Robert Crais Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Robert Crais was born on 20th June 1953 in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States. He is the author of the best-selling Elvis Cole series. A native of Louisiana, Robert Crais grew up in one blue collar family of police officers and oil refinery workers. He was trained as a mechanical engineer before he pursued his dream of becoming an author. After years of writing short fiction and amateur film-making, he journeyed to Hollywood back in 1976, where he found work writing scripts for major network television series such as Hill Street Blues, Quincy, Miami Vice, Cagney and Lacey and L.A. Law.

Order of Elvis Cole & Joe Pike Series

1The Monkey's Raincoat 1987Description / Buy
2Stalking the Angel 1989Description / Buy
3Lullaby Town 1992Description / Buy
4Free Fall 1993Description / Buy
5Voodoo River 1995Description / Buy
6Sunset Express 1996Description / Buy
7Indigo Slam 1997Description / Buy
8L. A. Requiem 1999Description / Buy
9The Last Detective 2003Description / Buy
10The Forgotten Man 2005Description / Buy
11The Watchman 2007Description / Buy
12Chasing Darkness 2008Description / Buy
13The First Rule 2010Description / Buy
14The Sentry 2011Description / Buy
15Taken 2012Description / Buy
16The Promise 2015Description / Buy
17The Wanted 2017Description / Buy
18A Dangerous Man 2019Description / Buy

Order of Scott James & Maggie Series

1Suspect 2013Description / Buy
2The Promise 2015Description / Buy

Order of Robert Crais Standalone Novels

1Demolition Angel 2000Description / Buy
2Hostage 2001Description / Buy
3The Two Minute Rule 2006Description / Buy

Robert Crais Anthologies

1 Raymond Chandler's Philip Marlowe2011Description / Buy
2 The Best American Mystery Stories 20122012Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF


An award winning novelist, Robert’s books have made into the New York Times best seller lists. He is also the 2006 recipient of Ross MacDonald Literary Award. In addition, he has authored several New York Times best sellers.

He also received an Emmy nomination for his works on Hill Street Blues. Besides all these, Robert Crais is most proud of his four-hour NBC miniseries, The Cross of Fire, which was declared by The New York Times declared as “A powerful and searing documentation of the Ku Klux Klan’s rise to national prominence back in the 1920s.”


Crais’ debut in the fiction world was The Monkey’s Raincoat back in 1987 –the first novel of the Elvis Cole series. Apart from the Cole and Pike series, Crais has also written several standalone novels. One of these novels, Hostage, was adapted into a Bruce Willis movie of the same name. One of the rare cases where the movie may just be better than the book.


The Elvis Cole Series is one of the best series that Robert Crais has written. Below are the top 3 books in this series.

Indigo Slam: This is the seventh book in this series. It is an action packed and razor sharp thriller that features Elvis Cole, LA private eye. Meet Elvis Cole, a Vietnam Veteran, private eye who always carries a .38 and is very much determined never to grow up. Fifteen year old Teri Hewitt has been left to hold the babies now that Clark , her dad, has disappeared without trace. Teri Hewitt wants Cole to find her dad. The search then reveals an unemployed drug addict who’s caught up in several counterfeiting scams and mixed up with the Vietnamese Gunmen and Russian mafia. As the novel’s action heads towards a gunfight at Disneyland and Elvis Cole dodges his girlfriend’s husband , Indigo Slam shapes up into the most exciting and entertaining American crime novel for several years.

The Last Detective: Elvis Cole is again coming to terms with his whole life as a PI on L.A streets. He loves Lucy Chenier, his girlfriend, but his constant exposure to Californian underclasses has stretched further their relationship to the limit more so when Cole’s job brings danger close to her much-loved son. Ben, the young boy, is quickly becoming the light in their lives. Then on one sunny afternoon, the demons from Cole’s past finally come to visit. The young boy is snatched from his secluded home by kidnappers. The kidnappers call but they do not want money. The only thing that they want is retribution. However, who from his past is able to do such type of crime? The only clue is that kidnapper mentions the words ‘five two’. Five two used to be his unit designation when in Vietnam. This is a life that he has avoided to think about for over 20 years. However, he now has to embark on a journey into his past to try to protect his own future. This is because it seems that this kidnapper is not just someone who knows him well but he’s also someone who owes him.

The Watchman: In Robert Crais’ novel, The Watchman, we have this author firing on all cylinders and all Crais aficionados shall know that’s an experience to savor. It is one of the tough long-term Robert Crais protagonists, Joe Pikes, who sets this edgy narrative in motion. The narrative barely pauses for breath once this Crais’ high adrenaline novel gets in motion. Joe Pike has been requested to look after a young female witness in a case that involves an extremely dangerous gangster. Larkin Conner Barkely, the witness, could not be more different from the silent Joe: she is rich, willful and much used to getting her own ways. The uneasy alliance between these two is not helped a lot when some violent men start to breath down their necks. Joe Pike realizes that he will have to drag the reluctant Larkin from her privileged background and then hide her from view in down-market areas of Los Angeles, while at the same time still bloodily taking the battle to the enemies.

When Does The Next Robert Crais book come out?

Robert Crais doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is A Dangerous Man and was released on June, 18th 2019. It is the newest book in the Elvis Cole & Joe Pike Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *