Rick Riordan Books

Rick Riordan is probably the most famous and reputable American novelist. Rick was born on June 5th, 1964 and raised in San Antonio, Texas. He attended the Alamo Heights High School. After which, he joined a music program with ambitions of being a guitarist. Rick Riordan later joined the University of Texas where he studied and received teaching certification for English and History. After leaving the University, he sought some employment at the Presidio Hill School, San Francisco. In June 1985, Rick Riordan married Becky Riordan. Interestingly, the couple was born the same date, only 30 minutes’ time difference. Currently, they reside in Boston with their three sons having relocated in June 2013.

Order of Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series

Order of Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Graphic Novels Series

Order of Kane Chronicles Series

Order of The Kane Chronicles: The Graphic Novels Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Red Pyramid 2012
2 The Throne of Fire 2015

Order of Percy Jackson & Kane Chronicles Crossover Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Son of Sobek 2013
2 The Staff of Serapis 2014
3 The Crown of Ptolemy 2015
4 Demigods & Magicians 2015

Order of The Heroes of Olympus Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Lost Hero 2010
2 The Son of Neptune 2011
3 The Mark of Athena 2012
4 The Demigod Diaries 2012
5 The House of Hades 2013
6 The Blood of Olympus 2014

Order of The 39 Clues Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Maze of Bones 2008
2 Vespers Rising 2011

Order of Tres Navarre Series

Order of Camp Half-Blood Chronicles Series

# Read Title Published
1 Demigods and Monsters 2008
2 The Sea of Monsters 2013

Order of The Trials of Apollo Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Hidden Oracle 2016
2 The Dark Prophecy 2017

Order of The Heroes of Olympus: The Graphic Novels Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Lost Hero 2014

Order of Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Sword of Summer 2015
2 For Magnus Chase 2016
3 The Hammer of Thor 2016
4 The Ship of the Dead 2017

Order of Rick Riordan Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Cold Springs 2003
Print: Print PDF

Rick Riordan claims that his elder son inspired his first write-up, The Percy Jackson series which was originally a bedtime story. He admits that he incepted the story behind this first series as a bedtime story about the ancient heroes of Greek. What thrusted him to this writing was his son. Haley’s sickness after being diagnosed with ADHD and Dyslexia. The first installment of this series, The Lighting Thief, was published in 2005. After that, other installments including The Sea of Monsters, The Titan’s Curse and The Battle of the Labyrinth followed suit. Other series authored by Rick Riordan include Tres Navarre series, The Heroes of Olympus, The 39 Clues series, and other stand-alone novels.

Rick Riordan Awards

Due to his undebatable writing skills, Rick Riordan has won several awards. Among them include the Shamus award in 1998, the Edgar award in 1999, Mark Twain award for the lightning thief in 2008 and 2009 same award for the Sea of Monsters, Rebbecca Caudill award in 2009, school library journal best book in 2010, children choice awards twice in 2011, Wyoming Soaring Eagle Book Award in 2011, Milner award for the Percy Jackson and Olympians series in 2011, Indian Paintbrush Award in 2012 and 2013’s Best fiction book for Children in Bulgaria for the bool The Mark of Athena.

Rick Riordan Books into Movies

Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series has been adopted by the Twentieth Century Fox as part of a feature film.

Rick Riordan Best Books

Rick Riordan has remarkable books that have made it as New York’s bestselling books.

The Lightning Thief: This is the first installment of Rick Riordan’s series, the Percy Jackson and the Olympians which as released on 1st July 2005. It is a perfect teenage mythical fiction book narrated by sheer experience. As indicated before, the book was inspired by his elder sons’ ailing condition. Due to this, Rick Riordan wrote the book based on the Dyslexic condition of the protagonist. The creative concept of this book revolves around Percy Jackson, a 12-year son of a Greek god in the current times. Percy is dyslexic as he is supposed to read the ancient Greek. However, he does not know his abilities which are later brought up due to tight conditions estranging his life.

Percy returns home from his school for summer holidays. Her mother, Sally Jackson, decides to take him to Montauk to spend some time. However, as they were on their way, their trip was cut short by sequential incidents including a major attack by a minotaur. This finds Percy entrapped in a training camp half-blood. He later realizes residents of the camp are demigods, just like him. Additionally, he discovers that he is a son of a demigod of Poseidon. Poseidon was a Greek god believed to have control over the sea, earthquakes, and father of all horses. Percy also gets to know that his best friend, Grover, is a satyr. The Greek gods are accusing him as the one who stole Zeus’ lightning bolt. This was the most powerful weapon at that times.

Percy believes Hades are the real thieves who stole the bolt. Therefore, to free themselves, they must retrieve this weapon. The escapade definitely won’t be a walkthrough. Accompanied by Grover and Annabeth, the daughter of Athena, they set out for the search. Fast-forward, they underwent a lot of challenges in their search that culminated in finding the real thief, Luke Castellan. With that said, other books in this series cover the lengthy mythical empire rebuild featuring Percy and his friends. The Sea of Monsters, The Titan’s Curse, the Battle of the Labyrinth and the Last Olympian being the sequential books in this series. Its feature film, filmed by Thor Freudenthal together with 20th Century Fox was released on August 7th, 2013.