Tres Navarre Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Tres Navarre is considered a must-read by most fans of the Percy Jackson series because the books marked Rick Riordan’s first foray into publishing. Before Riordan dipped his toes into paranormal waters by crafting stories about the gods of the world and their battle for survival, he wrote crime fiction.

Get notified when Rick Riordan releases a new book at

Order of Tres Navarre Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Big Red Tequila ( By: Rick Riordan) 1997 Description / Buy
2 The Widower's Two-Step ( By: Rick Riordan) 1998 Description / Buy
3 The Last King of Texas ( By: Rick Riordan) 2000 Description / Buy
4 The Devil Went Down to Austin ( By: Rick Riordan) 2001 Description / Buy
5 Southtown ( By: Rick Riordan) 2004 Description / Buy
6 Mission Road ( By: Rick Riordan) 2005 Description / Buy
7 Rebel Island ( By: Rick Riordan) 2007 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The idea of Rick Riordan writing adult fiction will probably come as a surprise to many of the author’s fans who have come to categorize him as a young adult author. But Riordan was quite good at it.

The Tres Navarre series chronicles the exploits of Jackson Navarre. When introduced in Big Red Tequila, Jackson is a scholar with a Ph.D. in medieval studies. Along with his cat and tai chi skills, Jackson is compelled to return home to San Francisco to investigate the murder of his father.

Jackson hasn’t been back home for ten years, not since his father’s passing. And when he finally does make the trip home, Jackson cannot stop stirring up trouble. The more digging he does, the more danger he is become exposed to, and it isn’t long before the scholar is facing off against mobsters and gangsters and finding that law enforcement might be in his blood.

Jackson Navarre divides audiences. Some people like his casual attitude to life. Others are not particularly amused by his perpetual drinking habit and womanizing ways, not to mention his frequent use of crass language.

The protagonist is practically drunk for most of the first book. In the beginning, Jackson only ever stumbles into crime. He cannot help but allow his curiosity to lead him down some truly dangerous paths.

Over time, Jackson begins to question his future in the education sector, eventually deciding to begin training to become a private investigator.

Tres Navarre Awards

Big Red Tequila, Rick Riordan’s first Tres Navarre book earned him an Anthony Award and a Shamus Award in 1998. He was later awarded those same prizes in 2002 for The Devil Went Down to Austin.

Best Tres Navarre Books

Rick Riordan isn’t the first person you think about when someone mentions adult fiction, and yet he was quite successful in the arena when he first began his journey to publishing success, with some of the best books in the Tres Navarre series including:

Southtown: Tres Navarre isn’t even sure why he gave up on his career as an English Professor to become a private investigator. It made all the sense in the world at the time. But now that business has dried up, he isn’t so sure.

Navarre wasn’t especially enthused by the cases he was getting, to begin with. After all, running after adulterous spouses and chasing bail jumpers was hardly the work of a Ph.D. holder.

Then Will Stirman came into the picture. When Stirman escapes Floresville State Penitentiary with a host of violent criminals, Navarre cannot help but pay close attention.

After all, it was his boss and mentor’s husband that built the case which saw Stirman convicted. Erainya Manos’ husband is already dead, so there’s no doubt in her mind that Stirman will make her the target of his vengeful fury.

Navarre wants to help but Erainya isn’t making it easy. There’s something about the case she refuses to tell him. Navarre knows that there’s more going on than meets the eye.

He must uncover the truth before Stirman and his gang finds them.

Mission Road: Ralph Arguello discarded his criminal lifestyle when he chose to marry SAPD Detective Ana DeLeon. When she was gunned down, it didn’t take her colleagues long to single Ralph out as the prime suspect, not only because of his criminal past but also because Ana was about to charge him for his involvement in an unsolved murder that threw the San Antonio underworld into chaos two decades ago.

When Ralph turns up at Navarre’s doorstep, the private eye is forced to shove his self-preservation instincts aside in favor of showing loyalty to his friend. The decision pits Navarre against the police and the mafia.

Other Book Series You May Like

The “Andy Carpenter” Series by David Rosenfelt is another great read. Andy Carpenter isn’t just any old attorney. As an animal lover, he fights for the rights of both humans and animals, and he has been known to take on courtroom battles to keep animals from Death Row.

Andy is assisted in his endeavors by his golden retriever.

Be sure to check out the “Elvis Cole and Joe Pike” Series by Robert Crais. Elvis and Joe are self-confident professionals who use their expertise to solve crimes as private investigators in Hollywood.

What Is The Next Book in The Tres Navarre Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Tres Navarre Series. The newest book is Rebel Island and was released on January, 1st 2007.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *