PDF

Order of The World Of Narnia Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lucy Steps Through the Wardrobe (Short Story) 1997 Description / Buy
2 Edmund And The White Witch 1997 Description / Buy
3 Uncle Andrew's Troubles 1998 Description / Buy
4 Aslan's Triumph 1998 Description / Buy
5 Aslan 1998 Description / Buy
6 The Wood Between the Worlds 1999 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Other Narnia Books

# Read Title Published Details
Print: Print PDF

First appearing on the shelves of bookstores in 1950, the Chronicles of Narnia series follows the exploits of a group of children who are accidentally drawn into the fantastical world of Narnia. Narnia is a realm of myth and magic where animals talk and darkness is rife.

Initially, four particular children are pulled into Narnia by the lion Aslan to help protect the land from an evil queen. Over time, their numbers wax and wane. As some of the kids grow into adulthood, their ability to accept, understand and enter the world of Narnia is diminished, at which point they proceed to lead normal lives in the normal world while other kids, still young and capable of imagination take their place.

The Narnia books play with numerous elements of Christianity as well as Greek and Roman mythology. The books catapulted C.S. Lewis to worldwide fame. The series jumps around in time, with Lewis delivering sequels and prequels down the line that shed light on the initial creation and eventual destruction of the land of Narnia.

The Chronicles of Narnia series is often spoken of in the same vein as the Lord of the Rings, which is curious seeing as C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien were friends.

Chronicles of Narnia Awards

The Final Novel in the Chronicles of Narnia series earned the Carnegie Medal in 1956.

Chronicles of Narnia Books into Movies/TV

The Chronicles of Narnia has received numerous adaptations over the years. The earliest adaptations include a ten-episode television series of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe in 1967 and a feature-length animated television movie of the same book in 1979.

By 1990, the BBC had produced four television serials based on the first four Narnia novels; those serials eventually became three feature-length films. Lesser known adaptations include Tales of Narnia, a 1980s BBC Radio 4 dramatization that encompassed the entire series.

A superior radio dramatization followed in 1998, produced by Focus on the Family, featuring on the Radio Theater program and eventually ending in 2002. This version was widely acclaimed because it utilized various performers and proper orchestral music.

No one ever thought that the Narnia novels would ever come to the silver screen, primarily because C.S. Lewis didn’t believe that his books could be adapted into movies and, thus, refused to sell the movie rights.

The first true movie adaptation of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe was only released in 2005 because Lewis’ stepson was convinced to go against the author’s wishes after a CGI rendering of a Narnia character showed him just how amazing the movie could be.

The 2005 Disney Pictures release was followed up by two more sequels in 2008 and 2010.

Best Chronicles of Narnia Books

The Chronicles of Narnia series is still lauded as one of the best pieces of fantasy literature that have ever been written, with some of the best Narnia books including:

The Magician’s Nephew: Uncle Andrew tricks his niece and nephew into participating in one of his experiments. When Digory and Polly touch their uncle’s rings, they are drawn into a fantastical place filled with mysterious pools that allow them to move between worlds.

When Digory and Polly return to London, they accidentally bring Jadis along, an evil queen who causes all manner of chaos. In dragging Jadis away from London, the kids and their uncle and coachman begin their journey into the place that will become Narnia.

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe: When Lucy finds a mysterious wardrobe in an old house, she walks through it and discovers the wonder that is Narnia, a place of magic and mystery. However, one believes her when she comes home and tells everyone what she has seen.

So Lucy takes Edmund, Susan, and Peter along with her to the magical world that will change their lives.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Percy Jackson” series by Rick Riordan is another great fantasy series. These books tell the story of Percy Jackson. While seemingly a normal boy, Percy’s world is changed forever when he learns that he is actually the son of the god Poseidon. The revelation drags Percy into a world filled with myths and legends.

The “A Wrinkle in Time” Series by Madeleine L’Engle. These books tell the story of Meg, Charles, Calvin, Sandy and Dennys, friends and siblings that face off against evil forces in their efforts to save the world.

What Is The Next Book in The Chronicles Of Narnia Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Chronicles Of Narnia Series. The newest book is The Last Battle and was released on September, 4th 1956.